We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice homely resort”
Review of Murex Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murex Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2008

This is a comfortable resort with a homely atmosphere. If you are looking for a 5-star environment, it is probably best to look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a laid back place, with friendly staff, then you will be well pleased with this choice. There is also a fresh water pool, which I believe was built back in Y2007.
We had a bungalow with two rooms as we are a family of 5. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom/toilet was also very clean, although not new.
The food was average, but there was no shortage. Meals are served buffet style. The kitchen staff was also very accommodating when it came to children meals. They entertained special request outside the buffet menu, for example, preparing cheese sandwiches and soup noodles when my kids requested for it.
Although there was no TV in our bungalow (some chalets have TV), it was of no concern as the resort has cable TV in the main area (above the dining hall).
Most people come here to dive Bunaken. The dive shop is professional. The dive protocol is simple as well. Dive briefings are just that - very brief. In most of the dive briefings, all you get is the name of the site and which direction we will dive. Not so much on what we anticipate to see, and hazards of the dive site. I gather that this will generate some level of discomfort among less experienced divers. I also noticed that the divemasters do not wait for the whole group to be in the water before they start the dive. Typically, it is one divemaster to around 5-6 divers. The dive operation will suit more experienced divers.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_no_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2007

My husband and I are repeat visitors to Manado’s Dive Resort MUREX, owned and run by the Batuna family for many years. We just returned from a five day stay and as always we both had a very good time at Murex. The combination of abundant nature, warm and family-like atmosphere, clean and cozy rooms and excellent food just makes Murex our destination of choice in Manado. While my husband is a keen diver, I am not. But even for a non-diver, the place is not at all boring. In addition to snorkeling, there are many land excursions which can be arranged by the friendly Murex staff. Or just hang out at the resort, which has just been upgraded and now even features a nice size pool. Both my husband and I are frequent business travelers, used to staying in 5-star hotels in Asia. Even though the rooms in Murex do not boast the luxury of a 5-star hotel, the air-conditioned rooms are well furnished, cozy and clean and you can even have access to wireless internet. Watching the spectacular sunsets from the verandas makes more than up for a flat screen TV or any other unnecessary luxury. After all… you are in a dive resort and MUREX is amongst the best of them.

My husband has done more than 500 dives and he still rates the Bunaken Marine park as one of the best dive locations is Asia. He was also very impressed (again) with the dives arranged by Murex and their staff…from the boat crew to the dive masters (this time Frank from Belgium), who always seems to pick the right spots to find sharks, turtles, sea snakes, frog fishes, nudibranches en masse etc.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SelinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

We stayed at Murex Manado for recent dive trip. The room was simple but nice and had AC, king bed, and a mini-bar. The resort was simple but beautiful with lots of trees and flowers. As the other review said, the resort is primarily for diving and not much else. They have a nice pool and free Wi-Fi. Meals were buffet style. I am not a fan of Asian food and eating was a little difficult for me. Not to say the food was bad, just not my style. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The dive masters were great and so was the diving. I would go again if it wasn’t so far from home.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank Gluehuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Right, if you want to stay somewhere posh with lots of amenitites, then this isn't the place. If you want to go somewhere where the diving is number one, and you get a decent air con roof, but eat and drink with the family then this is it. Also, don't miss the chance of usign their liveaboards. Beach is very rocky, house reef is superb. Night diving and everything is to hand. Boats go from the beach, after breakfast and head off to the Bunaken National Park which is some of the best divign in the world. Rooms are basic with aircon & fridge. Full board is usual, with beer to buy extra at about 40p a bottle. Everyone is so friendly you become on of the family. We have been twice and will go again. They also own some villas on an island called Banka, no power, but a beautiful white sand beach in the iddle of nowehere with about 3 times as many staff as guests. Give it a go. Want to know more just ask!

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Lilian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PimvanSchendel, Manager at Murex Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Eva_MPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PimvanSchendel, Manager at Murex Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Maren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PimvanSchendel, Manager at Murex Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
5.6 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
8.8 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
29.0 mi away
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mapia Resort
Mapia Resort
#8 of 45 in Manado
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murex Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murex Dive Resort

Address: Jalan Raya Trans Sulawesi | Desa Kalasey I, Manado 95361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Manado
Price Range: $57 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murex Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murex’s casual yet classic vibe makes it your home away from home in North Sulawesi. Choose to dive, explore or just take it easy and relax with friends and family – whatever you decide, exceptional service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Murex Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murex Dive Hotel Manado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing