We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great for snorkelers and divers alike

Thanks Eco Divers for a wonderful experience. We spent several days going out to Bunaken National... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Heather D
Simply Magnificent

Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant Brilliant Resort - all you could ask for. Great rooms, great food... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
Michael M
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 70 reviews
  
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
37
11
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
11
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive operation boat crew many thanks dive sites bunaken national park camera equipment same company mercure hotel experienced divers diving holiday lembeh resort interesting things diving center great dive crews critters team
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decent dive centre if you don't have any other choice or staying at the beautiful resort. It is an external company not operated by the resort which is a pity since there is a huge service disparity. Lady in the dive office is grumpy as mentioned in other reviews and don't expect the same 5 star service provided by the resort. 40mins each way to Bunaken and very monotonous diving. Take care of your own safety. Dive guide brought us beyond 35m despite not certified to do so for no apparent reason. Do not prepay or book in advance so you can change your plans. You will probably reduce your dives there. Spend your diving money at the many other dive centres. Lastly, boat does not leave on time. They will take in last minute reservations at the expense of your time because apparently your holiday time will not be important to them. Truly a profit first dive centre.

Thank Neoweiyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Wei Yi N,

Thank you for your comments, however as it seems some of them are not accurate, I would like to reply in a factual way.

You mentioned very monotonous diving, however, even if you did only four dives with us, you had them all in Bunaken National Park, more specifically in Fukui and Likuan 3, the next day Likuan 2 and Depan Kampung (we chose these last two because of the weather and waves).

Bunaken National Park and its walls are well known around the world to be a top dive destination, as highlighted by some newspapers and diving magazines, here some of them:

Bunaken
Probably the best dive site in the world
It's got more types of fish than the Great Barrier Reef, and it's working hard to keep them.
The Guardian International Edition

The world's best dive sites
Likuan 2, Bunaken, Indonesia
Best for: Diverse marine life
New Zealand Herald

The Best Places in the World to Dive
1) INDONESIA
The clear winner for the second year in the row was Indonesia - the largest archipelago in the world with more than 17,000 islands scattered over 1,919,440 sq km has a vast number of world-class dive sites. From the north of Sulawesi with the wild reefs of Bunaken...
Divemagazine

Diving is not monotonous in Bunaken.

When it comes to safety, as I mentioned after meeting you the other day I did follow up with our senior dive guide who dive with you, a PADI DiveMaster, guiding thousands of divers in Bunaken for the last 18 years, since Eco Divers was established, so I was very surprised by your words.

His dive computer has a maximum depth of 31 meters, he mentioned how you were always diving on your own, 10/15 meters ahead of him and sometimes deeper and he has to remind you to ascent a few meters more than once.

When it comes to last minute bookings, I am sorry to say that you misunderstood our words: we didn't take a last minute booking before 8 AM that day, the guests did book a day before, but they called us before 8, mentioning they were late and asking us to wait for them.

Our boats leave on time, you dove two days with us, the first days we left at 8 AM as planned, the second day we left at 8:20. We value our guests' holiday time, but we try also to please all our guests, we wouldn't have wait for a hour, but we thought 20 minutes was reasonable, as divers on holiday are often more relaxed and could happen to wake up a little bit late, however we informed you of the slight delay and we apologized for that.

Lastly, you called grumpy our manager: you came to our office asking for a discount because the boat left with 20 minutes delay and because you were not given the discount you say she is grumpy, funny how we become grumpy when we do not give discounts.

Happy bubbles.
Andrea Bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Thanks Eco Divers for a wonderful experience. We spent several days going out to Bunaken National Park diving and snorkelling. The Eco Divers Crew at Tateli Beach are awesome, so much fun and well organised. They looked after our group of 10 so well, especially as a snorkeler helping us get in and out of the boat and pointing out all the marine life. This was one of the best trips I have ever had and would highly recommend booking with Eco Divers, Manado.

Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Heather D,

Thank you for your good words.

We are happy to read that you had a fantastic experience with us and you enjoyed the snorkeling and the marine life in Bunaken National Park.

I will share your kind comments with our team and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warmest regards.
Andrea Bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant
Brilliant Resort - all you could ask for. Great rooms, great food, great facilities
Brilliant Diving - Bunaken Marine Park is special and the diving will not disappoint. And such a brilliant variety of dive sites. From the walls and slopes of Bunaken to the smaller divers just out from the resort shore.
Brilliant Boat Crew and staff - Friendly, warm, helpful. They know their stuff and not only make it fun but also informative. Thanks Donny, Gerry and June.

Brilliant Management - A huge thank you to Susan who made our group feel welcome and cared for. Nothing was too much trouble.

After major issues at their sister operation at Lembeh, it was Susan and her crew that made things right and did everything they could to ensure our holiday was a success.

If you want a great dive holiday in a great location with a great team I can highly recommend this operation.

Cannot say the same about the Eco Divers Lembah resort and Dive operation .(read seperate review)

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Michael M,

I am very glad to read your review about our Manado operation.

Thank you for your kind words which I will extend to the whole team and to Susan.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future

Kind regards.
Andrea Bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We didn't stay in the Mercure resort, but we could highly reccomend it if you don't care about going to the city. The hotel has a great pool and the diveshop is inside. Appearantly you can book some great deals if you dive and stay at the place. The staff on the boat was super friendly and we had a great 2 days of diving. Only negative part is the lady who runs the office, not sure if she is the owner. She has a bad mood the entire time, doesn't ask about the dives and doesn't seem interested at all. Horrible service, just cares about the money. Almost didn't book the second day since we didn't feel appreciated. Luckily we did, since all other staff is great!

Thank Sven v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Sven v,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to us with your review.

The hotel is very nice and our offer is possibly the bets value for money in Manado Bunaken area indeed.

We are glad that you have a great time on our boat and our crew and dive guide look after you.

I will discuss with our manager your comment.

We look forward to welcome you again.

With warmest regards.
Andrea Bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Our experience in Manado was amazing and we hope to go back again. We were assured that our honeymoon would be memorable and they kept their promise. The resort was beautiful, the common spaces were inviting and the staff was beyond fantastic. Bunaken is an amazing place to learn diving and explore the world of corals. Both eco divers and mercure are highly recommended. Even the land tours we did were unique and fun.

Thank Daydream813360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Rahul A,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to us to review our operation.
We are glad that you had a great time with us, especially on honeymoon one would like to have the best experience possible.
We are happy to hear that the resort met your expectations and we will extend your good words to the whole team at both dive operation and resort.
We look forward to welcome you again soon!
With warmest regards.
Andrea Bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Outstanding diving, with friendly, well organized, safety conscious dive organization operating out of the Mercure Tatelli resort hotel (also good, makes most sense to stay and dive). Dive masters knowledgeable, operate within safe limits, always on the look out for things to spot (large and small)....equally good with teenagers and older divers. Dive departure point from the hotel jetty. Boat crews friendly and service orientated...Dive masters and crew look after all the stuff. Morning 2 dives schedule has you out at 8 am and back 1 1/1.30.... good if you have stay at hotel non divers in your group (although snorklers and boat passengers welcome, I guess depending on numbers). As for the diving, and environ....Outstanding.

Thank davidlondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear davidlondon99,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write your reviiew.

We are very thankful for your kind words and appreciation for our dive operation, how we look after our guests, and we know that we are very lucky to operate in North Sulawesi, where the diving is simply amazing.

I will share with the whole team your positive comments.

With warmest regards
Andrea Bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Book a 5 days 4 nites Dive Package with Eco Divers Manado in June 2018. Did 9 day dives and 1 nite dive. The dive boat is excellent with fresh water for rinsing as well as fresh water tub for camera equipment etc. Also come with toilet. The DM and guides are very professional and kept to max of 4 divers to a guide. Met also Adam who is also an instructor and can speak good Manadarin! Would recommend anyone who wish to dive in Manado and Bunaken areas to book with Eco Divers.

Thank Chan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Dear Chan D,

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with Eco Divers.

We are happy to hear that you liked the comfort of our dive boat and the facilities on it.

We'll share you comments with our team too and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

With warmest regards.
Andrea Bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Best instructor, great spot for scuba diving, really nice place for diving. Best experience, you wont ever regret it!

Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear Yvonne C,

Thank you for your review.

I will share your good words with our team and our instructor and we look forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards.
Andrea Bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

My wife and I had a pleasant diving holiday with Eco Divers. We took 9 dives in 3 days. Many Thanks to Mr. Adam, Mr. Jun and the diving crews for your professional services. One minor thing for improvement: should provide diving booties as rental gear.

1  Thank LiJoe_comdiy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Dear LiJoe_comdiy66,

We appreciated the time you took to review our operation.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us and our service was professional, I will share your words of appreciations with them, especially with Mr. Adam and Mr. Jun.

Thank you also for your comment about booties, I will look into this and assure that this inconvenience won't happen next time you will be diving with us.

With warmest regards
Andrea bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

Started to plan this trip a month ago, blasting emails to some dive operators around Manado and Bunaken. First impression, Eco Divers really fast yet responsive in replying the queries we asked in email, Pak Andrea and Saaya were so helpful and informative regarding the service they provide with Eco Divers.
Me and my wife were looking for one deal package for dive and stay, Eco Divers was so flexible in arranging the package, you can modify to suit your best need in time, budget, and dive activity, even better, you can modify your room at Mercure with full board meal plan at the hotel (nothing you'd complain from Accor group hotel resort) with (i'd say) really good offer compared to booking through online booking site.
We booked for 5D/4N stay and 7 dives in total (all book and payment through Eco Divers, no extra effort on booking the hotel, meal plan, and airport transfer), and ended up adding 1 extra dive on last day. We wish we could stay longer for more dive day lol.
Dives were great, we were not only dive and back to the hotel, we were having fun on the boat, boat crew was really nice, talkative, and love to throw some jokes that makes your 30 minutes boat trip to Bunaken area from hotel was really nothing. Dive guide brings the good and safety dive procedure in pre-dive briefing and during the dive, and this motto they always say at the end of brief before enter the water, "enjoy your dive" or "let's make this dive fun" was stick in my head and really give a joy feeling to enter the water. They know the area very well, and have really sharp eyes to point out creatures down there, from the big fish or turtle to the small critters, we saw lot of type nudibranchs, crabs, shrimps, two times encountered baby shark, turtles, moray eel and many more. I'd really recommend to choose Eco Divers as your dive opeartors at Manado or Bunaken. We hope we could be back soon to have trip to Lembeh with Eco Divers again.

Thank Faisal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabensi, Director at Eco Divers, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Dear Faisal N,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to review our operation.

All our guests' feedback are very important to us, bit of course we were delighted to read such a exhaustive review.

We try to make the booking process easy and I am glad to hear that this was your feelign too.

The Mercure Manado Tateli beach resort is probably the best value for money in the Manado/Bunaken area and you confirmed it, comfy accommodation and good food.

Our team is very dedicated to divers' satisfaction and I am happy to har that you enjoyed the time with them, with safety.

We look forward to being of service soon again, at Eco Divers Resort Lembeh.

With warmest regards.
Andrea Bensi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews