We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Gran Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Central Hotel
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Manado
bali
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

hotel located in central business , seem quite old hotel...furniture is old...and ac not so cool...bathroom not very good..

You can hear bell from the church next road in the morning which is nice for me . Breakfast not so bad , their pick airport was terrible . Speedy driver and car door cannot open from inside.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haryo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
3
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Manado, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was here last year for 1 night, the room was small and the aircon wasn't working so well, if u r a tall guy then this isn't a perfect hotel for you, they have wifi but it tooks forever even to open a page.. the only good thing it is near the central of the city..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertdeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We chose this hotel as we needed to stay over night in Manado before making our way to Bunaken. The rooms were clean and AC working effectively. Wi-fi only in the lobby but they provided a cable so we could get the internet in the room. Breakfast is Asian style but you can request eggs and toast. To the left of the hotel is a decent small supermarket where we stocked up on some diet cokes and to the right of the hotel down a short distance is a pharmacy associated with a clinic. The clinic doctor speaks English.
If we needed a stop over in Manado again we would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelMcLeanVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Breakfast is basic and so are the rooms. Check-in took a loooooong while. We only used it as a stopover before we went to Bunaken the next day. Didn't feel like staying any longer though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thijs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manado hotels

Penrith, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed at the Gran Central Manado for 2 nights when travelling to and returning from the Lembeh Strait. The staff were helpful and efficient and could easily undrstand my poor attempt at bahasa Indonesia.
My room contained a very large bed and was well appointed with the usual mod cons - shower was very hot - good!!
Meals are available in the restaurant area , breakfast was a buffet and dinner was chosen from the menu. On the morning of my departure - I had to leave at 5.00 am - my breakfast was delivered to my room at 4.30 am - that's efficient.
The location of the hotel makes it easy to walk around the main streets of Manado or easy to hop on a Mikrolet and travel around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geminikitty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for five nights to attend a trade show. It is a clean and well appointed three star hotel. The band on the second floor is excellent and they have a great repertoire. Raffles at the front desk was extremely helpful and accommodating. His English was better than the other staff including that of the front office manager.

The food in the restaurant is quite good and extremely inexpensive. Breakfast had a fair assortment of items, but I would say that it was just average. There could be more choices. The staff doesn't understand "over easy", so my eggs either arrived sunny side up or extremely overdone.

The only two negatives were that housekeeping forgot to put clean towels in our room three times, even though they had removed the dirty towels, plus the rooms do not have mini bars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMuiNe_Vietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
0.2 mi away
Genio Hotel Manado
Genio Hotel Manado
#14 of 45 in Manado
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griya Sintesa Hotel
Griya Sintesa Hotel
#26 of 45 in Manado
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travello Hotel Manado
Travello Hotel Manado
#18 of 45 in Manado
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Biz Boulevard Manado
Biz Boulevard Manado
#15 of 45 in Manado
42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Manado City Center Boulevard
3.4 mi away
Hotel Formosa
Hotel Formosa
#41 of 45 in Manado
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Central Hotel

Property: Gran Central Hotel
Address: Jln. Sudirman no. 45, Manado 95123, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Gran Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing