We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost good enough”
Review of Aston Manado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Manado Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Manado
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost good enough”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Conducted a week-long training here. Almost turned into a disaster when they told us the AC for the whole building broke the night before the training starts. Staff and GM reacted fairly quick to fix the issue-brought in portable ACs as substitutes. Had the AC fixed by lunch on the 2nd day of the training, but we had to sleep with no AC for 2 nights. Also, hot water was only lukewarm in the morning... big negative, Aston.
Only redeeming quality was the sales manager guy who was friendly and helpful; showing us around town, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hm y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    135
    58
    22
    5
See reviews for
42
75
49
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights. We found the breakfast abundant, good variety, enough to try different ones everyday, the coffee (which was the most important for me) was quite good. Enjoyed the hospitality of staffs, from the front desk, prompt help with the hot shower, and yes I had to call and request for a hairdryer.
A big plus for free instructions during my trainings in their gym. Agree with VampireBella that this hotel may not deserve an "International" 4 star accreditation, but have to dissagree about the rate, personally I think this hotel is NOT terrible, it was actually very well located, staffed by some of the most prompt and friendly attendants.

I will go back, maybe for the breakfast, the gym, the smiles, even for the value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromcincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Best hotel I've ever stayed at, it was luxury! Spa, gym, and a breakfast to die for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Here is concern abt 4 stars hotel but it s not deserve to be 4 stars, better to be juz 2stars!
Hair dryer o req as it should ready in rms,not on request,bathrobes don't have!
Breakfast is terrible , restaurant menu is not various ,
Only one thing that I found here is staff smiling ,, bellman,waiter n waitress ,housekeeping,

Overall,I think it's just the only one time only for my stay here,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VampireBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I travel quite frequently throughout SE Asia and stayed at the Aston in Manado for two nights. I was delighted with my stay here. I personally find cleanliness to be of highest priority and this hotel was certainly clean. My room was immaculate with spotless mirrors and windows, and even though it was a smoking room it smelled perfectly clean. The staff was phenomenal and did not hesitate to assist, some going far out of their way to provide me with what I needed. I can honestly say that through all of my travels, I have never experienced the level of guest service that I found here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airportbarfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The staff here has always been nice and helpful, no exception this time. The thing that has changed is that the new staff, many new faces in the year since my last visit, doesn't understand english very well. My Indonesian isn't the best but communicating even basic things like getting a room service menu in the room was frustrating. Food orders were also misunderstood, although corrected quickly.
Internet speed has vastly improved since last time.
Without a doubt this is a nice place to stay in Manado, just wish they trained or selected staff better.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U_W_PhotoPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
0.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sintesa Peninsula Hotel
3.9 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Maleosan Manado
6.2 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 45 in Manado
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Manado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Manado Hotel

Property: Aston Manado Hotel
Address: Jln. Sudirman no. 128, Manado 95123, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Manado Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful moments of heartfelt service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Manado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing