We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good modern hotel, but mediocre breakfast and wrong billing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good modern hotel, but mediocre breakfast and wrong billing”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Overall when visiting Manado, this is where I will stay again. However, breakfast serving staffs should keep better hygiene as I saw one pick his nose while waiting for people to order omlettes. Food at Novotel is nothing to write home about, in fact it would be better to venture out to the city (hotel food: expensive and mostly cooked in over-used oil). On check out, the minibar billing of our group was done incorrectly and we nearly missed our flight to Bali. Except for the smelly pillows (I asked for changes and it was done), the rooms were comfortable and modern to our liking as a business hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jihyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    209
    101
    39
    14
See reviews for
99
104
41
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

The rooms are absolutely great incl a socket to connect your multimedia device or laptop right away top a big LCD screen. It's a bit far out of town,a 30 minutes taxi ride, but lovely located inside a golf court, it's a pity that the windows cannot be opened so you have to keep the blinds down or it becomes very hot with the big screens.
The semi open concrete construction is very noisy as it transmitts every small noise everywhere,make sure you get a room at the end of the floor far away from the elevators, the elevators frequent arrival beeps and the patrolling securities with their radios create echos 24/7, we found it irritating that there are speakers inside the room which are controlled outside, one afternoon the music suddenly started playing and we had to walk down to the reception desk to get it stopped!?!?
The puclic area with the restaurants all under one open roof and you can easily wittness the phone conversation of people you can't even see,we felt a bit like in a train station.,be prepared to be surrounded by convention participants.
The staff is very friendly, the gym well equipped but aldo sound irritating as you have the music sound from the puclic area and the TV inside to enterntain the staff at the gym with their nervous thumbs at the remote.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

During our 5-night stay at Novotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our standard room with good amenities. Since breakfast was not provided, we had it outside every morning. We took the shuttle bus to centre of town and in the evening they would pick us up from one of the pick-up points in town. The front desk staff were all very friendly and spoke fluent English. Upon checking out, we discovered a transaction (breakfast at The Square restaurant) which we never had but was billed to our room. It was then that we realized the cashier had intentionally switched our dinner invoice (which we settled by cash) with the breakfast invoice. The guest who consumed a free breakfast had already checked out one daily earlier. The transaction was reversed but it cost us valuable time since we were going to Bitung for sightseeing prior to our return flight home in the evening. My advise to all future guests - check your invoice (if you pay by cash) at any F&B outlets of the hotel and every transaction on your room invoice before you make the final payment.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oursenpeluche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Had to stay over in Manado enroute and return from another destination. Travel agent recommended the Novotel and my criteria was internet and gym. The Novotel satisfied both these requirement.
The internet was only wireless in the lobby and the rooms had network cable. As we had one day to kill we arranged work from the business centre. This was a small a/c room but we occupied it all day without any charge.
Gym is fantastic with all new equipment. In the morning the easternly sun makes it a bit hot but had the place to myself.
Restaurant has a mix of Japanese, Western and local food. Steak and salmon were on the menu. Wine prices were about AUD$15 bottle which is pretty good.
Hotel staff are very friendly and accomodating.
In the evening a live duet come to play in the hotel. They are not spectacular singers or muscians but its not Australian Idol. A friendly fun atmosphere and a good way to spend the evening while the air cools down.
We stayed for x2 nights one week and x1 night the following week. The second time we had some very noisy guests staying next to our room. The lady was most dramatic and loud and conssequently we had a very poor nights sleep.
Wouldnt judge the hotel by this.
Free drop off and pick up shuttle to Manado city operating 3-4 times day which we took advantage of.
Airport pickup has to be arranged and is charged and would use it again. It is very nice to be picked up and offered cool flannel and drink when in the car.
The hotel isnt very busy and adjacent buildings are still being constructed but there is no construction noise. Not a golfer (only play every few years) but the course looked good.
Would definately stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeyManBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakrata
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2010

First impression about NOVOTEL at Manado was very confortable to stay, with the nice view of the pool's side, also warm greeting of the hotel staffs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3JWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manado
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2010

I was staying in the hotel attending my family wedding party held at the Hotel Convention Center just within foot steps from the lobby. Convention hall is really huge with all modern facilities and great design + modern lighting.My room where I was stay is very clean and tidy. It has a great interior design. Food variety in the breakfast really met our culinary tastes All international and local foods was served.
The hotel view is fantastic !!! next to the square restaurant is the swimming pool, within a few steps is the Golf Course, Children Play ground, Fitness Center, SPA and Outbound facility. Flaying fox is always a challenging.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VENYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2010

when my company sent me to Manado to attend the company meeting, i was not imagine that we will stay in nice and beautiful hotel. beacuse as i know all hotel in manado is in town and i dont like stay in bussines hotel,
When we arrive the staff weloming us with nice and fresh welcome drink and cold towel, i think this only hotel serve this servis to their guest...fantastik......
the room is nice and hotelfasilities is great...the fitnes center and swimming pool was amazing, the view facing golf course and also klabat mountain..

i love this place, and would like to spend my next holiday to manado ...
try and you will fill the different......

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
4.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
512 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
10.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 45 in Manado
130 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#5 of 45 in Manado
409 reviews
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Maleosan Manado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre

Property: Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Address: Grand Kawanua International City | Jl. AA. Maramis - Kayuwatu / Kairagi II, Manado 95254, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manado
#5 Spa Hotel in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Center is 15 minutes from Sam Ratulangi International Airport and 20 minutes from city center. Nestled in 180 hectares of land. The hotel stylishly appointed rooms & suites embrace the splendid view of golf course and manicured garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manado Hotel Manado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing