We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depend on what you are looking for - very far from city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2011

30 minutes ride by taxi to the main city.. and depend on what you are looking for
if you plan to just relax/golf or conference in the area - then it is a good choice

if you have to travel to city a lot then - not recomended
taxi can be a night mare

1st day - a security very un-profesional - and i think almost all... and while i am waiting almost 1 hour to get a taxi - the security there just acting as a bossy (sorry)

taxi to the city will cost around 40.ooo rp to 50.ooo rp - and be carefur with some taxi driver that will take you a "tour" to avoid traffic but will increase your taxi fare

taking a cab from city to the hotel also it can be a nightware.. so better keep the local taxi# and make some appointment from any hotel in city or big shopping mall

room is great - however the HK guy forgot to provide me a towel in the room - maybe they just forgot... in overall ok

the breakfast.. i came to the restaurant around 9.30 am and the food almost empty... hmmmm..

again really depend on what you are looking for... if you plan to go and do some activity in city a lot better stay in the city.. a bit expensive in city but compare to additional taxi cost and your time it will cost you the same

don't expect a good service even you are an advatage plus member... within these 2 weeks i have stay in Novotel Surabaya , Jakarta, Manado.. seems the hotel didn't care about this card.. sorry

and the hotel is not really provide a competitive price in manado while i am paying higher compare to the promotion done in local newspaper for the same period i am staying.. ?

not really worthed having the advantage card..

Room Tip: not value for money and bad service for security - not really helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hendry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGreenaway, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you for your review, and we are delighted that you see us as a good Resort for relaxing and a good choice for Conferences and Meetings. Also that you found are Rooms "great"

We are though very disappointed that our Security Staff were less then impressive on this occassion and let us down - it is not our expectation and please accept our apologies.

It is certainly not acceptable that you had to wait an hour for the Taxi and we will take that up with the Company concerned, they are obligated to provide our Guests with a speedy service at all times.

I assume that you arrived for Breakfast as the Buffet was being serviced, our Breakfast runs from 0600-1100 daily to ensure all guests can dine at a time that best suits them, while staying with us.........


Best regards
Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 512 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

when you come for business or leisure, it will be very relax to stay in Grand Novotel Kawanua. Located in a part of beatyfull sight of Kawanua city whihc we can enjoy our coffee break at pool side and nice of moutain seing at east side.

i will be ther again when i back to Manado for any reason.

cheers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunawan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great service and friendly staff at this hotel. I arrived ad midnight, and was greeted by friendly and helpful staffmembers. Upon my arrival I found out I hade made a mistake with my reservation date, but the reception staff immediately changed my reservation at no extra cost. The next morning I had to get up at five, and even though the restaurant wasn't open yet, the staff provided me with a take out breakfast of delicious nasi goreng. The room was clean, comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esthergoesasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

first thing you will notice is that the staff needs at least 50 min for a simple check in procedure. you order your taxi for 5:00 AM and you are offered breakfast as take away. when you receive your wake up call after a sleepless night, noisy air conditioning which doesn't function properly makes your night an inferno, you will notice it is 10 min early. once you do checkout you realize that your luggage which was supposed to be delivered to the front desk 30 min earlier still hasn't arrived. it is 5:30 by now and your taxi isn't there either. finally you are on the way to the airport and you realize you never gotten your takeaway breakfast you paid for. the whole thing is an outcome of incompetence combined with ignorance and laziness.
I can only encourage not to go there!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t031a5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGreenaway, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Manado Golf Resort and Convention Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

If we had known you had an A/C problem the day before, we could have had it attended to or offered you an new room, please always advise us if possible.

Our Restaurant serves breakfast from 0600-1100 daily, however 24 Hour Breakfast is available from Room Service, or as you mentioned a Take-a-Way boxed service is also offered.

We will pass this onto the Taxi services as their punctuality is vital, particularly for early morning departures.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; I invite you to contact me directly on gm@novotelmanado.com if you can share anymore detail of you concerns, as your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrences.

Sincerely,

Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Surabaya
12
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The air conditioner not quite cold.
There is not enough parking lot near the lobby area, especially for the hotel guest who sleeps there. If they have a meeting/convention, the parking lot for the hotel guest was way too far...... and now the charge for the vallet parking, even for the hotel guest.
Thanks

Raymond Nugroho Setiawan

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The convention centre is modern with all amenities, good conference halls, decent accoustics. The rooms are well appointed; the restaurants are limited, though, with just one poolside tiny restaurant and one indoor air conditioned restaurant next to the poolside. If you are staying for more than 3 days, you quickly run out of variety and crave to eat out. This is difficult, as the hotel is pretty far from town with limited transport facilities available.
The outdoor infinity swimming pool is a good attraction as is their gym.
The adventure sports section has expensive deals; it is cheaper to book your scuba diving etc online in advance at other centres.

Room Tip: If you are going for a convention, choose a room nearest the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrQuresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGreenaway, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Dear Doctor

We trust your meeting was successful, and thank you for your review.

The Resort also has a Janaese Restaurant - Wasabi - located on the upper Lobby area opposite the Waterhole Bar, and Room Service as options to Square Restaurant and Nougat Cafe. we hope on your next visit you can sample this outlet as well.

Thank you also for your review of our Grand Kawanua Convention Centre - it is a facility that we are very proud of here at Novotel Manado.

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed in room 1145.
The good:
1: breakfast buffet. Large selection of food. I especially appreciate the omelette bar (they can do egg white omelette - yay!).
The local specialties - bubur & Nasi kuning manado were quite nice). The bacon was a little weird, but at least it was real pork bacon. There was plenty of other hot and standard continental breakfast items as well.
2: gym. It's alays a little tough working out in the hot and high humidity limate of indo, but the gym was nicely equipped. They have one each of the standard cardio equipment, as well as some free weights and weightlifting machines. Towel service, tv, and nice adjoining locker rooms. The gym has a good view of the pool and golf range! And mountain in the back.
3: free wifi. This is available in the lobby areas only. Not the fastest, but at least there is something. The rooms only have hard line connection.
The not so good:
1: room. like a lot of other hotels these days, the electricity into the room requires you to put in a card. So it will take awhile for the air conditioning to get all of the humidity out of the room. It took a full day to alleviate the hot, humid feeling in the room.
2: service. It doesnt seem like the front desk is able to see the room from which you are calling. The mini fridge in the room is locked, so you need to get housekeeping to open it for you. After calling and waiting for 40 min, they still hadn't showed up. I called again, and after another 20 min, still nothing. I called a third time and the front desk person said they had already opened it.... Turns out it was for a different room. That was frustrating.
Other tips: housekeeping props the room door open when they clean the room each day, so this inevitably let's in a few Mosquitos/ gnats. I suggest you stay up to kill em before they attack you in your sleep.
Overall: had a few issues with the room, but the hotel has nice amenities. Probably a decent choice given the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VtDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGreenaway, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Hi and thank you for your feedback and comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed so much of our resort. The system of the mini bars being locked when the room is unused, is being discontinued on December 1st and we are sorry that we did not have this removed prior to your arrival. Housekeeping do keep the doors partially opened, and this is to alert guests if they return to the room during service that our staff are in fact in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards


Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
4.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 44 in Manado
551 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manado
10.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sintesa Peninsula Hotel
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Maleosan Manado
3.9 mi away
Aston Manado Hotel
Aston Manado Hotel
#7 of 44 in Manado
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre

Address: Jl. AA. Maramis - Kayuwatu / Kairagi II | Grand Kawanua International City, Manado 95254, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manado
#8 Spa Hotel in Manado
Price Range: $36 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Center is 15 minutes from Sam Ratulangi International Airport and 20 minutes from city center. Nestled in 180 hectares of land. The hotel stylishly appointed rooms & suites embrace the splendid view of golf course and manicured garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manado Hotel Manado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing