We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lonely planet got this all wrong!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minahasa Hotel Manado
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lonely planet got this all wrong!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We checked in for a one night stay after driving up all day from gorontalo. We chose this based on the excellent review in the lonely planet Indonesia guide. We were told a superior room would cost us 430 000 rp which we were fine with. However got to room and it was awful. Water stains all over ceiling, mould over shower tiles, shower drain absolutely clogged full off hair, insect cacoons on the walls and ants all throughout bathroom. Went down to staff who were more than happy to swap our room, but it was in exactly the same condition as previous room so we stayed in original room. We were given ant spray to try and eradicate them but it was a really terrible room especially for the price. The staff were helpful the next day in arranging taxi and did take the price down to 350000. However I still think that the condition of the rooms was disgraceful and not worth even that much. Really disappointed as expectations were for a nice budget room as described by the lonely planet guide. Would not stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-87P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
7
23
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good enough for a cheap overnight stay but you wouldn't want to be there for longer. Don't book the standard rooms - they overlook the road, have mould growing up the walls, a disgusting bathroom and a noisy a/c. Go for at least the superior rooms - which are still very basic! The staff were pleasant enough and polite. The breakfast in the morning was very simple and with little choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manado hotels

Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night. The standard room had a stale smell, fungus and dirt inherent shower. It was easy to find the light switches because there was a circle of dirt around them on the once white walls.

And there was a karaoke joint next door, and of course awoken by bad Iman karaoke...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jakob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were attracted to the pool. Unfortunetaly, they let in local people who come in big crowds and stare at tourists, which stopped us from coming to the pool. The rooms are average, the standard ones are noisy and numerous times people tried to open our door. The staff is passive, unwilling to help and at times really rude.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone89000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in total, like most people that come to Manado we were here to explore the Dive sites of Sulawesi. We checked out of another hotel as there were not a lot of nearby restauraunts etc. A Taxi driver took us to Minahasa Hotel, and we were greeted by a younger receptionist who spoke impecable english. The room we were given was nice and clean, well furnished and a very reasonable price the have the most amazing swimming pool too. The young receptioist helped us plan and book our dive trip to Bunaken and he managed to get us a good rate for accomodation and Diving for 7 days. This hotel was close enough to the Shopping malls and it is easy enough to get a Taxi from the front. We did a day trip around the country side of Minahasa which I found very interesting visiting local villages, lake Tonado to have lunch at a fish Restaurant as well as a thermal area. We hung out alot at the Local shopping Mall, going to the movies, eating JCO donuts which are the best in the world. Manado is not yet geared up for International Tourist which is awesome, staff who work in Hospitality speak limited english which was fine we soon learnt alot of Bahasa most Tourist only seem to come here for 1 day and then they go straight out to Dive resorts, however I think that Manado is a great spot to explore. I would really recomend going to Sulawesi now, before it becomes over run with Tourist like Bali.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordiewait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

It was nice with the swimming pool and easy to get around in Manado city. Just in front of the hotel you can pickup a public minibus or taxi, around 300 meters walking distance to a big mall or the beach side. We were stayed in a room, simple one and it was ok due to the price they offered.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nohero_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the front of the hotel I thought it just the ordinary simple hotel in the cwnter of Manado City. But when I got in I can see almost the beach and the city of Manado from above. The hotel have a full path for you to go up and has a nice swimming pool at the top at the hotel. You can enjoy swimming while watching the scenery of the beach and Manado city.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timotymaramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
0.8 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 46 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manado City Center Boulevard
5.9 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whiz Prime Hotel Megamas Manado
4.5 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Biz Boulevard Manado
Biz Boulevard Manado
#15 of 46 in Manado
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minahasa Hotel Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minahasa Hotel Manado

Property: Minahasa Hotel Manado
Address: Jl. Sam Ratulangi No.199, Manado, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Minahasa Hotel Manado 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minahasa Hotel Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing