We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again, still superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lumbalumba Diving

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lumbalumba Diving
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back again, still superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I went back after 4 years to LumbaLumba, this time with my family (15 year old daughter and husband). All was as good as I remerbered! The rooms are clean, spacious, big beds, with terrace and hammocks, fans and ac. Food in the restaurant is really excellent. The garden was even more beautiful and the staff is very friendly and professional! And then the diving, alll is very well taken care off, with good equipment and divemasters who know how they can find all different kind of species! The dive sites are very diverse and rch with marinelife.
We had the best time and hope to come back again!

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, the upstairs as well as the rooms in the familyhouse (which are very privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCHvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
55
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

First time visit to Lumba Lumba Diving Resort, and it turned out to be an extremely enjoyable experience. We flew from Shanghai to Manado via Singapore. The entire experience, from the moment we landed in Manado was fantastic. From the beauty and tranquility of the resort surroundings, the new friends we made, the food, and of course, the diving - it was all superbly managed. The resort is situated between 30 minutes to an hour away from a multitude of dive sites - each one with something unique to offer. There is not much more that one can ask for, except for one question - how soon can we return?

Kim and Dino

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimDino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Back again for the ninth year. Still new things to see and people to meet. Improvements on the facilities are ongoing. The staff is as always, pleasant and accommodating. Other guests, more traveled than I, have good comments also. A total package of Diving, resort accommodations and local culture.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Butch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked here due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor....what I found was a fantastic place, dedicated to divers who want to do things in style.

The resort is built for a small number of people, so everything feels very personal when you are there. Spent 7 days and the place was focused on diving and relaxing, which I always feel is the best way to dive.

Fantastic food, with fresh ingredients everywhere. The resort itself is pretty spacious, with beautifully tended gardens and fruit trees providing some of the fresh produce for eating. The views from chalet balconies, swimming pool and bar/restaurant area are fantastic, looking north towards Bunaken Island. Sunsets were nice to have a sundowner.

Diving: well, Lumbalumba have got this right too, with a jetty just across the road and access to either Bunaken Island or Manado sites all within a short boat ride, and even a house reef with mandarin fish at dusk (if you are lucky). I managed 3 dives a day, and the diving is just fantastic. Lots of guides are available, good quality rental gear and help for any of your gear that needs tinkering with.

The resort managers/owners, plus all staff are very friendly, willing to help out where ever they can.

The only bad things were having to leave, and not finding out about this place earlier!

Room Tip: The chalets were fantastic indeed. Great view, and worth the slightly higher cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRob1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We just were 8 days in Lumbalumba. You will see the pictures and understand what want to tell you. Perfect quit location outside Manado with fantastic diving just from the resort.My wife went diving every day and the groups are with two or three not more. The bungalows are just perfect with airco, fan, shower, separate toilet and a very large terras. The price is very low for the quality you receive from owners Ruud and Juud and all personal. The garden is a beauty and the swimming pool just amazing. The prices of drinks to laugh with. In bungalow, bar en restaurant coffee, thé and water for free. Cola, sprite, fanta 1,25euro for 33cl. A large beer 4euro for 70cl and a small one of 33cl 2,25euro. Bottle of wine for my wife 20euro. Diner was the best of all. Every day a buffet and during our 8 days stay there we had never the same. Well done guys.
It's a long trip from Belgium but worth every penny.
We'll come back, that's for sure.

Room Tip: the bungalows are just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bea090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlamathFalls, OR
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

O.K., I love a deal. And this boutique resort is a real deal! It has 5 bungalows, each with a lovely veranda, bath and bedroom. The grounds are absolutely spectacular. The diving from the house reef is very good. I suggest a dive guide for the first dive or two, because there are a lot of hard to find critters. They even have a mandarin fish dive!
This place is a boutique without the price! Concierge diving. The owners are involved in all aspects of the operation and adhere to the highest level of customer service.
It's not often that I rave about a place, but this place deserves my highest praise.
It's a real gem, and a deal at that!

Room Tip: All room are excellent. This property has substantial climbs to the rooms, so you'll get your e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forch near Zürich
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

For the second part of our diving holidays, we spent a week in this really beautiful resort on the mainland of Sulawesi. Leaving the dirty and loud mainroad, you enter a paradise garden. On the partly steep slopes are trees, many sorts of orchids and tropical shrubs composed together with small ponds and footpathes, everything is well thought-out. A real gem is the infinity pool.
The garden alone would make already a wonderful holiday, but not enough of the paradise: The food is extremely good. The bungalows with a marvellous view over the garden to the sea are spacious, extremely clean and very comfortable. The staff knows reasonably well English, is very friendly and helpful, met all our needs.
Diving with the well equipped dive boat is just great. The diving equipment is very well maintained and in good shape. Diving with a difference, indeed! Yet, the long ride to the divesites near Bunaken Island is one of the only disadvantages here. Also the fact, that there is no beach can be easily accepted with all the other advantages. We felt everywhere, that the owners love this place and put all their energy into it.
In short, a place, we can wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boxfish70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
12.2 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#3 of 44 in Manado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#1 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mapia Resort
Mapia Resort
#10 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumbalumba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbalumba Diving

Property: Lumbalumba Diving
Address: PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lumbalumba Diving" is an informal, small and comfortable dive resort in Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. With no more than 6 luxurious chalets, (9 rooms), we offer a familiar and flexible atmosphere with the personalized attention you are looking for. "Lumbalumba Diving" is a complete dive resort with own accommodation, excellent cuisine, bar, tropical pool, limited spa facilities, dive center, Private jetty and spacious dive catamaran. Located on a 3.5 hectare, mountain slope, in a lush botanical garden and overlooking the famous Bunaken Marine Park, we also have one of the most spectacular views you can find in Manado. "For us, you are not just another tourist. For you we are not just another dive resort" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lumbalumba Diving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing