We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly satisfied, would come back”
Review of Lumbalumba Diving

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lumbalumba Diving
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highly satisfied, would come back”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This resort is set in lush gardens with spectacular views of the sea across to Manado Tua and Bunaken Islands. It is an intimate resort with capacity for 14 guests only which is part of its attraction. From the minute that we were met at the airport by Roel, Kres and Maxi, we knew we were in good hands. Everyone here is committed to making your stay a memorable one and they succeed admirably. The accommodation, food and dive offer are all top notch. And while we had a great time diving, on our "off" day we did a half day tour of the highland with Maxi, a most enjoyable experience which is not to be missed. Finally, as a cat lover I was delighted to be entertained by a mum cat and her new kittens while we were there. How lucky they were to fetch up here.

Room Tip: The single/double chalets are your number one pick for the best views, but the family chalet looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rose285200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
62
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Open air restuarant, view to islands, Celebes Sea, infinity pool and lovely steeped gardens.Exotic plants, lovely landscaped land and diver centre across road. Meals all round were excellent and price for accommodation, diving, meals were most competitive.
If you wish to stay and dive Manado, then LumbaLumba is certainly a first choice location.
Linda and John from Australia

Room Tip: steep walk from access road, but great view and infinity pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAFromBalfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This year we were here for the second time. And again we had a wonderful time, with marvelous diving, splendid trips and a very relaxed atmosphere. The garden is a little paradise and from the swimmingpool it looks as if you are swimming in the ocean.
The dive-guides show you all the stuff you want to see. Sharks, eagle-rays but also the little things like pygmee-seahorses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerard640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

There is not much to say about Lumbalumba except: Excellent!
Roel and Juud have built a very special place with so much to speak for it:
• A stunning garden: This is Juud's "baby" and you can spend hours marveling at the park. It is beautifully landscaped and contains various orchids and interesting plants such as cinnamon trees.
• Wonderful huts: You will find a solid build house with a wonderful view, AC, hot water.
• Great food and an overall homely atmosphere: Everybody sits together in the evening for a nice cocktail and buffet dinner and enjoys the absolutely great cooking. Look forward to local dishes with the freshest fish and prawns you probably ate in a long time, or some European options such as soup and salad.
• Diving/snorkeling: They have a nice boat and a great crew! We only did the snorkeling, but every day was so much worth it. The drops and variety in corals and fish are absolutely stunning in Manado!
It is hard to explain in few words, but overall Lumbalumba exceeded our expectations in any field possible, so I can only recommend it to everybody considering going to Manado!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are both experienced, dicserning divers and have just returned from the best dive trip ever at Lumbalumba. It exceeded expectations and ticked more boxes than we had hoped for. We echo previous writers about the superb quality of the resort, dive sites, staff and hospitality however... the implementation of a philosophy that embraces the environment in terms of local employment, eco-friendliness, commitment to wild-life protection (and sustainability of such) is obvious for all to see. Roel and Juud work alongside their 'family' of staff, their value is reflected by happy faces, positive attitudes, taking on family members, students and rotating responsibilities - many have worked up from the garden and become multi-skilled working as dive or land tour guides, engineers, boat captains or in the restaurant. We recommend you take a couple of 'off gas' days to explore the buzzing asian towns, jungle/highland tours, markets rich in local fruits, spices and fish (avoid the meat section if you aren't in favour of the local delicacies of dog and bat). The choice is yours - you may prefer to remain in the safety and comfort of the resort and dive boat for your whole trip, either way you'd still leave happy. In summary - great diving, wonderful company & ethically sound - small is beautiful! Sarah & Stephen Clerk, Canterbury, Kent UK

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahSteve4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warngau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I am a "return visitor" ... like most of the people that you will meet at LumbaLumba !
That itself should tell you what to expect.
It is a place on the other side of the world, that you easily could call "home".
In a beautiful setting you`ll always get the extra attention that you need to feel "just great".
Every wish is taken care of - "once told - ALWAYS remembered".
Staff is excellent - always friendly and "one step ahead".

The diving in Indonesa for sure is always great - but without a passionate and excellent diveguide - you would miss 80% of the things to see.
Not so at LumbaLumba. Small Groups: 1-3 max (!) will all get their individual guide.
Just awesome - easy to get addicted to...especially if you are into underwater photo or video.
And if "YOU" are nice too...you might get lucky to get the special treat of a barbecue on the diveboat, organised by the boatcrew. yummy..:!!! Thanks again Maxi :-))
To make a long story short: "i´ll be back !"
Markus

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I still can't get over the fact that Roel, Juud and their entire team designed and built this resort with their own sweat and toil 10 years ago, and is continue to evolve it day by day. They have thought through every detail, from the pool to the landscape design to the fish pond, the dining area, the jetty and dive center. The resort is so elegantly simple and beautiful, and so very tranquil - everything designed to maximise your enjoyment of the views, the gardens and the company. Roel and Juud were marvelous hosts, and so very hospitable - we felt like good friends staying over at their home. The service is impeccable, and the staff are very friendly and courteous. The dive team made it such a memorable trip for us .... excellent guides - and I am so impressed with their ability to spot things that I can barely see even under through the magnifying glass; but most importantly they were so much fun, and we had great laughs on the boat. I loved the way that Roel and Juud have organised the meals to be communal affairs, which encourages mingling and socialising with the other guests - Roel & Juud joined us for dinner every evening, and we enjoyed hearing all their stories (typically with the Beatles or Edith Piaf playing in the background). I am normally a bit of a prima donna when it comes to diving, where I like to step right out of bed and jump straight in to the dive site - I was initially put out that I had to travel an hour by boat each way to Bunaken, but for the service and experience at Lumba Lumba, and the entertaining boat ride with the crew, with dolphins en route .... it made it all worth it!

Room Tip: All the rooms have lovely patios with hammock with gorgeous sea views (where I spent many evenings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AudreyH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
12.2 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
139 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
15.3 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
174 reviews
3.8 mi away
Murex Dive Resort
Murex Dive Resort
#3 of 19 in Manado
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumbalumba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbalumba Diving

Property: Lumbalumba Diving
Address: PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lumbalumba Diving" is an informal, small and comfortable dive resort in Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. With no more than 6 luxurious chalets, (9 rooms), we offer a familiar and flexible atmosphere with the personalized attention you are looking for. "Lumbalumba Diving" is a complete dive resort with own accommodation, excellent cuisine, bar, tropical pool, limited spa facilities, dive center, Private jetty and spacious dive catamaran. Located on a 3.5 hectare, mountain slope, in a lush botanical garden and overlooking the famous Bunaken Marine Park, we also have one of the most spectacular views you can find in Manado. "For us, you are not just another tourist. For you we are not just another dive resort" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lumbalumba Diving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing