We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real original dive resort, can't beat it!”
Review of Lumbalumba Diving

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lumbalumba Diving
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Manado
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The real original dive resort, can't beat it!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Lumbalumba (many dolphins) diving is enchanting. We booked ahead and did well as this lovely place is just for the happy few. The bungalows are nestled in the middle of a hilly garden that Juud has turned into heaven: mango trees, orchids of all sorts, nutmeg, coconut trees, timber tree, aloe vera plant (very useful if you get sunburned) flowers of all shapes and colors including the mysterious 'Lady of the night' which blossoms once a year at night and then dies. A real treat to witness! The pool is fantastic, can't get out of it, warm, clean and with a stunning view;
Juud runs the hotel part with an iron and magic hand, Roel handles all the diving part with equal success. The staff is there to care for your every needs, the cuisine is great and healthy and fresh, the bungalows are sparkling clean and offer a great view from the veranda or your bed . The diving is just great, everything is taken care of by a lovely crew and diving guides, one just has to get on the boat after a delightful breakfast and then the underworld does the magic: huge turtles, napoleons, sharks, amazing school of a variety of fishes, giant clams, orang-utang crabs, and you'll have to dive it to complete the list! It is the most relaxing spot and the only great place to be in Manado for diving or snorkeling. I was lucky to celebrate my birthday at Lumbalumba, what a treat! Best cake by the chef and his team, fantastic exotic flower arrangement and a buffet to die for. Merci! One last word about the music play list: the best of the 60's, 70's and 80's, just great when having a drink at the bar before tasting the beautiful and delicious dinner buffet. Thank you Juud and Roel for creating this piece of paradise, we will be back.
Fabienne & Dominique, Paris

Room Tip: All 4 bungalows are the same with great views, the family chalet, single rooms are a stone throw awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabienneBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
61
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

LumbaLumba Diving is “the place to be” for scuba diving and snorkeling. Fantastic dive sites! We have visited LumbaLumba Diving for the second time with our children of 13 and 17. This dive resort is comfortable small and therefore great individual attention without obtrusiveness. One dive guide for two persons in general is really great. The dive guides are very experienced and enthusiastic and make a very nice atmosphere at the boat. When you have a day off the boat, you can lounge at the resort and enjoy the beautiful tropical garden and the swimming pool. For dinner they have a very good buffet with healthy food. So, in short, highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

For the past 8 years my friends have been inviting me to join them at LumbaLumba Diving. Finally this past July ,I did just that; and the trip exceeded all my expectations.
First, the hotel itself is physically pleasing; the website photos really don't do it justice. Landscaping and cottages are in harmony with the surrounding country side.
The Staff are attentive without being cloying; they learn your name the first day.Food is fresh and well prepared.Always a good selection that is delicious .
Diving: GREAT!! Never had to touch my equipment except to put it on.. The variety of sea life was amazing and the dive guides knew just where to find it.Fish, and coral that I have never seen in amounts that were astounding.. HUGE turtles just swimming by...Napolean Wrasse coming up to the boat; Sweetlips.. giant clams.. things never seen in the Caribbean.
The boat is comfortable;lunch and fresh fruit was on board every day.. Fresh water was at hand as well..
The trip from the East Coast of the USA is long and the jet lag is heinous. Will I do it again? You bet...The value for the money is well worth it..
Now I am not a novice diver.. started in '89 and have been to many destinations... This is one of my Favorites...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bosco49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

firstly we were greeted at the airport by the owner, Roel, who already knew who we were after researching on facebook! when we arrived at the resort we were given coconut drinks and swiftly shown to our rooms. we were a family of 6 travelling and used the family chalet in front of the pool. the rooms are basic but immaculate, have everything you need, and the beds are incredibly comfy! the gardens and the pool area are beautiful and have the most breath taking view of the sea. as soon as you arrive you get a sense of the relaxed, 'go with the flow' atttitude this resort has and it makes you instantly feel like you havent travelled for 12 hours!

this resort only has 7 rooms in total so is very small but that's what makes it so great. erveryone makes an effort to know your name before you even meet them, and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. the dive crew in particular are the best we have dived with, and Revol, who is the barman/waiter/everything else is there at breakfast lunch and dinner and so sweet and helpful that we wanted to take him home! dinner is a 'family affair' with all the guests eating together with the owners - who by the way are lovely, friendly people - and the food is absolutely delicious with a variety of local foods.

as i mentioned above, the dive crew are the best we have ever dived with. a lot of fun and very good at spotting all sorts of marine life. the transfer to Bunaken National Park is about 1 hour, but it was lovely to be able to relax on the sun deck for an hour before starting to dive, and an hour hour at the end of the day. for those sun worshippers, it is also much nicer to sunbathe on the sun deck with the breeze from the sea that trying to sit in the heat by the pool! the boat goes out all day, doing one dive in the morning, having lunch (which you order the night before and is packed in your own lunch box), and then one dive in the afternoon before heading back for about 4pm. the whole day is very relaxed and we thought perfect when diving every day. the dive crew do absolutely everything for you - they get all your equipment set up for each dive and even bring it to you to put on! im sure i dont need to say much about the diving itself - its mostly at Bunaken which is obviously fantastic and so much to see! the following week we went to another diving resort but actually paid extra to return to Bunaken as it was by far the better diving area.

as i said, nothing is too much trouble for anyone, and the owners are very accommodating - if you want to do something different to normal they will do their best to make it happen. we had a lovely week at LumbaLumba Diving, and wished we could have stayed longer! we will be back soon!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holdstockh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

For the mot part, the place was amazing. The owners and staff were veery personable, the meals wonderful, the prices for diving competitive, and the feeling most intimate. My only complaint is that they rob you on the non-diving day trips. For example, four of us did a half day trip and and we each got charged as if we'd each been the only one on the trip ( and a pretty hefty price as well ).

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler777071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poelboy, Owner at Lumbalumba Diving, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Traveler777071,

Many thanks for your overall positive comment and high ranking you gave us. It always makes us feel good when our guests leave the resort with nothing but good memories.
That is why it hurts to see the remark about your feeling being robbed on the half day tour you made. Since I think this can potentially create wrong impressions for other viewers I like to explain , from our point of view, what this is about.
Currently, (May 2011), our price per person for a full day Minahasa highland tour is 75,- euro and for a half day 60,- euro.
With 4 persons this price goes down to 45,- euro for a full day and to 40,- euro for a half day.
This last price is also what was charged, according to, and published in, our land tour price list. So nobody got charged as if they had been the only one on the trip.... The price was also known on forehand.
For this price, we provide an air conditioned car, English speaking driver and guide, lunch, drinks and one can more or less choose where to go within the time span of about 4 hours.
In this particular case, the tour lasted about 6 hours and that was because eventually, after visiting a local market, the trip turned into a rather memorable "dog rescue operation".
It is true that in comparison to a half day, a full day is cheaper, but that is because cars in Manado can not be rented per half day and also the diver /guide can not do much else that day. Specially not if half day trips last longer then 4 hrs.
So yes, price wise, it would be better to choose a full day trip instead of a half day. In lots of businesses this is common practice;
Single occupation is in proportion always more costly then double and a one way ticket is not half the price of a return ticket....
Also, looking at the land tour prices offered by other similar facilities in the region, we are on the low end and more then competitive. We don't think our prices are out of proportion.
But, still, one can think that the price of 40,- euro is a rip off for the given services and everybody is of course entitled to such an opinion.
However, from my business point of view I cannot answer any different that in that case the choice of taking this tour with us should not have been made.
We don't know our guests budgets and we could have given you cheaper alternatives in your wish to explore the Minahasa highlands. For example, with public transportation.
Any ways, I can't do anything about it any more. Our feelings are still a bit hurt seeing this comment on Trip Advisor, but I hope that my explanation has given some insight in this "..only one caveat" about Lumbalumba Diving.
I like to end with when, we hopefully meet again in the future, we will again charge you at least 40,- euro for a half day highland tour, (organized by us and with 4 participants).
After all we have the full intention not only to "have" Lumbalumba Diving, but also to "keep" Lumbalumba Diving : ) : )

Wish you many good dives and safe travels,

Sincerely,
Roel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Spent a week here and could not the more pleased with the accommodations. Roel and Juud are excellent hosts. Good food and great diving. The grounds and bungalows are charming, and the infinity pool is a nice amenity. Manado is not the most attractive city, and it is unfortunate there is not much else fun to do besides dive. Still, if diving is your thing and you just want to relax, then this is your place. I would say the reefs are still quite healthy, esp. given the large population living in close proximity. Not many big fish here, bit an abundance of small things like seahorses and smaller fish species. The nice thing about LumbaLumba is that they have both excellent coral diving as well as muck diving nearby. For that reason I would stay here versus Lembe Straits. Also LumbaLumba staff help run the hyperbaric chamber for the island which suggests to me that they care and know a bit about safety.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nofusscioppino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Flexible, an eye for detail, friendly, good service, clean, good food, considerate, accommodating, nice, in short really a resort you need to consider if you plan to travel to the region. Your trip will be a relaxing and nice one - you don't need to bother with anything and can focus on what you came for.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Been_around073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manado hotels
12.2 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 45 in Manado
130 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
512 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
32.7 mi away
Gangga Island Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Murex Dive Resort
Murex Dive Resort
#4 of 19 in Manado
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumbalumba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbalumba Diving

Property: Lumbalumba Diving
Address: PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lumbalumba Diving" is an informal, small and comfortable dive resort in Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. With no more than 6 luxurious chalets, (9 rooms), we offer a familiar and flexible atmosphere with the personalized attention you are looking for. "Lumbalumba Diving" is a complete dive resort with own accommodation, excellent cuisine, bar, tropical pool, limited spa facilities, dive center, Private jetty and spacious dive catamaran. Located on a 3.5 hectare, mountain slope, in a lush botanical garden and overlooking the famous Bunaken Marine Park, we also have one of the most spectacular views you can find in Manado. "For us, you are not just another tourist. For you we are not just another dive resort" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lumbalumba Diving reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing