We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$124
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$34
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$42
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$42
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cakalang Bunaken(Bunaken Island)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$611
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
36
10
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
10
2
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 49 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Going to Bunaken/Manado? Bahowo Lodge is the only place to stay for great company, service and the food - which is fantastic! I've stayed with Phil and Paula 3 times now and plan to get back there asap.

Rob Williams. UK

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Staying at the Bahowo Lodge doesn't feel like staying at a hotel: it feels like going away to stay with very good friends who are particularly solicitous about making sure that you are comfortable in every way. The owners simply dealt with every request instantly, and anticipated a bunch of requests before we made them.

The atmosphere was wonderfully sociable, with every evening turning into a dinner party with friends as we sat together at one table. Helped by the home-cooked food, which was excellent.

Location is in a small village, a 5-10 minute drive away from the Thalassa dive centre: Phil and Paula are firmly welded into the community. Ethically minded travellers will appreciate the story: they put a huge amount into the well-being of the village, and the way they and the locals treat each other all adds to the experience.

Rooms are lovely, particularly the suite that slept us and two teenagers which had masses of space. But this is a home rather than a five star hotel, and if that's what you're looking for, don't come here - for example, the electricity and plumbing can be a little erratic. But that's a tiny price to pay, in our view.

Oh, and you have to like golden retrievers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xgretsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Just returned from my seventh visit to Bahowo Lodge. I feel relaxed and refreshed. My husband has enjoyed two weeks of diving and I've enjoyed the peace and quiet of the Lodge plus visits to Manado for eating out, shopping and a fish pedicure! Phil and Paula make you feel so welcome that it's like going home every time we go back. And there's always something new to do or to visit. The masssages on offer at the Lodge are fabulous and an added bonus. The food is as excellent as ever and it's great fun to get to know the people in the village - their English is better than my Indonesian! It's also good to be involved in the social projects for the village, instigated by Phil and Paula - the rebuilding of the school, the building of a clinic and a local bus service. The only way you'll really know the benefits of staying at Bahowo is to go there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanmb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed at Bohowo as the first stop on our honeymoon. We were made to feel at home straight away by the English owners and had a comfortable room which helped with the jet-lag.

The food was excellent, their knowledge of the area and the country extensive and their stories fascinating! Pool was also great in the heat of the day.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank SPAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Stayed at Bahowo for about a week in April and loved it! Phil and Paula are fantastic hosts, and ready to help you everything from picking up new toothbrushes to mailing your postcards. Always available for a chat, full of good advice on the area and places to go visit. And the food was just out of this world. Fresh baked bread every morning, fresh fish, vegetables and peanut sauce at night. A wall full of movies for rainy evenings. Immaculate rooms with a/c. Couldn't ask for more - truly hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregZeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews