We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Good”

Rumah Makan Seafood Apong
Ranked #3 of 362 Restaurants in Makassar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Singapore
Level Contributor
172 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Cheap and Good”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A landmark for the locals in Makassar. Choose your own seafood and they cooked accordingly to your liking. The crabs are too die for. It is reasonably priced. A must for lunch or dinner

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maxmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    88
    21
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Finger licking good”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was in Makassar last week and our joint venture partner took us to Apong. Makassar is well known for its fresh seafood but the choice in Apong was really something else. There were seven of us and we feasted on crabs, prawns and different types of fish. It was either steamed, fried or grilled... and absolutely wonderful. If you get to Makassar, make the effort to go and dine at Apong's. You will not regret the choice. Happy eating....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edmund_nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not consistent taste”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Apong has many menu you can try. Their famous signature dish are hoisin sauce crab. But its taste not consistent depend on the cook. But their seafood is fresh. Also the restaurant is clean & nice. One thing different from another seafood resto in Makassar is the "sambal" or chili sauce is already mix by Apong.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Taste good and fair price”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Some colleagues brought me here... at first i was hesitant because i used to eat crab in other rest.

We ordered black pepper crab, grilled kudu-kudu, padang style garouppa, calamari, and the fishcake. It taste great...
I even had take outs before i went back to jakarta

Helpful?
2 Thank Temmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“High End Seafood Restaurant in Makassar”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

They got variety of fresh fish. The restaurant is comfy, air-con, and crowded during dinner time.
We choose our fish before ordering food. Fish, Crabs (very big crabs), Clam, etc are put in the ice box.
I was told to try Kudu-Kudu [ikan buntal/puffer fish]... new experience
The Otak-Otak (fish cake) is nice
The Crab is big size
The Dabu-Dabu Sambal is very hot
Satisfied...
the most expensive meal during my trip in Makassar....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HandraTjhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumah Makan Seafood Apong also viewed

Makassar, South Sulawesi
Makassar, South Sulawesi
 
Makassar, South Sulawesi
Makassar, South Sulawesi
 
Makassar, South Sulawesi
Makassar, South Sulawesi
 

Been to Rumah Makan Seafood Apong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing