We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap and Not Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Aryaduta Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aryaduta Makassar
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not cheap and Not Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel a few times a year for around 5 years and it has continued to decline in standards. The best thing about the hotel is the lobby, modern looking and spacious however that standard stops when you hit the UP button in the lift on your way to your room.
The paint job on the floors is terrible, garish pink enamel paint on the doors to the rooms and generally ugly interior.
Beds are comfortable however Shower-over-bath configuration in the bathroom is never a favourite of mine.

You pay extra for an ocean view and while the sunsets are kind of pretty, the Losari ocean front is pretty ugly really.

The new Pantai Losari Mosque has been completed and is directly opposite the hotel. Expect to be woken at 4:00 in the morning by the call to prayer if you have opted for the ocean-view room.

The food in the restaurant has never been good here and I've always approached the buffet with caution. You'd be better off walking around the corner to the Seafood Restaurant which does great BBQ fish of all sorts and its always fresh.

Room Tip: Don't want to be woken at 4am in the morning by the very loud mosque across the street? Take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benwMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    200
    100
    19
    6
See reviews for
111
65
34
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

It is probably the most expensive in Makassar, and a very well known one too. The hotel strategically placed in front of Losari Beach, the iconic place of Makassar. The beach is usually very crowded during weekend morning and closed for vehicles.
It was probably the 4th or 5th time I stayed in this hotel, but the first time with my family. As usual, the front desk service was swift. The room is considered clean but outdated. And it was not sound-proofed. We still could hear people walk and chat outside the room. And because we had room with connecting door, the sound from next room was heard quite clearly. It was annoying.
The breakfast menu was dull. They didn't change the menu, so we got bored after day 2. There was not enough parking lot, so most of the time I had to park my car outside.
I would expect more from a 4-star hotel. It is still probably the best hotel in Makassar, but you can find better hotel with the same price range in other cities, especially in Indonesia.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms give excellent view, especially during sunset. But they come with more expensive rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank budi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

First impression dealing with hotel staff is important to begin an either good or bad experience at hotels. Reception staff at this hotel was very professional and friendly. Booking in was quick, hassle free. The hotel itself is a little dated and is need of some upgrade; however it’s clean and easy to navigate with clear signage. The room was big, and the bathroom a little dated but works well. The breakfast is very good with a large selection of western and local meals. The location of the hotel is near weekend markets just meters away. The pool area/ outside seating area are very nice with views of the sea. I had no problems with this hotel. If I had to be picky, I would say that lights inside the rooms are dated with old type switches, where to turn them on you have to turn the switch almost 360 degrees. Overall I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Up to now this is the best hotel in Makasar. The location in Losari beach, is strategic for business and tour. Get the room faces to the beach, to get a beautiful scenery, in the morning, especially while sunset.
The building relative old, but interior design has a class, and clean. Its coffee-shop and breakfast menu (western, local) is excellent, with vew to smiming-pool and beach. The staffs are friendly and helpful, many of them speak English. The only weakness: building, its room equipments are reatively old.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risfan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Many fellow travelers will know that if you are flying throughout Indonesia to some of the more remote areas you will most likely have to go through Makassar. If you need a hotel, this place will do for a short stop over. The staff were well trained and the rooms clean, although the carpets are a bit wiffy. The buffet restaurant was a surprisingly good. We staying a sea view room (not much a of a view really) but should have chosen the back as you hear call to prayer at all hours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinsinamap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I was booked here for a workshop and apparently we got the executive club room and paid for it, too (expensive, considering the mediocre room for so-called aryaduta quality). The carpets weren't too clean and the AC system is weird, it turns off and results in a warm room, then blasts cold air for a few minutes and turns it chilly. The food was mediocre at best. The most annoying thing was, although we were on the executive club floor and we should have been able to use the executive lounge, the staff at the lounge said that we would be charged extra (when it was supposed to be free) because our rooms were upgraded from standard room--however i do remember paying executive room prices. By the way, although you are a guest, you have to pay to use the sauna in the hotel fitness centre, which a concept tht find ridiculous. All in all not a very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrasendja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

stay here for business purpose. big room, clean, and best location also hotel staff very helpful.
1min walk to famous losari beach, and plenty hawker food surrounding this hotel.
just 20min to airport.

Room Tip: they have sea view room with extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okie_baik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.5 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#1 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
0.6 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#2 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
0.6 mi away
Novotel Makassar Grand Shayla
0.2 mi away
Quality Plaza Hotel
Quality Plaza Hotel
#7 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Makassar

Property: Aryaduta Makassar
Address: Jl. Somba Opu no. 297 | Ujung Padang, Makassar 90112, Indonesia (Formerly Imperial Aryaduta Hotel Makassar)
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Makassar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of comfort set amidst scenic shores of Losari Beach Boulevard and a lively city center, Aryaduta Makassar emphasizes Indonesian charm and warm hospitality. Its 224 rooms and suites showcase the city's stunning ocean and city views, making your travel to Makassar truly exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aryaduta Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing