We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, would definitely go back”
Review of Aryaduta Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aryaduta Makassar
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Makassar
Reviewed July 13, 2011

On a business trip with a 2 night stop in Makassar, this hotel was booked by the company. I was not sure what to expect, but the service is not 5 star by far however the rooms for Indonesia are superior, as well you have the amenities in the hotel you would expect. Security is strong, rooms are large and roomy (I was on the executive floor), and very comfortable with bathrobes, plush towels and good amenities. The restaurant is very good and has a wide variety of foods catering to both western and indonesian tastes. Internet access was excellent although I didn't receive the card to explain how to connect, however a call to the front desk had someone at my room within 5 minutes to connect my wifi personally and correctly. Any issues were catered to instantly and the staff were extremely helpful and efficent. Most spoke english quite well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

Travelling for Business, my hotels are often booked in advance by local associates in Indonesia so I often have no idea where I am staying till I arrive there.

The Imperial Aryaduta in Makassar came as a very pleasent surprise. I believe it is part of of an Indonesian chain based out of Java.

The fit out of the public areas and guest rooms was all good quality.

Service was above average for Indonesia.

Meals and the restaurant and bars were all top quality for Indonesia.

This hotel should meet most people's international expectations.

The location is close to main parts of Makassar town areas.

All in all a good experience to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalCitizen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I was on a business trip and my client book this hotel for me. It is one of the plush hotels around and on the sea face. It looks such a grand hotel and the staff are incredible.
The reception was excellent and courteous. The lobby is very well designed.
It has a good swimming pool very clean and neat (you need to carry your own costumes...else it will be too costly).
The chef took care of me personally and that impressed me very much, since I am very particular about my food.
Complimentary breakfast is good with so much variety.
They have live band and a father and daughter they entertain the crowd in the bar, which was very good.
The hotel is on the sea face and some of the rooms has excellent view of sunset.
The rooms are very good and spacious with complimentary internet with good speed. The rooms does not have bath tubs.

Over all the experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasu-hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed 2 night in this hotel and i was really disappointed with the services provide by bell desk staff
my friend sent package for me and put in the bell desk but when i check it , none of the staff in the bell desk notice about the package..they keep saying they dont rcvd any package for me..and when i said, how's about my letter that i pass for my friend who drop the package, they said the letter has given to my friend.
i told them if my letter has been picked up, must be a package for me acdg to my friend has drop to you in the brown bag . they keep saying not rcvd til i show the package lying down on the floor next to the bell desk 's table. and when i check and yes, this is the package that i am looking for..
my friend put on the floor and show the staff to keep for me, but the staff is so careless and not try to keep in the right place .
i hope this hotel can improve their bell desk staff to be more professional and take more attention to people message and give good service to u

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tkabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Aryaduta has a 5 star rating. Perhaps that rating applied when it first opened in the 19th century?

The hotel is run down. The room and bathroom are clean, but run down and in need of continuous maintenance. The fixtures are old. So bathtub has stains of mildew.

i had a seaview, which was a treat. The rooms on the other side of the corridor faces the city - which is run down and full of construction. So though not pleasant, certainly liveable.

Although the towels are nice and thick, they had a strange scent.
Plasma TV had enough programs to keep you entertained if you are don't want to hang out at the bar downstairs - which is decent.

This is the "best" hotel in Makassar. So there is not another one to recommend if you are used to 4 and 5 star hotels in Kuala Lumpur, Singapore, Bangkok, London.

No Wifi in room, but pay to use internet in rooms.
Free wifi in lobby, bar, and restaurant. Free for two hours, then ask for another log in and password.

Staff were all very friendly.

Breakfast had the usual continental muffins, toast, fruits, and also some local delicacies.

The pool is small and crowded with family and children.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The hotel is well located on the foreshore. The rooms are dated and don’t look as nice as they do on the internet – but they are okay and clean. The restaurant was nice. Arranging an airport pickup before you arrive is a must as trying to arrange a taxi at Makassar airport can be a bit overwhelming.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Good hotel and choice of President when he comes to Makassar. Restaurant is great as are buffets etc. Location is right on main boulevard of town facing water- great for Makassar's famous sunsets. But is very expensive for Makassar and small (rooms etc). Service is good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank indobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.6 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
0.6 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#6 of 104 in Makassar
453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Makassar
Swiss-Belhotel Makassar
#10 of 104 in Makassar
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#2 of 104 in Makassar
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gammara Hotel
Gammara Hotel
#16 of 104 in Makassar
111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aryaduta Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aryaduta Makassar

Address: Jl. Somba Opu no. 297, Makassar 90111, Indonesia (Formerly Imperial Aryaduta Hotel Makassar)
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range: $57 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aryaduta Makassar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of comfort set amidst scenic shores of Losari Beach Boulevard and a lively city center, Aryaduta Makassar emphasizes Indonesian charm and warm hospitality. Its 224 rooms and suites showcase the city's stunning ocean and city views, making your travel to Makassar truly exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aryaduta Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing