We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Makassar
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Short visit”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Only been here 1 night but the hotel is pretty much a standard 4 star western hotel. Nothing wrong with it at all, trendy pool area near the top of the hotel.

The online booking says they will upgrade you if there is availability but when you arrive they want to charge you for this.

There is a new hotel next door with 60 percent off rates.

Room Tip: When you book online it says you get a room upgrade but this doesn't happen when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    293
    79
    19
    8
See reviews for
126
136
30
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was staying here during business trip on October 2013. Relative to the price, I think it's a very reasonable bargain. The location is very convenient (gelael and KFC is only a block away), the food is good (it was my first time to taste coto makassar and I wasn't disappointed), and the staffs are very helpful. It was a pleasant experience to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttoDeschanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My daughter and I spent one night here before catching a bus to Tana Toraja. We were delighted with our room, the restaurant - particularly the buffet breakfast - and the pool, where we enjoyed a 6am swim. There was only one small problem with the room: the curtain wasn't quite blocking out the light...there may have been a missing hook.

The real negative was the front desk staff, who though very personable, were unable to satisfactorily answer our questions about buses to Rantepao. We were even told that they don't run on Sundays, when they do! ( This wasn't an English language problem, as I'm an Indonesian speaker.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suby_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Aston for 2 nights. The bed was a good size and very comfortable -the room was clean and spacious. Helpful friendly staff- the pool area with sauna was a great place to relax with good views of the sunset. Plenty of breakfast options and we were able to get a takeaway breakfast on our last day as we had an early flight. We did have dinner one evening in the resturant, the food took a while to arrive and the portions were quite small. However we would definitely stay at the Aston again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

After an amazing 5 days diving trip to Bira, in a very remote area of Sulawesi, we were glad to spend a night in this excellent hotel. Clean and big room, great bathroom and nice facilities, into a safe-feeling place. Bed was great, slept like a baby. We had to check out early and they prepared a take away breakfast (5am).
not to forget the cheap in-room massage just before sleeping.
Not so far, you can visit the Dutch fort and have a nice indonesian meal with fish bbq few streets away. Saw a monkey ridding a bike...ah Indonesia!! love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyDelhaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar, Sulawesi Selatan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

You might think its too much. Let me share bout my experience. While write this review, i still stay in this hotel. I am staying here for 2 nights from 30sept-2oct with my mom.
"DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER" I think this classic proverb fits with this hotel. From outside its a brand new hotel with several facilities they offered. Some friends and family also gave good comment this 'leading national hotel group in Indonesia'. Automatically as a guess, i hv quite big expectation about stay comfortly in this hotel. But after i try myself, trust me they all wrong. Why i said so?
Let me explain. For me, their biggest mistake is that they sell an improper room to sell and bad service/respond. Room that i stay in is 1107. The improper thing mainly comes from AirCon issue. 1st day i cheked in about 2pm, the AirCond didn't work so i went to reception & asked him to fix while i left the hotel. After i came back about in the evening, i hope its fixed already but infact they did nothing. Start from here, i hv bad impression about their service. So i called reception & tell him why dont u fix. Then they send technician to fix the aircond. After its fixed, no more problem on tht 1st day.
2nd day i left the hotel after breakfast & came back about 2pm. The SAME PROBLEM happened again. The aircond can't be turn on. Here's why i said its IMPROPER to SELL. then i call reception again & left the room to fixed. When i back its fixed already. A few moments they call from reception ONLY asking about whether the aircond worked already WITHOUT OFFER me to CHANGE ANOTHER ROOM. Here i know tht this hotel has a VERY LOW STANDARD OF SERVICE.
Till then its not enough, up this moment until now while writing this review in the midnight after 'fixed' before, AGAIN another problem the aircond start making clunking noise. I call duty manager to come n see. Just now in the midnight afterall he offer to change the room while my mom already tired & refuse to change. Just now the duty manager realized they should hv been offer to change another room since the 1st day. Well its too late.
What i know tht the CORE VALUE of a hotel is PROVIDING GOOD SERVICE, and for me they missed it.
Hopefully this review can be usefull.

Regards

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for one night, well located, clean room and good bedding. After check in, I found our room 1107 had a problem with Air Conditioning, but it was repaired immediately by maintenance staff. Good response from the housekeeping/maintenance staff. What I really like about this hotel is the strict rule and penalty on smoking in non-smoking rooms and lobby area. Good job Aston !!! I had a wonderful time and will be back on my next visit to Makasar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosmiwatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makassar hotels
1.2 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#1 of 100 in Makassar
314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#2 of 100 in Makassar
262 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Makassar
Aryaduta Makassar
#12 of 100 in Makassar
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Makassar Grand Shayla
1.2 mi away
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
#4 of 100 in Makassar
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Jl. Sultan Hasanuddin no. 10, Makassar 90111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center is a modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference Hotel with 177 tasteful rooms and suites, 5 spacious meeting rooms and a large Ballroom that can accommodate up to 1000 guests. The hotel also features a delightful Coffee Shop, a ‘sky dining’ restaurant with amazing city and ocean views as well as an indoor swimming pool, complete gym and a well equipped spa with 20 private treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing