We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant hotel in Sulawesi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel in Sulawesi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

After an amazing 5 days diving trip to Bira, in a very remote area of Sulawesi, we were glad to spend a night in this excellent hotel. Clean and big room, great bathroom and nice facilities, into a safe-feeling place. Bed was great, slept like a baby. We had to check out early and they prepared a take away breakfast (5am).
not to forget the cheap in-room massage just before sleeping.
Not so far, you can visit the Dutch fort and have a nice indonesian meal with fish bbq few streets away. Saw a monkey ridding a bike...ah Indonesia!! love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyDelhaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    287
    79
    19
    8
See reviews for
123
132
30
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makassar, Sulawesi Selatan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

You might think its too much. Let me share bout my experience. While write this review, i still stay in this hotel. I am staying here for 2 nights from 30sept-2oct with my mom.
"DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER" I think this classic proverb fits with this hotel. From outside its a brand new hotel with several facilities they offered. Some friends and family also gave good comment this 'leading national hotel group in Indonesia'. Automatically as a guess, i hv quite big expectation about stay comfortly in this hotel. But after i try myself, trust me they all wrong. Why i said so?
Let me explain. For me, their biggest mistake is that they sell an improper room to sell and bad service/respond. Room that i stay in is 1107. The improper thing mainly comes from AirCon issue. 1st day i cheked in about 2pm, the AirCond didn't work so i went to reception & asked him to fix while i left the hotel. After i came back about in the evening, i hope its fixed already but infact they did nothing. Start from here, i hv bad impression about their service. So i called reception & tell him why dont u fix. Then they send technician to fix the aircond. After its fixed, no more problem on tht 1st day.
2nd day i left the hotel after breakfast & came back about 2pm. The SAME PROBLEM happened again. The aircond can't be turn on. Here's why i said its IMPROPER to SELL. then i call reception again & left the room to fixed. When i back its fixed already. A few moments they call from reception ONLY asking about whether the aircond worked already WITHOUT OFFER me to CHANGE ANOTHER ROOM. Here i know tht this hotel has a VERY LOW STANDARD OF SERVICE.
Till then its not enough, up this moment until now while writing this review in the midnight after 'fixed' before, AGAIN another problem the aircond start making clunking noise. I call duty manager to come n see. Just now in the midnight afterall he offer to change the room while my mom already tired & refuse to change. Just now the duty manager realized they should hv been offer to change another room since the 1st day. Well its too late.
What i know tht the CORE VALUE of a hotel is PROVIDING GOOD SERVICE, and for me they missed it.
Hopefully this review can be usefull.

Regards

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for one night, well located, clean room and good bedding. After check in, I found our room 1107 had a problem with Air Conditioning, but it was repaired immediately by maintenance staff. Good response from the housekeeping/maintenance staff. What I really like about this hotel is the strict rule and penalty on smoking in non-smoking rooms and lobby area. Good job Aston !!! I had a wonderful time and will be back on my next visit to Makasar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosmiwatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very good hotel, centrally located in walking distance of the restaurants and views of Makassar, stayed there for four nights. Very friendly and helpful staff, big well equipped rooms, good breakfast, swimming pool. Shop around for the best rates.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at the Aston Makassar for 3 nights recently. It is well located at the heart of the city within walking distance to Fort Rotterdam, Losari Beach and Chinatown. There is a good supermarket next to the hotel and a Japanese (Sushi Tei) & Thai Restaurant (Black Canyon) nearby.

The staffs we met at the reception were friendly but it seemed that some of them might have some difficulties with the English Language. Check-in took quite a while even when there was nobody ahead of us. We asked for a walking map of the city but was given one containing some local wordings. Not very helpful.

Our room was fine and spacious. Wifi was a bit erratic at times and while the air-conditioning worked really well, it was noisy at times. The bathroom was neat and the bedding smelt fresh. Our room 1111 had a nice view of the sea.

The swimming pool at level 15 was great and we had a great time admiring the setting sun. However, the massage service was terrible. Lousy skills aside, the therapist was very determined to make a quick buck by offering services which I had not requested.

This was a bit strange for a reputable hotel like Aston. More so when the swimming pool was right outside where kids were running around in the afternoon. A fellow reviewer had cautioned that in his earlier review. Thinking back, I should have heeded his advice. What a complete waste of my time!!!

The complimentary breakfast was an ordinary affair. The staffs were helpful and food was filling, nothing too inspiring. The fruits and salad looked tired as though they had been left idle for a long time.

There was one morning when we asked for the directions to go to Chinatown. We approached the Reception, the Guest Relations Officer, the Concierge before getting an answer from the same Reception. Again, they seemed to have much difficulties understand the word "Chinatown" which was quite frustrating.

Overall, while the hotel had a nice room and a great swimming pool, I think the service at the front desk and Spa Centre is something that they should be looking at seriously. For a 4 star property, there is certainly plenty of hard work to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the sea if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minghui79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here from for 3 nights in Sep 2013 and had a wonderful time. Clean room, comfy bed and quiet area. Amazing pool on 15th floor and cool sitting area on 19th floor. Very friendly and helpful staff. Strict rule and penalty on smoking in non-smoking rooms, other hotels in Indonesia should follow this policy. Our clothes were mistakenly taken for washing so they "disappeared" for a while. But the manager Pak Udin took immediate action and solved the problem. Thank you Pak Udin. Wishing you and the staff success. We will be back. Salam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I spent 1 night on an official trip. Created a good impression. Staff was helpful. Great view from the swimming pool on the 15th floor. The hotel and rooms are well maintained. Overall quite a modern place. Will not mind staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floor for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makassar hotels
1.0 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#1 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
1.2 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#2 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Makassar
Aryaduta Makassar
#11 of 99 in Makassar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Makassar Grand Shayla
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Makassar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Jl. Sultan Hasanuddin no. 10, Makassar 90111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center is a modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference Hotel with 177 tasteful rooms and suites, 5 spacious meeting rooms and a large Ballroom that can accommodate up to 1000 guests. The hotel also features a delightful Coffee Shop, a ‘sky dining’ restaurant with amazing city and ocean views as well as an indoor swimming pool, complete gym and a well equipped spa with 20 private treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing