We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Makassar
Eggleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location and great breakfast”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Overall hotell is a very pleasant place to stay - particularly for first night in Sulawesi. Well maintained gardens, good food and attractive swimming pool. We stayed in main part of hotel - rooms spacious clean and comfortable but not looking tired, ill maintained and in need to renovation - showing its age. Bathrooms were clean but looked grubby.
Breakfast superby served on deck of old ship converted to restaurant overlooking sea and school children/commuters arriving by boat. Has evening meal at the outdoor sunset bar serving modest but freshly cooked indonesian dishes. The most expensive Bintang of holiday but a good view (although construction of neighbouring building going on) . Our sleep was never disturbed by noise outside ground floor rooms. Easy to walk to Fort Rotterdam and gold quarter. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank_nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    39
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
42
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was not my first visit to this property, but I was really disappointed this time around, by price vs quality and some lack of concern by the administrative staff.
First the good things-- the hotel grounds are nice, in a balinese style and offer a nice area to walk and relax. The security in front is good and pleasant, as are the room staff.
Now to the problems I hit-- I booked a deluxe room (because the others available were on 3rd level with no lift) and the room was tired. It was clean, tile floor, thin towels, old furnishings.
First nite we arrived late so went to eat in the restaurant- designed in shape of a ship and overlooking the water-- simple orders-- waited - waited - after an hour, went to hostess and were told the cooking gas had run out and they had to get more-- never came to tell us this... food was okay- after hour and half total.
Next day my friend had family visiting and wanted to use the swimming pool-- It was closed for 'repairs'.
Now my problem with all of this is that when i talked with the Sales Manager and explained my frustration along with the fact that the rates were higher than other newer hotels, I got no satisfaction-- only I will check on it. Bottom line, my last day a 'Fruit tray' was sent to the room, and to be honest a 10% discount on the room rate would have been a more realistic 'mea culpa for the poor service and unavailable facilities, that we had planned on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel serves you the cottage rooms above the sea. All furniture made from woods. You can enjoy the beach view in the corner edges. For the meal times, served in the phinisi restaurant which designed like a voyage. Also you can take a walk outside to buy souvenirs because it ain't hard to reach.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Makassar isn't exactly a place with an abundance of quality accommodation. Pantai Gapura is therefor probably one of the better options in town. Nevertheless, it's a very average hotel and value-for-money wise it's expensive. We had two bungalows at the waterfront, with great views over the water and a nice sunset. The bungalows look great on the outside but the interior is run-down and looks like 'old glory', especially the bathroom. We returned from an overland trip around Sulawesi with the kids longing for some cooling off in the hotel swimming pool, only to find it...empty because they had to fix something. In the midst of high season, really? Not done. Playing cards in the reception outside lobby area in the evening, one of the hotel staff approached our table to... turn off the water fountain and turn of the atmospheric lights. Great cost consciousness if you're running your hotel on a budget, not so great service. We had beers in the lobby as well, only to discover that a large bottle of Bintang was 100.000 Rupee. When complaining about the price, they justified it with 'Ramadan'. I thought the Prophet was against making an unfair profit? Overall, this hotel is way too expensive for the accommodation and service that you are getting. The positive points are the location and the fact that it may still be one of the better alternatives in town due to a lack of many alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Makassar hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sorry my English is not really good but I'll try to give comment for this hotel in English.
I love the ambiance of this hotel. Sitting while dreaming under the sun bright in the morning. I could not found the wave even the hotel floating on the sea. The staffs are friendly, delicious food.
In the morning, when I sitting in front of my room, a lady with red long-dress brought me the traditional food, she calling it "Jalankote" and Air Tahu (tasted seems like soybean). The taste.....WOW....I want it again....
Pantai Gapura Hotel, gave my inspiration to crate a book that I have to write.

Thank you Pantai Gapura

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muflin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Being the hub for East Indonesia, Makassar @early 2012 don't have plenty of Hotel selection. Hotel here is fully booked most of the time.

Hotel Pantai Gapura is located near Pantai Losari and therefore plenty of local food selection is available almost 24 hour. My check in experience has been quite unconvincing with the lobby look very old and hotel overall look a little bit dark. The woody look in the hotel makes it have strong characteristic but big upgrade is desperately neeeded considering it's price.

I got room at the second floor with bathroom look like something from the 80's and room condition well under my standard. The air conditioner in my room is quite noisy and not functioning well which should be very important considering the weather in Makassar. Breakfast is okay, with quite wide selection and good quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismail_Maksum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, lush garden setting. Good vibes. Place needs fixing up, in the same manner as many other Indonesian places do. Nothing to really bother about if you prefer the authentic over an impersonal big flashy hotel. We enjoyed our stay from start to end, regardless of the run down bathroom and the noisy AC. Restaurant on ship: nice feature and good to catch some wind + city views.

Room Tip: Don't go for standard room, too dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huibert74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Makassar Golden
Hotel Makassar Golden
#64 of 100 in Makassar
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#1 of 100 in Makassar
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aryaduta Makassar
Aryaduta Makassar
#12 of 100 in Makassar
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Plaza Hotel
Quality Plaza Hotel
#8 of 100 in Makassar
124 reviews
4.1 mi away
MaxOneHotels at Resort Delia
0.6 mi away
favehotel Daeng Tompo
favehotel Daeng Tompo
#15 of 100 in Makassar
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar

Property: Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar
Address: Jl. Pasar Ikan no. 10, Makassar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Makassar
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing