We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar
Ranked #44 of 103 Hotels in Makassar
Reviewed August 12, 2012

we stayed in this hotel one night at the end of our Toraja trip.
We had a nice room located on the seafront but it was very noisy because we could hear the neigbours as if they were in the room (no insonorisation). On top of this, the hotel put a loud music in its restaurant in thre evening...They close the pool at 6pm so you cannot swim after a daytrip.
Breakast is ok but they are hardly nodoby in this place...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berniege53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our favorite hotel in Makassar is Hotel Pantai Gapura, located right downtown. We love the quiet atmosphere of the rooms situated over water and connected by bridges. When we desire more action, we can go out the front door and enjoy the busy traffic and diverse shops of one of the main streets of the city. We have enjoyed iced Milo drinks at a local café and taken Dunkin Donuts back to the room for a midnight snack. The staff is always very helpful with onward flight arrangements and pickups at the airport, which is nice and new and small, only 6 gates.

Room Tip: request ocean view room. others are harbor view, not bad but not the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Lonely Planet advertised the ocean view cottage as a great deal and I guess, the guide is right. Although we just missed the sunset, from the deck of our cottage we had a beautiful view over the ocean and the room itself was nice enough. But outside the room: it advertises itself as a resort, but it was hardly that. Contrary to what we were used to by now, the staff was curt and just friendly enough to scrape by. The restaurant in a huge 'boat' was plain awful. The menu was so offputting, that we decided to head into town to find something to eat. Breakfast the next morning confirmed our fears: it was meager and not very tasty. We stayed in Makassar only one night on our way to Tana Toraja and we stayed in a cottage (the building with the rooms looked more like a dormatory) and for that purpose the hotel was ok. If we were to stay in Makassar again, we would pick a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaartenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel location is near Losari Beach which the famous beach in Makassar also from fort Rotterdam and Somba Ompu (place to buy souvenirs). Booked for Deluxe room and it was a big room but look old. Better to book cottage rather than deluxe room. The outdoor restaurant and bar is a nice place for relax. Nice swimming pool but very crowded during the weekend. The hotel concept is good for family on holiday. Breakfast variety not really much but many of local food which good to taste.

Room Tip: Choose cottage if you want the nice room but you may choose superior/deluxe room if you travel with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEPURPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

A great hotel if you want a great view and a feel of romance. It was in a good position but I felt it wasn't the best for friendliness towards Australian tourists...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buck1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nice hotel, its near losari beach (5 minute walk), and nice swimming pool (when we stay there, a lot of family bring their children to the hotel pool, it seems that this hotel is familiar for makassar people -nice for family; its also near some tourist attraction such as fort rotterdam (10 minute), trans studio (around 20 minute) and akkarena beach.
Its an old hotel, so you should take the condition, need to have better maintenance, but worth the price :)

Room Tip: take the view facing beach or just take the bungalow (its more private and above the ocean)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipin4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel was unique and different. it placed on the water. we stayed in the cottage. From inside the room, we could hear the water and feel so relaxed. it has a small balcony but still nice. But i think the situation would be scary when heavy rain fall because the water getting higher.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Makassar Golden
Hotel Makassar Golden
#67 of 103 in Makassar
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#11 of 103 in Makassar
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Expressia Hotel Makassar
Expressia Hotel Makassar
#25 of 103 in Makassar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M-Regency Makassar
M-Regency Makassar
#15 of 103 in Makassar
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
1.3 mi away
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
#1 of 103 in Makassar
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar

Address: Jl. Pasar Ikan no. 10, Makassar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 103 Hotels in Makassar
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pantai Gapura Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing