We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
Ranked #65 of 103 Hotels in Makassar
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Went here the first time for an international congress and discovered the pool-bar. Later that week we returned to use the pool and have some very nice fresh juices (finally no added sirup/sugar and water!!) and lunch ( pizza and chicken focaccia). Definitly come back here sometime!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Amandeltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 713 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a business meeting in May 2014. The Hotel area is very big. Also the room I stayed very spacious.
The hotel receptions was very polite and helpful. Inside the hotel it has couples of restaurants.
Inside the hotel it has children facilities and swimming pool. Also inside the hotel there is music lounge and karaoke.
Still Inside the hotel area there is minimarket and has Delta Spa.

Room Tip: Choose swimming pool level if you stay with Children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f388y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

this is a huge business hotel relatively close to the airport.

We stayed there for twice for a night passing through from the airport to a sightseeing trip of Tana Toraja.

Check-in was quick and friendly, the rooms were nice and clean.

However I would not generally recommend this hotel for a holiday visit, too big and impersonal.
The knowledge of english is a bit limited, so you had better speak Indonesian.

Also the exchange of foreign currency is only done at appalling rates, definitely not to be recommended.

A lot of options for food and drink are available, service wasn't great.

Can be recommend for business and large functions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qbfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

stayed on May 13-14, 2014 on biz trip. Check in was fast, room is standard, no bathtubs, too tired to explored the 2 night clubs & spa. breakfast with variety but the restaurant staff was not efficient. OK for one night and will be back on next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SA1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Clarion Hotel has big integrated area for stay during your trip, entertainment (Liquid discotique) and spa and massage (Delta). This hotel is also used as wedding reception, company events and ceremony since it has lots function room ranging from small into big room.
The hotel staff quite helpful. The room itself is not too big, a little bit small i think. The interior has classic style. The bathroom a little bit small and the lighting inside all the room a bit dark.
The breakfast menu, ranging from Indonesian traditional and international menu.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Denny Gunawan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I was staying for 3 days to attend an educational program. Since this hotel is equipped with convention hall and rooms, seems that there are some events were organized there, makes the occupancy are high, even in weekday. They provide separate desk for group check in. The location is good, but lots of traffic in rush hours. Most of the times I also found some queue to get down in front of the lobby. The room was just okay, lil bit old, dim lighting, and seems AC was not working in the corridor, very hot everytime we walk to the lift. The breakfast was good, they served traditional dish that keep changing everyday, but some other foods were not so tasty. One good thing is the hotel facilitate souvenirs order, especially traditional foods, to bring home, at the 'Food Taxi' next to the reception desk.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ovi_Sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stay for 3 days, everyday i find Ant in my bedroom, on the table, inside the bathrooms. Actually the bedroom is nice to sleep but ant very disturbed me.
Taste of food is not bad and so many variety. But do not expect to much with services. Better self service if you need tea or coffee or if you need someone to take your dirty plate, you need to be patient. The important things for this hotel is already change the name from Clarion to Grand Clarion

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fnras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Makassar
2.7 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
1.7 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#2 of 103 in Makassar
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#11 of 103 in Makassar
421 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Makassar Beach
2.1 mi away
Gammara Hotel
Gammara Hotel
#17 of 103 in Makassar
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar

Address: Jl. AP Pettarani no. 3, Makassar 90223, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Makassar
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makassar
#22 Spa Hotel in Makassar
Price Range: $43 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar is a restful sanctuary within the hustling and bustling capital of South Sulawesi , location in the heart of Makassar thriving business district offering 585 accomodation with exquisite furnishing and unsurpassed hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Fastbooking so you can book your Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Convention Makassar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing