We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Huge Swimming Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
Ranked #78 of 103 Hotels in Makassar
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel was undergone a major addition, including an olympic size swimming pool. That was where I spent a lot of my free time.

When I checked in, the hotel was booked solid they only had a room on the smoking floor. The whole room was practically infused with cigarette smoke and even a repeated application of air freshener did not help. So it is best to check in as early as possible. Booking a non smoking room does not guarantee that you will provided with such.

I checked out the gym, but it was only a tiny room with old equipment, with no staff on stand by duty.

On my last night there, the large pool was used for a private party. But the hotel allowed me to use the smaller swimming pool, and they even put a staff to attend to my needs while I swam.

If you enjoy a nightlife entertainment, there is a commercial spa and club in the hotel complex for you to unwind. I didn't go there though.

All in all, it was a good hotel to sleep (and to swim!), but other than that there is not much else you can do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 660 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

600 rooms hotel and half of it is newly built.

unfortunately i got the one in the old wing, still pretty expensive considering other options in the city.

room was old and small and smelly. they still even have one of those main switch control in the bedside end table.

hotel is too crowded with people coming in & out, it has so many meeting rooms & restaurants & even "kinky" karaoke. its definitely not a place to get a rest. when i stayed there. they have meetings, wedding, groups and even student's demonstration in front of the hotel from the surrounding universities (there are several in the area + government offices).

the good thing is, should you ever get stuck in the hotel (because of the demonstration), there's a lot of activities in the hotel as it is almost like a small independent china town.

food is bad as if they are cooked carelessly. its so bad i prefer the KFC for breakfast.

Not recommended for business or holiday. should you ever have meeting here, spend the night somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therandomadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

If it is a five star hotel it is just an avarage hotel. For breakfast : the selection of food is only afew and the taste is standard. The bedroom was clean but the furniture looks cheap.
The wake up call service was not working as expected to be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tavadi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stay in this hotel several times for business trip, this hotel located in the heart of the city on the highest traffic road of makassar..

The room is spacious, with nice bathroom but some of the furniture need an improvement (table and sofa looks outdated). The light is too gloomy with only one switch. No reading lamp.

The service is quite good, they provide welcome fruit even for superior room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynameisanggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Grand Clarion Hotel and Convention Makassar is the best hotel can you visit in Makassar. Have a better service and facilities. Choose room in the Right or West side by building of hotel. Don't forget to enjoy a dish Entertainment Club, Karaoke rooms and a Spa with a state of the art equipment and personalized service.

Room Tip: Select rooms on the side of the building facing the Losari Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ambae_exe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I ordered non-smoking room, but the room was terribly smelly... and the bell boy said "this is the non smoking room, but anyway, the guest COULD SMOKING in the room" (?!?!?!?!?).... That was hard to understand. And...this was a 5 star-hotel... but I could not get the iron/ironing board. They said I must send my clothes to housekeeping/laundry for pressing service. The hotel actually was good & nice, but the service, was terrible... You could also hear the sound from your neighbour-next door, through the wall :((

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripLover888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was stayed at this hotel more than 15th times. Mostly for business reason. But this time, I got a new room in their new building. I came quite early, but there was available for me, so I got the key immediately. Room was nice, spacious and fair enough compare to the price. Actualy I got non smooking floor, but I can smell the smooking odors around the 9th floor, including in my room. The wifi was provided for free, but sometimes I got a little bit problem with consistency of the connection. Breakfast was good and staffs were excellent. Overall I am still consider that this hotel is worthed to be booked in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose the new room at the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristiawan Basu... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Makassar
2.7 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
1.8 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#2 of 103 in Makassar
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Rinra Makassar
The Rinra Makassar
#11 of 103 in Makassar
385 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Makassar Beach
3.0 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Makassar
Swiss-Belhotel Makassar
#10 of 103 in Makassar
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar

Address: Jl. AP Pettarani no. 3, Makassar 90232, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Makassar
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makassar
#24 Spa Hotel in Makassar
Price Range: $33 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar is a restful sanctuary within the hustling and bustling capital of South Sulawesi , location in the heart of Makassar thriving business district offering 585 accomodation with exquisite furnishing and unsurpassed hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Convention Makassar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing