We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group of accor hotels”
Review of M-Regency Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
M-Regency Makassar
Ranked #13 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Malang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Group of accor hotels”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Located at daeng tompo road... You can walk to losari beach about 7minutes...hotel is clean..but the location on small road not in main road...many taxi outside hotel if you want to go anywhere... Breakfast is average.. Room is medium size.. The price is arround 400-500k.. Not bad for this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    75
    65
    17
    5
See reviews for
39
42
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

First thing I encountered a I entered the room is that they provide no hairdryer. It is certainly a pain in the neck since you have to borrow it from the housekeeping and on one condition that the dryer is not borrowed by other occupant.
Now, I'm staying n non smoking floor but it smells ashtray as soon as I walked in the room. Well maybe thats just my nose, though.
Air cond takes a long while before it cools the room. Makassar is very hot during the day so it will be great to have it working the other way around. If you put it on maximum fan speed, you're gonna hear a loud buzzing sound.
My room was on the odd number side of the building and at night youre gonna hear dogs barking from houses in the neighborhood. They said they have hotel security guard to hush the dogs everytime they start to bark. Nonsense. They either need to rebuild this hotel with noise proof wall or get rid of the dogs.
I ask to relocate. They relocated me to the other side of the building. Barking noise is gone now. Soon as I thought I could rest for the night, I found: greyish brushed stain on the yellowing sheet, sticky sugar spill on the night stand AND the desk, and no nightstand lamp. This room also has no mini bar mirror (which comes in handy as replacement for vanity).
Asked for housekeeping to come over via front desk, no news till another 30 mins where I went downstairs myself.

Room: old, spacious but tired and gloomy, old school TV with no CNN (!!!), dirty lampshade, no facial tissue on the working desk, rug looking dusty.
Bathroom: old, towels dont look fresh, no hairdryer, no standard Accor amenities.
Wifi: in and out. Works well when it's on though


All in all, except for its great location I dont think I will ever recommend this hotel to anyone. I remember my previous stay was a lot better but it just goes downhill from there. It is a terrible decision to just renovate the deluxe room and leave superior rooms shabby like this. They need to cut down prices if they dont step up their game. I love how other Accor chain around the world manage to fulfill my every need in my every other stay but this one just a major failure and I am actually upset. One customer is waving goodbye.

I'm writing as I stay. Rant over.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank msranabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to visit regional office in Makassar. Room is okay, wifi also no problem.

BIG problem is you need to come to customer service to update your key card every day - in my case every afternoon - otherwise you cannot open your room. Another problem, you need to request a standard item in every room in another hotel, pen/pencil and notes also tissue. They don't put tissue on the table in your room except you request.

Breakfast is okay, you can choose from buffee.

Location quite strategic, near to Losari beach and Ujung street. You can buy some local snack in Ujung street. You can go to seafood restaurant behind the hotel to get good food there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodolzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights either side of a visit to Tana Toraja. The room was comfortable - it wasn't renovated but I had no issues with it - the carpet needs replacing and the bathroom has a weak in bath-shower but other than that all was fine. The bed was very comfortable and the in room wifi was very fast - ask for the password at check in. The maintenance in the rooms is lacking hence the lightbulb in my bed side lamp was not working, perhaps they need to check these things more frequently. The front desk staff were lovely and very helpful. I didn't eat in this hotel so cannot comment.

The location is good, close to Losari beach and Jl Sombar Opu with its Souvenir Shops, restaurant Lae Lae is also very close. The taxis from the airport are set price and this hotel is in the 2nd Zone IDR 87'000 plus IDR 9'500 toll. (They will try to charge you IDR 100'000 but it should be the former price). When you need a taxi phone taxi Bosowa (0411 454545 - the phone call from the hotel cost me IDR8'000 so use local cell if you have) - the ride to the airport cost me IDR 70'000 plus toll. There are some horrid taxi men hanging around the hotel and their prices are just crazy so phone Taxi Bosowa instead. Taxi to Mall Ratu Indah should be max IDR15'000 -their initial price to me was IDR 100'000....I didn't take them up on it.

For the bus to Tana Toraja I took both trips during the day - the scenery up to Rantepao is just stunning, well worth the tiring journey. I took the bus up to Rantepao from Terminal Daya (avoid this place is horrid and an IDR 80'000 plus toll journey from hotel) with Metro Permal Bus - the journey took 11 hours and my bag and clothing, which went into the hold stank of fish, so not sure what happened there. The journey back to Makassar was with Bintang Prima - the journey was much shorter and I thought the driver was better and I loved his music - I took it right to their end station and then took a taxi (25k ) back to the hotel. If you are unsure about anything ask a fellow Indonesian passenger - they are lovely people - so helpful and courteous.

I liked Makassar and will return, this hotel is central and good, so I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel are old but still under renovation , the lobby entrance are close ,so we have to used the basement floor entrance .Location of the hotel quite strategic ,Its near to the city attraction like Losari beach, Floating Mosque, Fort Rotterdam, and Poatere harbour. Seafood lovers may find it a heaven as the food are very cheap. Do not miss the local delicasies pisang epe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigabatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

bad staff, not value for money, breakfast was just 1 star hotel, lobby main door was closed because of maintenance but no notice for guest, the staff only see when we arrived there, they didnt help us to pick our luggage, dont waste your time to stay here,, there was only 1 room sandal, no shampoo, wifi not working

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emofanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makassar hotels
0.2 mi away
favehotel Daeng Tompo
favehotel Daeng Tompo
#14 of 99 in Makassar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
Pesonna Hotel Makassar
#4 of 99 in Makassar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Plaza Hotel
Quality Plaza Hotel
#7 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
7.2 mi away
Dalton Hotel & Convention Makassar
0.8 mi away
Melia Makassar
Melia Makassar
#2 of 99 in Makassar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M-Regency Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M-Regency Makassar

Property: M-Regency Makassar
Address: Jl. Daeng Tompo 8, Makassar 90112, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Regency Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 99 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — M-Regency Makassar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M-Regency Hotel is a Victorian-style hotel located a 5-minute walk from Losari Beach. Offering rooms with free Wi-Fi, the hotel has a fitness centre and its own restaurant.Just a 2-minute stroll from M-Regency Hotel is Sumba Opu souvenir shopping centre. GTC Mall and Trans Studio Theme Park is a 10-minute car ride away. It takes 45-minutes to drive from the Sultan Hasanuddin International Airport.Air-conditioned and fully carpeted, each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV showing satellite channels, tea/coffee maker and minibar. An en suite bathroom includes a toilet and bathtub with shower. Free bottled water is provided.Guests enjoy free access to the hotel’s fitness centre and sauna. Massage services are available at an extra cost. The 24-hour front desk can arrange tours and provides ticketing services.M-Regency Hotel’s restaurant serves local Indonesian, Western and Chinese dishes. It offers a breakfast buffet and an à la carte menu for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your M-Regency Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing