We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost paradise”
Review of Nikoi Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nikoi Island
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost paradise”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Beautiful island, fantastic concept and totally Eco-friendly. It's basic but yet comfortable. Almost luxurious but unpretentious.

A fabulous place for family with young children. We travelled in a group of 5 families with 7 kids between us. The kids aged between 6 and 11. There is something for everyone to do. The favorites were canoeing, jetty-jumping, sailing, rock climbing and just beach combing. Staff are well trained to help both adults and children alike. It's safe and the our kids walk from one villa to another 'visiting' friends.

Fantastic place which I would recommend for a short retreat from the hustle bustle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chongyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks for your kind review. It is particularly pleasing to hear you loved the concept and that your kids had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back some day. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    82
    20
    7
    10
See reviews for
352
287
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Awards, detailed ultra-positive reviews from many visitors....I was not quite sure what to add to the list of comments I was reading.

We were in Nikoi for a few days and loved it. It is a bit like a millionaire island available to you.
It is like joining a distant family of group of cousins to enjoy a good old traditional luxury family vacation (if you grew up as a public school boy in a family of british aristocrats).

So choice of food and price tag is somehow irrelevant to compare.

I would think this is THE resort to try with children (I recommend from the age of 6), if you live in Singapore in particular.

Only one negative comment and personal advice to the management : I can sense some of the staff member, particularly those with blue polos, became borderline "too cool" and a bit lazy if something bother them to help with.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do like to think of a stay on Nikoi as being like staying on your friends private island. This is why we have very few rules and have a fixed menu (ie you wouldn't ask your friends for a menu if they were staying at their house). We have taken up your comment re the attitude of some of our staff with them so hopefully that will not occur again. Guest reviews are posted for all staff to see so your comments alone will be read by all of our staff. We do like to have a pretty relaxed approach with our staff but we prefer the humble approach. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent the first few days of our honeymoon at Nikoi Island and fell completely in love with it. It is the most beautiful and tranquil place. The villas are absolutely gorgeous - so beautifully handcrafted with such attention to detail and so well aligned with the natural surroundings. Every night we were there it was really stormy (luckily the day times were lovely) which meant that we slept in a bubble of luxury with an amazing storm literally raging around us. It was wonderful to feel part of it without being the least exposed to it. The staff were so smiley and lovely and the food and facilities were fantastic. However the thing that most impressed my husband and I was how ethical/environmentally friendly the resort is. The creators have done a really fantastic job of making a luzurious place but with very limited negative impacts (in fact a lot of positive ones in the way of the local community). We found it really inspiring and will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippyspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks very much for your very kind review. We do take our commitment to the environment and to the local community very seriously. It is nice of you to recognise that we don't make a big song and dance about it. Instead of advertising we put all of what we might have spent otherwise into a foundation that we run for the local communities. The foundation now is attracting external funding so that it can stand on its own feet and grow independently of Nikoi. This is something that we are very proud of. Thanks again for visiting. We hope to see you over on Nikoi again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went to Nikoi with another couple and rented two one bedroom houses. It is a getaway that is achieveable leaving the office Friday afternoon and coming back Sunday night from Singapore. You take a ferry to Bintan (1 hour) - when you are travelling over to Bintan going Emerald Class on the ferry is a good idea because then you can arrange your visa onboard and you exit the boat first and therefore the first to go through immigration. You can buy a visa onboard for US$10 per person. When you arrive at Bintan, Nikoi has arranged drivers to drive you across the island (takes approximately 1 hour). Then you take a boat over the island which takes about 15 minutes. The rooms are open and amazing and made from natural materials. The one bedroom villas have two bathrooms and a large bedroom. Now if you are looking for five star glitzy place, then this is not for you - this is all about giving you the basic creature comforts in style, but in keeping with nature, so dont come looking for aircon, TV etc here and hot water is via solar panels, so to be used sparingly. The beds are super comfortable, you have all the basics that you need and leave your fancy clothes and shoes at home. They provide three meals a day at a set cost and the standard was pretty good. Ideally I would have liked an al a carte menu if I was staying for a week, but for a three or four night stay it is really good and the standard of the food was better than expected. It was so easy to relax there. There is an ipod doc in the room if you are feeling totally lost without TV and there is also internet, but suggest you leave all that at home and listen to the waves from your room instead. There is alot of activities if you want them - paddle boarding, sailing, walks around the island which was all alot of fun. My husband and I also had a massage which was really good and the price was reasonable. If I had to mention some downsides it would be that the island was full of families and although the island has an adults dining area and familes dining area the families still bring their children into the adults area, so if you want a romantic or relaxing meal it is not the case with all the kids around. The parents don't notice it because they deal with it everyday, but two couples with no kids, it was really noisy and spoilt the atmosphere at dinner a bit as you couldn't wait to get out. Also some of the staff at breakfast (trainees) cannot speak English, so you dont always get what you ask for, but you just have to be patient, smile and it will eventually work out. We found the place to be magical, not overdone and we hear they are building on a nearby island which will be adults only and given the standard of this island I would not hesitate to try the new one. That said I would put up with the large families and return for the beauty of the place. Friendly staff, great location and from what we saw, I can understand why it is popular with families as the staff make a huge effort with the kids. You can also rent out the whole island for special events! These guys are truly eco-friendly and dont make a big song and dance about it - well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ionise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for your very kind review. It is very pleasing to read that the food was better than you expected. Our kitchen has a large number of menus so even if you stayed for two weeks you are not likely to get the same meal. We are finishing off a kids club area which will help in terms of providing a separate area for kids and therefore provide more peace for couples. Yes we are working on two new projects both of which will be kid free. Thanks again for your praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nikoi really is as good as it gets. Barefoot luxury, perfect hospitality, delicious food, amazing accommodation, delightful staff, stunning natural beauty and remote without being too challenging to get to. We'll be back without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharleneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife (haejina) actually wrote a review below so I shan't repeat. I just wanted to add that it is quite impossible to get bored on the island. There are just so many activities to choose from: kayaking, rock climbing, snorkelling, scuba diving, tennis, movies, beach volleyball, suntanning, etc.

My favourite part of the trip was the wonderful massage. All you have to do is to book slightly ahead. Generally one day advance notice would be helpful although I managed to book an afternoon slot in the morning. Thereafter, the masseurs will arrive at your villa at the appointed time. The massage is done at the gazebo in your villa compound so it is entirely private. The combination of the wonderful massage, the sound of the waves and views of the sea made the experience truly, truly magical. Don't miss out on the massage if you are going to nikoi!

I must also add that the service there was first-class. The staff are warm and friendly. They made an effort to speak to the guests in English even though its not their native language. It really helps to have staff who enjoy their work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulchanws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for your kind review. Great that you enjoyed your stay and found that there were lots of activities to keep you busy. Also great to hear your comments about your massage - we have passed these on to the therapists. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nikoi island is great for families with small children. A private island, there's plenty to do - the kids were exploring the island, or running around with Yogi, who entertained them with stories. Otherwise, they would be digging holes by the white, sandy beach, or going rock climbing.

At night, the paths are lit with oil lamps. Far away from other light sources, the island is a wonderful place to view the milky way, and I saw more stars than I ever had fill the night sky.

The service was fantastic and the staff were very obliging. Most would make small talk, and tell us more about the island, or the food they were serving. The food was excellent. They serve a mix of western and indonesian cuisine. e.g. shrimp salad, stewed beef and brownies for dessert.

Most people would scoff that there is no air-con. Climate wise, it is very cool. With the sea breeze, you may not even need a fan. There were hardly any insects around.

Unfortunately, I only docked there and did not try the villas, but they certainly looked wonderful and I will definitely make a return trip to get the full experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks for your very kind review. It was particularly pleasing to read your comments about the food and the service. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
25.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
167 reviews
27.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,494 reviews
26.9 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
566 reviews
28.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
24.7 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikoi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikoi Island

Property: Nikoi Island
Address: Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nikoi Island is a 15 hectare private island just 85 kms from Singapore and has long been regarded as one of the most stunning islands on this unspoiled coast. Ringed with white sandy beaches and coral reefs of spectacular color and diversity, Nikoi is for those seeking a true private island experience and the comfort of a destination dedicated to responsible tourism practices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nikoi Island Bintan Island, Riau Islands
Nikoi Island Hotel Bintan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing