We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we donot have to leave.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bintan Island
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wish we donot have to leave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had wonderful time there. The kids are happy and we are super happy. Almost felt like singles:-) We took our opportunity to get fit( well, less fat, consider the food we had;-) with the sport facilities they have. Tough guns Eric and Shirley managed to kill us in mere 30 mins work out. We also took our virgin golf 9 holes. Wayan is excellent through out our training and the 9 holes. Super:-))
We also enjoyed the night show their prepared every night. Marco from Taiwan is just so so funny, he really cracked everyone:D
I wanted to specially thank all theGO who took care of our kids. They are so full of energy, and super caring. Hat off!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank standingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    599
    147
    55
    52
See reviews for
1,443
303
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went to club med Bintan in May 2013 and it was a wonderful experience for us. Our room Ulin 2146 was cool when we checked-in, separate shower & toilet, basic amenities, so what our room does not a view, we only use it to rest & shower, most of the time it's great to be outdoors. Beach is clean & very well maintained. Food choices are excellent: Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Western, Indonesian-something for everyone. Impeccable service from F&B staff, fast in clearing plates & food replenishment, totally outstanding. The chefs behind the counter are all eager to serve you, very enthusiastic, friendly & accommodating to our request. There are 3 to 4 GO's at the restaurant entrance and you can always find a table. B'fast, lunch, dinner, snacks by the pool & free-flow beverages at all bar outlets any time of the day, how cool is that? Two swimming pools with very attentive life-guards. Wi-fi is available near lobby area. Two GO's at the pool bar (unfortunately we can't remember their names) always have a happy face, smiling, friendly & helpful. All GO's are good with kids too. Three cheers to the village chief Ms Mei and her crew for making our vacation unforgetable, it was absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_nada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is our 2nd trip to Bintan Club Med after 6 years. Our family of 7 (with 14yo, 12yo, 5yo kids & my parents) arrived Bintan at 10am & were glad to hear that our rooms were already ready for check-in (instead of 3pm). Room condition was clean, however the bathroom was without bathtub & separate toilet had no spray jet. We had to keep our doors closed at all times as there were mosquitoes.

The snorkeling trip was not as fulfilling since the water quality was not that good. The water is not as clear and do not expect to see much fishes or corals at the snorkeling spot. Of course this is something beyond Club Med’s control but they have done a great job keeping their side of the beach clean and litter-free. The GOs at the sea sports centre were friendly & helpful. We had only 1 lesson from them & were able to sail on our own.

The food was delicious and definitely a generous spread. The menu is changed daily & a wide variety of freshly baked bread was served. We had a choice of buffet at the main restaurant or ala carte at the terrace restaurant (reservations required). Ambience is nice at the terrace restaurant however mosquitoes can be a pest.

Archery was more fun this time compared to our last visit. The instructor, commonly known as “Jay Chou of Club Med” was friendly & funny. The sports centre is located at the back end of the village, surrounded by jungle so there are plenty of mosquitoes.

The night entertainment shows were well choreographed & the comedy skits never failed to make us laugh out loud.

We had a chance to visit the spa for a traditional massage. The spa room is nicely furnished & apparently every room faces the sea. The massage itself is definitely one of the best.

Thanks to GOs Jayrate, Santi, Marco, Nate & Exec Chef Simon, our stay was made both enjoyable & memorable. The warmth & sincerity of the GOs during the send-off made us feel sad when we bade our goodbyes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
187 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

For anyone in Sout-East Asia, going to Bintan is very convenient, at 1 hour from Singapore. The Club is well situated in Bintan, beautiful beach and surroundings. As usual, atmosphere is friendly and the buffet for all meals somptuous. Same for the open bar with lot of great cocktails, all included, with original liquors brands.
Don't expect rooms furnished with luxury amenities and furnitures.
A good place to enjoy with familly or friends or even for seminars.
I would not recommend this place for travellers coming from Europe, Americas or Australia as there are better Club Med in South Asia to discover local culture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just returned today from club med bintan . Had been there 10 years earlier and facility looked like i needed a spruce up. Happy with food , drinks service etc . All staff extremely obliging and helpfull with GO's lots of fun and entertaining , especially Chelsea and Davo , great fun and great at their jobs. Both represent the essence of Club Med perfectly. Tried every activity , loved the sailing & the Ping Pong. For people who like swimming in warm water , this resort is perfect.

A great place for doing nothing or heaps.

Will go back next year

Room Tip: A 3rd floor overlooking circus and beach would be great. Rooms are not 5 star but in a Club Med you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pieter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have recently returned from a family holiday to Club Med Ria Bintan with our 3 year old and 10 month old. My mother, brother and sister were also with us so there were 7 of us in total. We had an absolutely fabulous time and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone considering a visit. There were activities for everyone from sitting on the beach, to windsurfing and flying trapeze (and of course golf). The food was outstanding with a large selection of European, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean food to choose from at every meal, all freshly cooked. I think I ate my body weight in fresh croissants for breakfast... The rooms were very nice, better than I expected having read the reviews on TripAdvisor and were very clean and well serviced every day. The highlight though were the staff, led by Mei the General Manager. The GOs were friendly, helpful, entertaining and good company. The staff in the restaurant and servicing the rooms always smiling and extremely polite. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Our 3 year old enjoyed the activities in the Petit Club and the babysitting service was well priced and very convenient. The entertainment was fun and inclusive. A few less crazy signs would perhaps have been my personal preference, but there was no obligation to participate! We could not fault the holiday and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Club Med Bintan had it all. A most beautiful tropical setting. The staff were amazing, always enthusiastic and friendly and always going a bit further to make sure you were having a good time. Having everything included (food, drinks, sports, shows) made it very relaxing, and enjoyable. We tended to try many new things that we would not have done if there was a cost. The quantity and quality of the food was amazing, almost more than we could cope with. The decor of the rooms was a bit dated, but very clean. There are a lot of stairs in this resort, obviously built to take advantage of the view - however there is too much to do to sit in your room and watch the view so a lower floor room would be better.

Room Tip: Although higher floors have a view there are a lot of stairs. You only go to your room to sleep so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
4.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
4.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
20.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#10 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Property: Club Med Bintan Island
Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing