We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great family holiday destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bintan Island
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family holiday destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Club Med Bintan Island is a great family holiday destination. Lots of fun activities for kids and adults to participate in. We spent a week there as a family group with 6 adults and 3 children.The rooms we stayed in were very comfortable, we did not spend much time in them except to sleep as there were too many other activites to get involved with. We are looking forward to another family holiday with Club Med as it is so easy and all inclusive. No fuss over meals or what to do. It is all there for you, just the way I like to holiday. All the GO's and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    600
    147
    55
    52
See reviews for
1,453
303
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just back from Club Med Bintan for a 3 day 2 night stay.The first day we arrived from ferry terminal toward the coach it was drizziling no umbrella.Great welcome & departing by GM Mr Clarke Michael and his GOs team.The room allocated were to far in behind with interconnecting room kids was not very happy.Before we arrived we at told the front desk at the Ferry Terminal we had requested king bed with EB for both rooms as kids might rolled & fall from the bed.Understand from the staff the occupancy is not high and Front Desk Responsive Planning Mr Shannon we do not have any other room available for today.The next day he could have send a message to check if we still need to do a room change,but he did not to so.Parent need to run in and out to pick their kids at the mini kids club,which is a bit inconvenient.We were told 3.30pm mini kid club waiting point at level 4 upon arrival which end up at level 1 the theater area going up & down and manage to find out they are located at the end of one corner with some of the GOs at level .Upon arrived we were also told there is meeting information at 4pm located at level 1 but no one P.A (public announce)and no GOs came to approached us if we are joining the meeting information by the time we can to ask someone mentioned they had started & had left we had waited till 4.15pm right infront of those Coordinator but none of them come & checked with us if we are going until the Bar Manager Mr Nakama Hiroyasu by passed I ask if there is anyway we can join in for that meeting information he went thru extra mile to look & catch hold of him (Mr Temmy)located at the beach area doing his briefing with the others.No one would know who are the coordinator is ???.The building in the room was old definitely need refubishing no slipper provided in the room and the light in the room were too dim chamber maid should know well if there is Extra Bed (EB) they should put in extra towels and extra coffee mugs and ensuring full roll of toilet roll being refill or replenished.The cabinet where the fridge located right hand door came off.Local staffs didn't seen to know the your own product who & who (in the management level) Restaurant setting no spoon on the table each time we got to ask for one.The food was great except for breakfast the variety is not much.I love the part where all GOs,Managers,Staffs& General Manager standing at the restaurant maintained the warm, friendly atmosphere welcoming every in house guests who is heading in to the restaurant.A variety of food selections and drinks offered, quality was good. Full of sports and social activities by the Managers & GOs & work throughout the day & night shows at the theatre.Some of the Managers always present and keen on knowing any feedbacks regarding their work & services.Most of the game are in package therefore time are limited.With multiculturism of the GOs team they are enthusiastic, committed & involved in every way adding personalise service to each and individual.In House Boutique variety are limited like sizes also they do not sell tampon,cirgarette only available in Malboro Light & Malboro Menthol.Most of the people awared that there are lots of sea activities water game, please bring along your sport shoe for safety reason they did not mentioned during your reservation you will missed all the game on the land likeYoga,Fitness,Gym,Cycling,Golf,Tennis & etcs...Neverless they try as much to cater to all ages still there are room for improvement for the eldery perhaps new programe such as Karaoke Sing A Long for the old elderly parents.
My special comment & appreciation for the GOs & Manager:
(Archery GO- Mr Jayrate)
(Miniclub Manager-Ms Sally Yoshida)
(Bar Manager-Mr Nakama Hiroyasu)
(Sport Manager-Mr Waterson Robert-Rob)* Professionalism in his job & friendly to all childrens
(Hotel Service Manager-Mr Ruben Mourino Casal)
(Housekeeping Manager-Mr Ibrahim Abdulla-Ibra)
(Asst Bar Manager-Mr Satish)
(Asst XXXX -Mr Temmy)
Thank you for the great service you guys had provide during our stay overall great experience and will be back again in near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kokomitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just gotten back from a week's stay at the Club Med Bintan with my wife & kids. Initially I was a little concerned over some of the negative feedbacks (that I've read here) commenting on the lousy food, run-down rooms facilities etc.

However, our experience were rather positive. The rooms & facilities were in acceptable conditions (some renovation would be an added enhancement). Housekeeping has done a great job in keeping our rooms tidy & clean with nice flower decorations and the daily introduction of cute animals (folded out of towels) in the kids' room (my children simply love them).

In terms of F&B, there were never a shortfall of it. While not class leading (in comparison to top notch restaurants etc.), I must say that the chefs have put in much effort to introduce varieties into the daily buffet spread. The ambience at the Terrence restaurant was great for dinner, perhaps just a tad too dim for the liking.

From the service quality perspective, there is no other word to describe it except excellent. Mike and his GO team has done a superb job to make us feel relax & welcome. The kids really enjoyed the activities organised by the Mini Club Med with the friendly & caring GOs (Sally, Sun, Otto, Mado & gang, you guys were just great).

My wife enjoyed the spa totally, its ambience, deco & massage were just great and relaxing to smoothen out the muscles after all the fun at the beach, archery, trapeze, yoga & water aerobics sessions etc. Personally, I've enjoyed the 9-hole golf game organised by the golf team. It was great fun, nice course, great game ! (Bjorn & Jono, thks).

On a whole, we have truly enjoyed our holiday at the Club Med Bintan. There were many activities that one could participate in, be it as a family, couple or solo.

Once again, my appreciation to Mike & his team ! Kudos !

Eric

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the main club house would enjoy a tad more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed for a week and had a great time, from the moment we reached with a great welcome by Mike & his GOs to the departing again by the same great team! No logistic issue as the transfer to/fro ferry terminal to clubmed was handled smoothly.

Rooms were great and located very near to the main block. A variety of food selections and drinks offered, quality was good. Full of sports and social activities by the GOs & and night shows at the theatre.

The kids club GOs were fantastic and we also had a great time with tennis (GO-Kori) and archery (GO-Jayrate).

There is no need to bring tons of clothing (many days and activities requires lots of changing!) as there are washing machines and dryers at each block. Each wash is 30,000 IDR and the dryer will require 2 cycles (2 x 30,000 IDR). Of course, you can always get more clubmed clothing from the boutique.

Overall a great experience and will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Blocks next to the main building will be slightly noisy at night if the disco is on-going (till 1am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmsg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy-le-Vieux, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just back from Club Med Bintan where we spent a week for vacation.
Great atmosphere constantly maintained by friendly GOs throughout the day.
Managers always present and keen on knowing any feedbacks regarding their work.
We left our kid (4 years) at Mini Club, and he had a great time, special thanks to them tooand as they are doing an outstanding job for our young ones.
Food is very good, and a special comment to Korean delights which has left me an excellent impression.
Good place to go, nice beaches, clean sea-water, funny animations during the week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better holiday for a family. Our kids never go to kids clubs but on this holiday they couldn't wait to get there each morning. They even went and dined with the GOs at night. The food was all great a good variety each day and plenty of international options.
My only critisism is the snorkling gear was well past its used by date.
We'll definately be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A lot has been said about this property regarding the quality and other aspects and if you are travelling with family and kids you would find some of the reviews too biased on the negative side. I am highlighting some positive and negative points with a hope that some action gets taken on my suggestions

1. We were pleasantly surprised by the courtiesness of the staff right from the GOs to even the housekeeping staff. My kids had a fantastic time at the kids club. Clearly it will be a disservice to others if I mention just a few names, but our experience was that every individual there was very attentive and this made our stay very pleasant. Of the many negatives that this resort may have, the courtiesness and the energy of the staff just wipes most of this away.

2. Food quality is average at best so if your re a foodie with very high standard for food then you should avoid this place. Very little variety for vegetarian guests. Overall food preparation is on the oily side. Morning breakfast - it would help if they have the eggs made to order rather than producing a whole lot of extremely oily omelettes. We had eggs to order on one of the mornings and it was way better than other days.

3. The location and the private beach is excellent. No fault there.

4. Quality of rooms: if you want excellent quality, better stay at Banyan Tree but we were happy with what we had. Anyway we prefer to have a separate room for the kids and for reasons like this we find the clubbed option very affordable. Room cleanliness leaves a big void to be filled.

5. Activities at the club: There is a bunch of it and in our 5 days there we could not try all of them. Remember that you are not at a professional sports academy and enjoY this as a holiday destination.

I will not hesitate to recommend this to my friends with family. There may be better options for others around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ampujari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
4.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
4.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
20.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#10 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Property: Club Med Bintan Island
Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing