We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & relaxing haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy & relaxing haven”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My family went to Spa Villa Beach Resort for two nights. It was a small but cozy resort. The staff there were very friendly.

Room- The room was very clean and there were three soft beds. The toilet was clean but there was no bathtub. We stayed in the spacious family villa just next to the spa. There was a large balcony overlooking the sea. It was a wonderful view. During low tide, we walked to the nearby island. My children enjoyed their time exploring the mudflat and the island.

Restaurant- It was an open concept restaurant, facing the sea. The western set was very delicious. The Rendang was awesome. Breakfast was simple but sufficient. If you find the spread is not sufficient, there is a nearby kelong-style outdoor restaurant which sells cheap seafood.

Snorkeling and white sand island visit - Dive master Hassan and his helper Lole were attentive to our needs. They were skillful and knowledgeable. They entertained my children and showed them the spots where the anemones and other fishes were. To the boys' delight, they caught a clown fish which they released later. The sands at the island was super soft and the water was crystal clear. It was a truly enjoyable trip.

Trikora spa- I had the best reflexology I've ever experienced. Esa is a competent therapist.

This villa is really great for relaxation. You can feel the stress melting away..

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank de_madame_zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review. Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination for your family trip. It is great that you chose the family villa as well, the spaciousness well suited for your family holiday. We are glad you enjoyed the room, as well as the scenery. It is great that you and your children were adventurous to try out snorkeling, as well walk out on the seabed during the low tide and i am sure your boys were exhilarated to find marine wildlife so close to them. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your holiday overall, and found it to be a relaxing one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    258
    83
    16
    17
See reviews for
111
214
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langnau im Emmental, Switzerland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We enjoyed staying at cosy Bintan Spa Villa for five nights. Good place to calm down spirit and soul while savoring the beach's atmosphere. Asien food is excellent and tasty. The resort is clean and well kept with it's friendly and caring staff. Here you even may go for leisurely SCUBA diving during monsoon season. Divemaster Hassan is helpful and competent. My none diving wife enjoyed spa and tranquil surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Seaview Deluxe Room on the second floor. From the balcony we enjoyed the gorgeous sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhPSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay, and that you chose us for your holiday destination.It is great that you had a relaxing stay, we enjoyed the food, scenery, atmosphere and activities. We hope to welcome you back at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort soon.

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed here with 8 other friends in December 2013 for NYs for 2 nights. As many other travellers have said the resort is a one hour drive from the ferry terminal. The check in was easy and the food at the hotel is quite good. One disappointing feature is that the resort does not have a proper beach. In the afternoons due to the low tide the water recedes. Therefore all water sports/activities have to be done before 1pm. We also wanted to swim and therefore decided to go to White Island which was amazing! The rooms were okay too. We had a good and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed for a night at this resort as part of a deal package to Bintan.

As it was a weekday, there were only a handful of guests in the resort. Check-in was a breeze and we were offered a welcome drink. We were allocated on the second floor of the deluxe seaview room. Free wifi is provided throughout the resort. From the balcony, we were able to see the beach and the “Ocean suite”.

Room – The room is very spacious with nice soft comfy beds. There’s tea and coffee making facilities, an oil burner and mosquito repellent were provided as well. There were movie channels which provided Chinese, English and cartoon shows. One minor fault is that the ceiling fan is noisy when switched on.

Bathroom – The bathroom is clean and of average size. Only 2 bath towels were provided. There are no face or hand towels. There are body and shower dispensers.

Breakfast – Breakfast is served from 7 to 10 am and it is really basic. There isn’t a variety of food. Save for the egg station, there were only two items in each category, e.g. two types of cereal, water and orange drink, bread and soft roll, fried noodles and ham, a platter of fruits and a platter of salad.

Lunch – As we are vegetarian and there is no vegetarian menu, we ordered Gado Gado and French fries. Unlike other Gado Gado dishes, this dish had noodles in it. The Gado Gado is really yummy with a nice fragrant. The serving of the French fries is huge. The iced coffee is good as well.

Resort grounds – There is no swimming pool, but only an outdoor Jacuzzi. Karaoke, billiard/pool, and a magnetic dartboard, were all located at the bar.

What I loved best is the massage at Trikora Spa by the sea. The massage room has a breathtaking view of the sea. The body massage is one of the best we had.

We woke up at 5.45 am and went down to catch sunrise. What a stunning sight, to see sunrise above the sea.

This is truly a nice place to relax and getaway from the busy hustle of city life. The next time we come back we would love to stay at an ocean suite as it is really perched on top of the sea.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmelineOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

It is 1 hour away from port, but it is worth sitting in the car while travel to the hotel because the scenery along the beach is so so nice! Receptionist is good with smiling face, check in is fast with welcome drink. We are having a 4 person family room, and the room is very spacious with big balcony. Room and bathroom is clean but the hot water shower is cold. Scenery from balcony is great. Beach is not very nice due to the resort is too close to the tide, once high tide, there are almost without sand beach but the sea water is so clean and make the spectacular view. If low tide, you see mud instead of sand, but able to walk to the opposite island which is nice with rocks. Breakfast is very limited. Their staff is very good in service, we request free shuttle to the sister resort called Bintan Agro for dinner, they arrange very fast, and i request transfer service to another resort after check out, they agreed and arrange a driver to transfer us. On the way of transferring, we request driver to drop us a few place to take picture, the driver is happy to do that and somemore offer us to a market. The hotel is great and worth it the price. If can i would suggest the hotel to prepare some bicycle or motorbike for their guest, because they have a lot of very nice fishing village surrounding with extremely crystal clear water. I will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond_Tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This resort is far away from the port. It took us about an hour by car to reach this place. the restaurant serve good food but the rooms are average only. the beach is narrow but long. on high tide, there is almost no beach left.

Room Tip: take the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Currently expiating in Singapore and having received mixed reviews of trekking to Bintan - my husband and I decided to find out for ourselves. I did a lot of research and read plenty of reviews of this and other resorts. Especially if comparing the time and effort given in going to this trip versus simply taking a flight to Phuket or Bali. While you need a visa to enter Indonesia - if you are just visiting for vacation you can get a visa on arrival. Since this entire trip is not for those with weak stomaches. It is an hour ferry ride (from Tanah Merah Ferry - which is close to Changi Airport), and this ride could get ugly.. I have witnessed first hand from our ferry ride beginning to end those excited passengers pre-boarding through mid to end of the ride where everyone had little sick bags and those fleeing in and out of washrooms. No exaggeration, however, it could have been that one ride was filled with those with weak stomaches, or the ride was just unusually bumpy - because the ride back from Bintan Island was not as bad and far less people feeling sick. So it's a 50/50 gamble.
However, when you first arrive to the Tanah Merah Ferry to pick up your boarding ticket, there is an option to upgrade to Emerald class for approx. $22 dollars per person (at the time that we went - which was just this past weekend Feb27/28 2014) - the reason why I mention this is because I highly recommend the extra dollars which have more pros for the extra spent;
1. you get to wait at the lounge area and they will let you know when to board
2. you get assigned seats so that you don't need to be feeling like you need to dash to get a seat
3. you get to purchase your visa on arrival on board (meaning you don't need to wait when you arrive)
4. you get to disembark first
5. when you are returning you wait at the lounge, while the airport official will take your passport and get the immigration stamp done on your behalf and bring them back to you
All valid and helpful reasons if this is your first time going - it will make your ferry ride a slightly more enjoyable and seamless experience.

This specific resort (Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort); is another hour trip by car from the FerryTerminal. So grab your motion sickness meds and duke it out. It is bumpy and curvy ride, but it isn't all that bad. When you get to the resort itself, it kind of makes you realize the purpose of the hour long ride.

The resort itself, is just peaceful and remote. This resort isn't like your other typical pool and beach grandiose resorts, if this is what you were/are expecting, you will be displeased and disappointed.
This resort has got some unique traits that you will encounter only if you have travelled to some of the most remote parts around the world. Only then will you truly appreciate this resort for where and what it is.

The resort's ground is beautiful, well-maintained, and the view is just breathtaking, and depending on the weather and time of day, the water actually dries out to mid-sea but the water level climbs back to shore by evening, but it's fairly shallow for some nice romantic walks.

There really isn't a "beach" if you are wanting white soft sands, or a "pool" to lounge by. There are some lounge chairs if you want to get a tan.
The resort does not have many rooms either, the resort's website is actually quite helpful and accurate, so do check out the rooms and its packages that they offer.

We took the Romantic Spa package; which included 150 minute of spa time, dinner, breakfast, but also the ferry and land rides (a piece of mind if you don't want to worry about hailing cabs, etc.,) - we booked directly with the resort itself, we booked it online but called the number provided via their site, and they were extremely helpful and had a quick turn around time with everything. The booking was seamless.

The Spa was the highlight of the trip of course, the staff and masseuse were professional and friendly. I recommend Geta - she is so kind and gives one mean massage.
The food was good, they have decent bbq seafood sets, the chill crab was spicy and tasteful.
The staff are friendly and helpful. They have mini activities for a decent price, so do give them a try. I do recommend the boat ride and snorkelling as those were the only ones we were able to squeeze in.

It was a simple 2 day 1 night quick mini getaway we wanted at the very last minute. It was worth the trek (despite all the contrary and reviews we had read) - bring a book, iPad, and just relax by enjoying the sounds of the sea, it is really like no other. Go to the spa, walk around the waters, and enjoy a nice cold bottle of Indonesia's local beer (Bintang), eat some seafood and get those ants out of your pants. And if you are the type that just cannot relax, there is a mini area that has a pool table, magnet darts, and karaoke.
Maybe it was the remoteness of where we were, or that it was an off season therefore there wasn't too many people, or that there was no queue anywhere, but our stay felt ever so relaxing. It almost felt like time froze while we were away. A true tranquil getaway.

Room Tip: We originally wanted to stay in one of their "Royal Ocean Villa" which are mini villas ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank msyoleecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
23.9 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,537 reviews
24.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,495 reviews
25.1 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
167 reviews
21.7 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
19.1 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Property: Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a cosy corner of Trikora beach is Bintan SpaVilla Beach Resort, a little haven of peace and quiet. Think of it as your seaside bed and breakfast.Sea views from every room & Ocean Suites built upon water.Spa by the sea; traditional massage with an ocean view. Beachfront Seafood BBQs. Leave the hustle and bustle behind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing