We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only for those who want to chill out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“only for those who want to chill out”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

the ride from the ferry terminal to the resort took between 1-1.5 hours.

we found it a gd place for chilling out, if you are those who enjoy a beer and while your time away at the beach. other than that, there is no other form of entertainment, unless you go to their sister resort Bintan Agro for sea sports.

The breakfast was so so. We tried the BBQ dinner, but did not get to see them bbq-ing the food by the side over charcoal grill as claimed on their website, maybe because it was raining.

we hardly used the balcony as everytime we open our room door or balcony door, mosquitoes will fly in.

The TV channels were pathetic. every channel was fuzzy so we gave up watching altogether.

On our ride back to the ferry terminal, we had to squeeze in a compact MPV with another family (total 6 people excluding driver), making the journey unbearable. there was barely any space left for our luggages/ bags. the luggages all fell onto the floor the moment the boot was opened.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysweetmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review. The resort does fogging once a week to minimize the amount of insects and mosquitoes around, but we will look into further improving the condition you faced. We have looked into the poor reception of TV channels, and have added new channels which are clear, thus in room entertainment is now available. As with the inconvenience you experienced with the land transfer back to the ferry terminal, we are very sorry for the bad experience with the transport. and will definitely look into improving the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    256
    82
    16
    17
See reviews for
109
212
27
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Don't expect top notch facilities. However rooms and all other basic necessity are well kept. A clean and comfortable environment for some quiet moment. Food at resort is also reasonably priced and tasty too. While you are there may try play some fire works too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asp399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you have enjoyed yourself, and happy that Bintan Spa Villa could help you unwind and relax abit. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is ideal for a 2D1N free & easy escape from Singapore if you don't want to pay beyond SGD$1000 for the luxury escape at those 5 stars resorts. Suggest to book those packages that suit you because it include ferry, land-transfer, massage, and meals. You may order cook-served BBQ dinner too.

During low tide, you can walk across the beach to the small island out there, or walk quite a distance from the bank. Take a walk at the evening during low tide and it was quite breezing. The beautiful sun set will turn the sky red.

The staff service attitude is really nice and genuine. Observe their smile and you could feel that those are the true smile from the sincere hearts.

Remember to always shut the room door and windows unless you want to welcome mosquitoes or insects into your room.

Lastly, you pay what you get. This is not a luxury resort but it is clean and comfortable enough for a short escape. If you are adventurous, try the water sports! 2 day 1 night should be good enough. No need to spend 2 nights unless you are hunger for non-stop massage. Oh yes! Massage is good. As the hotel name suggest, this is a spa villa!!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for those villas on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and thorough review. Glad that you enjoyed the food, massage and scenery here, and appreciate the value for money experience. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Brought my family for a short getaway. Had looked forward to checking in after waiting for half hour as the room wasnt ready. Horrified to check in to a wet floor which caused my kid to slip and fall. Guess they wanted to let us have the room fast and did not have time to dry the floor.

Bed had an unpleasant stench which reeked of urine. We tried locating the source of the stench, and went through the bed sheet, pillows, and duvet, but still could not identify where it came from. Pillow cases appeared dirty, with black spots. We asked for new pillow cases, which the staff oblidged.

We mostly stayed in our room as It rained throughout our stay. The tv signals (probably worsen by the bad weather) were weak and there was not a single channel we could watch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MMahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

On our 1st night we waited for 45 mins and didn't manage to get our food. When we approaches the staff, they discovered that they have missed out our order and didn't apologizes to us. In the end, we waited for 2 hours to complete 4 dishes and the food is precisely uncooked as they rush it out.

The spa message was nice but the staff is not very professional. We can hear them giggling while messaging our back. Obviously, we know they are talking something about us.

The power keeps went off during our stay and there isn't much TV channels to watch. Not to mention, that the network is seriously bad and all channel is not clear at all.

Overall experience: its a good place to relax but with the minor hiccup which we have faced, we will not recommend to friends and most probably won't come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review and share some feedback. We greatly apologize with the experience at the restaurant; it was a miscommunication between the restaurant staff, and it is highly unusual for our kitchen to take that amount of time to serve meals. We have improved the in room entertainment with new TV channels which are much clearer now. As for the power shortages, it cant be helped due to the power supply given to the area, where momentary trips occur. However trips usually last merely a few seconds. If a power trip extends, a back up generator will ensure the power supply continues in a mere few minutes. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we will look to improve what you have mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

It really is the perfect getaway if you don't want to be spending time in a crowded resort and choosing from a ton of activities to keep you busy and occupied. Here, you bring a book, take your time, watch the tide go out and come back in a few hours later, go for a stroll to the exposed islands at low tide, do a spot of beach combing with the millions of shells and tiny sand crabs. You can really wind down at this place. The rooms are nice, the cafe serves decent food and the hotel grounds are nicely maintained.

However, the place is miles from anywhere, so a trip to the town area at Tanjung Pinang takes about an hour. There's no shops, bars, spa or massage places near the resort, so you eat and drink at the resort or you arrange with the hotel for their driver or bus to take you to other places...but they are all about an hour away. The resort spa prices are the same as Singapore prices, so no indulging bargains there.

While the food quality is reasonable, the choice is very limited, so you end up eating the same stuff almost everyday...and don't fret if you oversleep and miss breakfast...it wil lbe the same the next day. There is a small restaurant about 5 minutes walk from the resort that does local food like nasi goreng and veggies and not much else but it's very cheap. You can also take the free transport to their sister resort at Bintan Agro, just a few minutes away. At least, they have some sea sport activities there (but only when it's high tide) and also a decent kelong seafood restaurant.

The resort staff are very friendly and helpful, and nothing seemed to be too much bother for them. While they can be occasionally inattentive, they are always smiling and quite chatty. Talking to them was good for a few tips on where to go to eat, for instance.

So, overall its a compromise. The isolated location means some welcome peace and quiet but there's also nothing else there to do. There's no pool, no sea activities, there's actually no beach, it's too shallow to swim and really a place for a quick overnight getaway but the views and tranquility are a plus. This place is not like the other Bintan resorts that are full on into keeping you entertained and you'd definitely choose this place if you are after some peace and quiet and being bored on your holiday is bliss.

Room Tip: The Royal villas are right on the water, and the views are awesome. Room 701 is the end villa and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DougPeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneWee, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi, thank you for spending the time to write this review. We are glad that you have enjoyed the view, your room and your holiday. Bintan Spavilla Beach Resort is envisioned as a place to lay back and relax, or for couples to enjoy a peacful romantic holiday together away from the hustle and bustle of city activity- hence like you said, there isnt a multitude of activities lined up for visitors. As for the restaurant menu, we are currently expanding on the selection and will be available from mid january. Thank you for spending your holiday with us once again, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2D1N. The first thing that I like about the resort is the nice calming waters and scenery. The place is a little small with just one cafe but the food is acceptable. You can give the BBQ set a try too when you are there. ( request to sit at the outdoor dining area). The night view is fantastic especially when you are eating a nice cozy meal under the moonlight. Also, The cafe is the only place that you can tap WIFI for free. I thought it would be better if the rooms can also tap on it so that guests can relax in their rooms especially when the television channels are so limited.

You can also expect a nice massage session at their spa. My SO and I had the full body massage with a leg soak at the start. As I said,the place is small with limited facilities. They have also one pool table that you can play for free. However, the condition of the cue stick and table is quite bad. I would highly recommend the table and cue stick to be changed to a newer one for quests to play though.

Other than the massage, you can also request for transport to go to the sister resort(bintan Agro) which is about 3-5 mins away to play watersports or to swim as the villa doesn't have any pool.

Another thing to note, I stayed in the sea view deluxe room on the ground floor. Please be prepared to be greeted by bugs, houseflies and Mosquitos. My SO helped to get rid of quite a few in the room. The resort provides a complimentary insect repellant.

There is also no water supply for consumption in the rooms except for 2 bottles of mineral water. You can request for more if needed. The staff is hospitable and efficient. Be prepared to face sudden power trips but do not worry as it comes back immediately. All the above will be communicated to you through their front desk.

All in all, a place to go if you want quaint place to relax and would not mind the bugs.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wongly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneWee, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi thank you for taking the time to write this very comprehensive review, glad that you have enjoyed the serene atmosphere of the resort. We have taken your feedback of the pool table into consideration and have made arrangements to improve on the condition of the table and the cue sticks. As for the pest situation, we actually have weekly pest control to ensure there are minimum insects in the resort. Still we will improve on the pest control at the ground floor rooms as mentioned. Thank you once again for the review, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
23.9 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
24.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
25.1 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
21.7 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
19.1 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Property: Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a cosy corner of Trikora beach is Bintan SpaVilla Beach Resort, a little haven of peace and quiet. Think of it as your seaside bed and breakfast.Sea views from every room & Ocean Suites built upon water.Spa by the sea; traditional massage with an ocean view. Beachfront Seafood BBQs. Leave the hustle and bustle behind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing