We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless you're REALLY trying to escape from life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid unless you're REALLY trying to escape from life”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Did a 1 night's stay here with a Groupon.
There is NOTHING to do here except for clam-picking.
There's a shuttle bus that goes to nearby Bintan Agro Resort which has a seafood restaurant, a karaoke room, 3 deck chairs, a tiny pool and a sundry shop but it leaves every TWO hours.
And in very fine print on the bus schedule, it says you need to book your seat on the bus in advance.
There aren't enough seats/bus departures to cope with the number of people trying to go (run away) to Agro so you may get left behind. And wait another two hours for the next bus.
You can't walk - it's too far.

The food is bad, the rooms are so-so, there is no beach to relax on and no deck chairs, hammocks or mats or anything to enjoy the sun.

And everytime you ask for something (anything, including a taxi) you are told that "you are in a very remote area."

Oh yes, this "resort" is not on the resort side of the island.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aquilyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    56
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
36
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Booked through StreetDeals / LokoPoko in Singapore. You get what you pay for here, which is not a lot. Be warned, this is NOT the experience that you may have enjoyed at Bintan Resorts and the photos are very carefully chosen to make the resort look attractive. These guys stretch the definitions of 'cabana, beach and resort' to the limit. For the cabana part, the thatched roof is the only aspect that you could say was accurate. To be honest, the building more closely resembles a cheap motel - just one that is thatched. There is actually no beach to speak of, as the water comes right up to the sea wall when the tide is in and is just sea bed (not beach) when the sea is out. You would also expect some amenities at a resort. Not here. No pool, no fitness, no bar, no cafe, no coffee shop, no kids area, nothing. The hotel does have a spa - two tired, cheap, bamboo structures with plastic curtains, facing the sea on one side and the taxi drop-off on the other. Not exactly relaxing. Oh ... and the drop-off area is not the usual drive-up reception that you get with most hotels in the region, but a small single-track lane that the taxi then has to reverse out of. My heart sank when I arrived and only got worse as the experience unfolded. Serious, serious let down.

Room Tip: Book at Bintan Resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SteveCSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bintan Island hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Bintan is basically divided into 2 areas : BIntan Resort in the north (which is full of nice but expensive hotels where you pay everything inSGD) and other area outside Bintan Resort (where prices are in Rupiah and are very reasonable).

Cabana is less than an hour from BIntan Resort (where the Ferry terminal is. if you are from Spore, you will take the ferry) and is also less than an hour from Kijang Airport (if you are from Jakarta, you will take the plane and land here).

With such a reasonable rate (It would still be worth it had the rate been twice what I paid), I didn't expect too much. But I was very pleasantly surprised to find the room very spacious, modern and clean. What amazed me more was that the sea is only a few steps in front of my room door! It's really like having your own sea. The hotel is not big and thus, not very crowded (I hate big hotels where you have to line up to check in/out or during breakfast).

The beach was fabulous! Very shallow (you can walk far and it's still only knee deep), crystall clear with fish, crabs and hermit crabs moving around us. (It reminds me of Bali 30 years ago when I was small. Now you hardly can find living creatures other than human beings in Bali beaches).

My kids (11 and 2 years old) had lots of fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arleen315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at Bintan Cabana resort in the last 1 year and I am glad we did. For us this is the best place on the planet for a weekend. We go to Bintan to get away from everything and just to relax. The best thing about this resort is that its small, located in a sparsely populated area, has a private beach (ok its not like a beach in the conventional sense but clean and good enough to have fun with family), service is nice and the good thing is its easy on the pocket.

The rooms are nice, clean, big and have huge beds. The restaurant is right on top of the beach so you can have a nice view while having a meal or a drink. The breakfast is superb and staff nice and friendly. The beach is just a few steps away from most of the rooms.

However, there is no internet or water activities available on this property so in case thats what you are looking for then you can opt for either Nirwana or Agro. Also this resort is quite some distance away from Bintan ferry terminal (45-60 min by bus) so be prepared for long transfer from and to ferry terminal.

Having said that this resort is easily the cheapest resot in Bintan and has the best ROI value.

Room Tip: - Far away from ferry terminal (45-60 min by bus), but bus service provided by resort - Single rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BangaloreRockon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kluang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Bought the deal on deal.com.sg and it was inclusive of transfers, food and accommodation. In total (deal + body massage + extra spending on food), we spent about SGD300 for two person.

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, and enjoy lazing around doing nothing except enjoying the breeze and sea view, then this would be the right choice. There are no water sports or any other entertainment facilities at Cabana, but you will be able to take a free shuttle bus/van to the nearby Agro resort and enjoy the facilities there.

Our stay was an enjoyable one, the Balinese massage was good and the food was delicious too. Resort staff were very friendly and helpful. At the price that we paid, i think this is quite a good value for a short weekend getaway :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlottesze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
566 reviews
20.9 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,536 reviews
22.3 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,494 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
167 reviews
18.8 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Cabana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Cabana Beach Resort

Property: Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km 46 | Malang Rapat, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bintan Cabana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort is the latest addition to the Bintan Agro Resorts Group, located at Trikora beach in Tanjung Pinang. The beach side has 29 deluxe rooms, 6 junior suite rooms and 12 suites, most of which have private balconies or patios overlooking the sea. There are 17 villas as well at the garden area, with a total of 22 rooms and 30 garden rooms. A grand total of 94 choice rooms are available. Bintan Cabana Beach Resort boasts the whitest sand along the beach with a private and quiet atmosphere for relaxing. We also offer massage by the beach in our gazebos. In the evening, chill out at the coolest beach bar in Trikora while enjoying the sunset view from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bintan Cabana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing