We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Lovely Family trip!”
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Lovely Family trip!”
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We just came back from a 3day 2 N stay at the Angsana Resort with 7 adults , 1 toddler and 1 infant. We chose this based on earlier reviews of its cleanliness , friendly staff and reputable spa. Due to my 15month old boy, i needed a kitchenette/microwave to perpare his baby food and this is the only hotel that has one in thier suite compared to Nirwarna or bintan lagoon. The alternative would be the Villas at other resorts that comes with kitchen but we felt are a bit too far off site the hotel amenities.

The ferry trip was fine and the sea was not too choppy both ways except on the way back there was a japanese boy who looked seasick. But all of us were fine including my 2 kids. immigration was ok as well. Although a point of note is that there are some parts where the provided trolleys were not allowed, so if you are having heavy handcarried luggages, do get those with wheels so that you can pull along cos some fair bit of walking distance is required. There are a 4-5 steps up the ferry from the landing, so you may need to fold up your baby stroller and carry your babies from then.

Land transfer were swift and check in were fast. Staff, like previously mentioned were very friendly and helpful.

We had 2 Angsana suites( 2 bedrooms with jacuzzi and private garden) and we and the kids loved it! The place was extremely clean and well maintained even though it was bulit in 2000.
The Kitchenette comes with a micowave, usual bar fridge, some simple utensils( but strangely no knife?!?) , 1 frying pan and 1 small pot and dish washing liquid and sponge( nice touch!)- good enough for rewarming baby food and cooking his porridge.
The living room comes with the usual TV but to our surpise there was a VCD/DVD player. You can loan the DVD from the reception which we didin't need to .
The beds were comfortable but queen in size( we would prefer a king which they didn't have unlike nirwarna) We didn't find them too hard unilke some of the previous reviewers. Although some of my family found their pillows too soft, they used the nice sofa cushions instead. In fact the daybed/sofa are good enough to sleep on!

The pool was fantastic with a large section of shallow wading area for the kids. The best thing was the the Angsana suites were ground floor and you can access the pool from your private garden! Wonderful when you are handling 2 kids at the same time.The jacuzzi was fun for the kids especially in the morning where we found the general pool too cold for them and putting them in the jacuzzi was nice and warm!
Although the suites are ground floor,we didn't have problems with noise. The resort is not too crowded and generally quiet.

We tried the spa as well and chose to have the Angsana massage. Unlike the eariler reviewer who found them too polite, we found them respectful and discrete. They asked us permission before massaging the chest and the abdomen and you have a choice of refusal. As to not providing disposable undies, i think this is the Angsana practice...as previously when i was in Phuket, Thailand and tried the same spa, they also did not provide any as well.


Food wise , I think the restuarants are clean. We have buffet breakfast at the lotus cafe which is airy and bright. Spread was moderate but sufficient wide for us.

We had 2 buffet dinners at Lotus cafe and Pantai grill( they do buffet dinner on alternate nights for abt US$24)- good selection but i think the pantai was superior . You get to dine by the beach , BBQ buffet and nice indonesian singers serenading away!

The beach was fantastic , pristine fine white sand. We didn't get bitten by the sandfiles as we "religiously" applied our insect repellant that was provided for by the hotel!

Generally, it was a nice family holiday, relaxing with not much to worry about in terms of security and hygiene which is important when you have yound children. Of course with such standards, price is not cheap but i think it is worth it. Will come back again!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and good service
  • Disliked — cost
  • Tips/Secrets — Good deals via boking through the hotel website
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank suansuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    641
    285
    101
    54
See reviews for
560
618
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We stayed at Angsana for a long weekend in October 2006.
Overall, the hotel is ok, but for western standards, it is not really up to par with a "world class resort" and would earn a 2 or 3 stars in the US (out of five). The rooms are comfortable but, man, are they in desperate need for remoddeling updates. Paint peeling from the walls, stains on the sofa, musty smells in the bathroom. And when we arrived there were no towels in our room!

The staff is extremely friendly, often to the point that they are apologetic which makes one really uncomfortable. When we went for a massage, my husband's masseuse started every single sentence with "excuse me sir" even if he said two or three sentences in a row, which becomes annoying quickly.

A warning for the squirmish: At the spa, we didn't even get any paper panties. No sirreee, they told us "take every thing off". During the massage, when they yank open the sheet to reveal your leg, at times I felt a bit, um, exposed due to the lack of the any panties. It was pretty weird. But the massage was good, though, I almost feel asleep, until she asked me to turn around. Ok, I have never had anyone massage my belly. Much less my chest. But yep, that was part of the massage. It was a bit awkward, but the masseuse was luckily very professional (didn't linger) and obviously does that every day. Weird, how they have no inhibitions at the spa, but topless tanning is prohibited!

The pool and the beach was very nice indeed. Clean, sparkling pool with attentive attendants constantly refilling you water. The restaurants of course are a bit over priced. Everything is priced in USD and the quality is merely ok. For variety, go next door to the swish Banyan Tree Resort for lunch or dinner - prices double.

We had a fun time but will probably never return to this resort as it is not worth the money (we paid $224 per room per night). Next time I'd rather go to Bali where the resorts are fresher and the food cheaper.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank ApplesInMyBra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Agree with all the posts re the hotel and we loved our stay. The beach was generally deserted and we had great fun playing in the waves; the pool was lovely also. Nights were a bit quiet so we visited the stunning neighbouring Banyan Tree for dinner.
However, unless things have changed the only way there was via a ferry from Singapore and, depending on the time of year, the trip can be a very unpleasant experience. Firstly, we were delayed due to weather conditions (which can be a bit of an issue if you are due to go straight to the airport on arrival back in Singapore). Secondly, on the way to Bintan at least half of the passengers spent a big part of the journey throwing up and going back wasn;t much better. Personally, I would suggest that unless you are going for more than just a weekend it is not worth the aggravation of visiting Bintan.

  • Liked — Pool, Beach, Seclusion
  • Disliked — The journey
  • Stayed December 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, england
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

this is a lovely hotel. go there if you are looking to unwind.
we went for 5 days as part of a far east holiday on our silver wedding.
the hotel is very near the ferry port, about a 10 min drive.
on the plus side, the staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, they were polite, helpful and friendly at all times.

the pool area is beautiful - good sunbeds, clean, fresh towels and staff on-hand should you need anything. we never found the pool area too busy but if you are looking for a really quiet time just take a few steps down to the unspoilt beach.

the watersports were fun, we tried the banana boat, jet ski and a boat trip. all good - not so cheap though.
we loved the spa - what can i say?!! pure indulgence. again, not cheap but you have to try it.
we had 2 sessions in the spa, both in the 'outside' rooms overlooking the sea. it was amazing! you must try it!

the food was nice but nothing outstanding. we enjoyed the evening beach BBQs, they were pretty good.

on the negative side... i would say the bedrooms and bathrooms let the hotel down. i expected more, everything was a bit 'tired' and in need of modernisation but everything was spotlessly clean.
the other thing (there were only these 2 things really!!) was that the hotel seemed to 'go to bed' at about 10pm. everyone ate early and the bar closed around 10pm. the place was deserted by 10.30. we like to sit in the bar and relax after dinner but instead we felt as if we had to go to our room!
it s a great hotel, wonderful staff, wonderful service. hope you enjoy it too!

  • Liked — facilities and great staff
  • Disliked — bedrooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ally3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 893 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in July of 2006 as part of a round the world trip, and were extremely happy with our choice – we would both recommend it very highly and would not choose to stay anywhere else when we return.

The building is lovely and is very compact. There’s free Internet access in the lobby and the staff are most willing to help with your every request. The breakfast buffet is extensive and the lunch and dinner menus are very tasty. At the weekends there are dinner buffets and barbeques at the beach restaurant. Drinks are inexpensive when compared to Singapore or Hong Kong prices.

The hotel is spotlessly clean as is the pool area and beach. Sun beds are available for all guests and towels are provided at your request. Drinks and lunch are served at your sun bed and can be charged to the room. Perfect when the hot sun is beating down and all you want is a cold ‘Bintang’ beer or a cocktail!

At night the bedrooms are all turned down and a gift left on your pillow. For example, we received a little metal sea turtle, a soft sea turtle beanie and an elephant bookmark. These appear on your bill at a cost of US$1 per night, but are available to buy in the well stocked gift shop for US$10 each, so it is a very welcome surprise.

The spa is beautiful and slightly less expansive than your average spa in the UK or US. However, this is certainly not your ‘average’ spa – the surroundings are amazing and the staff extremely professional, so those less experienced with spa etiquette need not worry! We had a tandem massage in one of the open air rooftop areas and it was perfect.

When in Bintan I would recommend taking a few hours and visiting the shops at Poo. There is a shuttle bus which collects and drops off at the lobby a few times each day. We picked up some cheap clothes, beers and snacks for the room, and a fantastic oil painting by a local Indonesian artist for about US$75.

Regarding malaria, we took Malarone tablets on the recommendation of our health advisor in the UK. The course started two days before arrival and ended seven days after, and we had no ill effects at all. However, we weren’t bitten once, including our time on the beach and at the beach bar. The hotel provides cream for prevention of getting bitten by sand flies and each room has an electronic repellent. The beach bar also uses coils. Furthermore, we were told that there hasn’t been a case of malaria for five years and then dengue fever is more common in Singapore than in Bintan.

We found immigration at the ferry terminal to be very efficient, and we bought our seven-day visas on arrival for US$10 per person. For you passport lovers, everyone gets a full page sized ‘Republic of Indonesia’ sticker and a stamp!

Do not hesitate to book this resort, as you are in for a real treat!

  • Liked — Warm, friendly Indonesian staff
  • Disliked — Nothing - it's superb
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
24 Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Overall, we had a relaxing time with Angsana. Great clean beach with clear water and clean sand. Beautiful view from rooms... great place to relax if you are looking for total isolation from the rest of the world as there is not transport out of the hotel except via cabs (minimun USD12 for 5 min drive)

Food
Not much option of food except for those located in Angsana/ Banyan. For other places, u need to book a cab as Angsana does not have shuttle bus services like Nirwana Resort to move ard (eg hotel to pasar oleh oleh/ Kelong resturarant).

Panthai resturantant in Angsana is good. We loved the feeling of dining under the stars by the beach. Drinks and food are very well done.

Service
Staff are polite and every cheery. Pool was great as well coz its always clean with staff offering frozen fruit and re-filling of ice water. Great touch!!

  • Liked — the beach and pool
  • Disliked — size of room (abit to small) and lack of options of transportation
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ctsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We flew from UK to Singapore and then directly took the ferry over to Bintan, one small frustration was the delay at Indonesian Immigration - not the most efficient to say the least.

But that was soon forgotten as we were whisked away in the waiting lime green hotel Toyota.

For the next week we enjoyed excellent service from ever smiling hotel staff, great food at a selection of restaurants (beach barbeque grill gets a special mention), a beautiful beach with the obligatory smattering of coconut palms for that exotic feel and great hotel room and facilities.

We enjoyed it immensley but please note:

It is a hotel resort and quite isolated from real life. You can visit the real Indonesia beyond the resort area but you need to book a taxi / guide. We did this and took the 90 minute journey to the islands capital city - quite a contrast from the swish resorts in the north.

It also means that there are no cheap eating opportunities for the time at the resort - it is restaurants only.

We loved the Angsana and would recommend it for a few days away from it all.

We did four days in Singapore and two in Dubai to complete the holiday.

Memories.........

  • Liked — Exotic location
  • Disliked — Isolation
  • Tips/Secrets — Go if you want to chill
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank RonnieRemould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,537 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Bintan Island
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
172 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#7 of 38 in Bintan Island
332 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Property: Angsana Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing