We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but noisy rooms”
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service but noisy rooms”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

It was our first trip to Bintan and we wanted a good experience by choosing Angsana and also to try out the spa service. As the other reviews had mentioned, rooms were made up twice a day, which meant we got return to a clean and tidy room every time. We also tried the BBQ buffet on a Friday night at the Pantai Grill & Bar. As our order of the satay sticks did not arrive after a long wait and even after a repeat order, the restaurant manager was very apologetic and did a very quick service recovery by offering us 2 glasses of champagne - it was indeed a pleasant surprise!

What could be vastly improved are the aging furnitures and perhaps a change of doors to reduce the noise level from outside the room. All trolleys that went past the room could be heard and it was quite disturbing. Likewise, we wished that our neighbours on the floor above could stop dragging furnitures across the room! Wireless network was also slow and there was only one PC terminal at the lobby for guests to share.

Overall, we found the resort staff friendly and offered great service but the state of the rooms and facilities really needed to be improved.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeetotellerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, September 21, 2009
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Bintan Island!

Thank you for your effort and time taken for sharing your experience and feedback regarding your stay at Angsana Bintan.

We also wish to thank you on your gracious comments about our services and associates. These have been shared to our team members and they were very pleased by your kind words.

Your feedback about improving our rooms and facilities are well noted and much appreciated. Rest assured that these have been brought up to be discussed and reviewed at great length with our Management and will be given the utmost consideration in our improvement plan.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to the resort again in the future.

With kind regards,

Nopparat Aumpa (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    632
    275
    99
    54
See reviews for
552
605
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We had gone to Angsana for the Good Friday weekend. It was my birthday and my husband had informed them about it. They really made our weekend special. I got a call from the reception to wish me a "Happy Birthday" They even sent me a nice cake. Very sweet of them.
Overall it was a great place to stay in...you kind of have a private beach which is shared by Angsana and the Banyan Tree. Breakfast was excellent... They had a lot of home made jams and syrups to go with pancakes..a lavish layout. They clean your room 2 times a day so you don't feel it get messy with all the beach sand. Very comfortable beds...and food was good a little pricey but then its a 4-5 star.
The only thing which went slightly wrong was that we had booked "The Fisherman's Table" for the night after and you can cancel it 12 hrs before...We went for a walk and saw the table we had booked for the next night and it didn't appeal to us that much so we went to the reception and asked them to cancel it. Apparently the guy did not inform them and they did not charge us anything but we kind of felt guilty as it could've easily been reserved for that night...nonetheless they were nice to us about it.
They have shuttles leaving for the market area so its quite convenient.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone who goes to Bintan for total relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKC008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
Dear valued guest,

Warm greetings from Bintan Island!

Thank you for choosing Angsana Bintan to spend your holidays and for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you for your compliments on our services, associates, products and facilities.

I have shared these to the team and they were most pleased.

However, we wish to apologize as our receptionist did not cancel your fisherman’s table reservation. Rest assured that corrective actions to our associates have been initiated to avoid recurrence in the future.

Thank you once again, for sharing your wonderful experiences with us and that you will recommend Angsana Bintan as a place to relax. We look forward to having you return to our lovely resort in a not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Nopparat Aumpa (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We originally booked the standard superior room. However, when we went into the room, we found the room to be small. As we have a little boy, we decided to upgrade to an one bedroom suite - we had to pay additional cost - so that our little boy could run around without bumping into the wooden furniture.

The one bedroom suite was a big improvement and as when we stayed there for 4 nights, the upgrade was worthwhile as you got a lot more space. Even the bed was better in the one bedroom suite. However, the condition of the room itself was of similar condition and age to the standard superior room.

What saved our days were the excellent and friendly services. The services were one of the best we have recently experienced in the region. The staff always greeted us with a smile no matter whether they were the receptionists or the housekeeping staff. We had many happy and satisfying meals at the Pantai Grill. The staff was so patient and nice with our little boy. We had warm memories of Johannes, Belly and many other warm and friendly staff at Pantai Grill.

The Spa was very nice. The Spa treatment room and environment were far better condition than the rest of the hotel. The massage was also very good.

The beach has very fine and soft sand and the hotel clearly takes good care of the beach. Unfortunately, the bay is close to the Strait of Malacca so rubbish does float to the shore from vessels and fishing boats nearby. So, one can only truly enjoy the beach after the hotel staff clean up the beach by about 10am in the morning.

Besides the hotel being a bit tired, we found the following might need improving:

(i) the kids room does not have many toys and most of the toys are getting old
(ii) the time sharing sale calls were annoying - they should never have called the guests. One does not expect marketing calls like that when you are staying in a resort.

If you get a cheap deal to stay at Angsana, it would be a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaFamOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Dear Valuable Guest,

Warm greetings from Bintan Island!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in the Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit at Angsana Bintan.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you for your gracious comments about our product and services.

Your special mention of our associates has been shared with them and they were very elated to receive such compliments.

All concerns that you have raised are well noted and much appreciated. Please rest assured that we have taken necessary actions to improve those points.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and I hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you to the resort in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nopparat Aumpa (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2009

my girlfriend and i stayed at angsana one bedroom suite for 3D2N and we absolutely loved it. the service was impeccable, the room was fantastic, the beach was clean, the spa was even better, albeit the only thing we would complain was about the cost of the food. then again any other resorts would have been equally expensive. so if you're going to pay the same amount of money, might as make it worthwhile. so go angsana!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chenpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2009

My first visit to Angsana started with a mid-morning arrival, coffee and fruit in the plush restaurant/veranda, a quick swim in the ocean and then a relaxing lunch by the pool. Golf at nearby Ria Bintan in the afternoon. Beachfront bonfire, music and a couple of drinks before dinner... great setting; spectacular! Room was very nice, modern yet cultural, quiet, clean and comfortable. Golf again the follow day while wishing I could stay at least one more night. I'll be back though!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfgeekSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Lets start with the good news: Angsana is a great get-away from busy Singapore. With only a one-hour boat ride, the resort is a wonderful place for a pleasant weekend. Having visited other resorts at Bintan as well, I think Angsana is among the better alternatives. Nevertheless, it need to be mentioned: the resort is a bit "tired" (like most hotels in Bintan). The resort needs some upgrading in order to fully reflect the USD-rates it is charging. Although I like the resort, its beach and its great spa, it is time Angsana invests some money to make the resort up to contemporary standards (doors with old-fashioned keys, slow wireless internet, outdated bathrooms).

Yet, what maked my stay remarkable .... it is absolutely the staff! Most employees are extremely happy, enthusiastic and genuinly hospitable. Most of them remembered my name (something I hardly encounter in other hotels). Special credits to the Front Office staff: their friendliness, responsiveness and eye for detail could definitely be used as an example for other hoteliers!

All in all a great stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cr0c0dile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
Dear Valuable Guest,

Warm greetings from Bintan Island!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in the Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Angsana Bintan and we are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your special commendations to our associates have been shared to them and they were most pleased to receive such gracious compliments.

Your remarks and suggestions are much appreciated as they help us improve both our service and our product.

Please be certain that they are well noted will be given the utmost priority in our improvement plan.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing Angsana Bintan as your holiday destination.

We look forward to the opportunity of your return visit and to have the privilege of being of service to you again in the future.

With kind regards,
Nopparat Aumpa (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I'm aware that my Review Title is scathing, however my beautiful Marion and I have worked long and hard to have a honeymoon that would be duly remembered as one that I felt treated my Lady to an exotic and luxurious 6 days of pampering, after a 6 day stay in Singapore which was wonderful.

As our bus pulled up at Angsana Resort, my first impression was that it looked a little jaded, however the reception staff were nice, and before long we were being escorted to our suite. The elevator smelt stale, but what the hell. We were escorted to our room which was where our issues began. We had paid additional monies for our suite to be upgraded, and it was disappointing in that it looked tired and in need of a fresh coat of paint. I didn't investigate it any further when we realised that we were to be sleeping in single beds, this was our honeymoon for God's sake. We told the young Lady that THIS wasn't what we'd booked and we weren't staying here. The Staff member made several calls and continually told us that the Resort had already given us an upgrade for no cost. When we related that we'd actually paid for the upgrade, this seemed to fall on deaf ears. Eventually they've decided to upgrade us again at a substantial cost to us into a 1 bedroom suite, with kitchen etc.

We were even more disappointed with the result, in short it was filthy, cheap and nasty. The furniture should have been retired years ago, and the prints on the wall, belonged in a dump. The floor tiles were cheap and cracked in places. The so called kitchen looked like it had been built in someone's back yard back in the 50's, the hotplates were rusty, the range hood fell apart, and the sink had food in it, with mouse/rat excreta decorating the bench. The bathroom was again filthy with orange mould growing around the drains, and needed gutting. You can ONLY have hot water if you flick a particular switch some hours before needing it, this may or may not actually work. My Wife had 2 showers in the 2 days we stayed there and both of them were cold, where as at least my showers were at least hot. On the subject of the shower, to make the shower stay on, I had to jamb a piece of cardboard in place to prevent the lever from closing. The room safe had no batteries and as such wouldn't work, and there were no batteries in the "suite". The bed itself was a queen size and quite comfortable, however we both awoke the next morning feeling choked with dust. Investigation revealed the ceiling fans to be filthy, which we cleaned, and the air conditioner filters were choked with dirt which we also cleaned. The net curtains were also filthy, no way of cleaning them, and what's more no Guest should have to clean their room.

In the middle of this my Wife received a call from what we were led to believe was Reception, stating that a meeting had been booked for us the next day at 11:00 AM. My Wife questioned the appointment to discover that they were trying to sell time share in the resort, so she told them we were otherwise committed as we had booked in for a spa treatment. At the time the call just left us feeling uneasy and it was strange to say the least. Later while enjoying each others company beside the pool, we were approached by a Resort Staff Member who insisted on taking our photograph. We both felt it strange that a hotel would photograph us, but feeling uneasy we complied. Less than an hour later 2 lots of Staff filed past us, intently looking and pointing at us, whilst ignoring other guests. This again was unnerving and strange, and we DIDN'T like it.

Our complaints to Reception seemed to fall on deaf ears.........until my Wife Marion began ringing and emailing our complaints through to our Travel Agent back in Australia. Then and ONLY then did Resort Management take our complaints seriously, this culminated in a meeting with the Resort Manager to air our complaints. Management told us the Time Share sales staff were a permanent fixture at the resort. (Restaurant staff later revealed that they were encouraged to sell/refer time share sales. Management told our Travel Agent that the time share people were on the grounds uninvited!) To our dismay the Manager didn't appear to take the disgusting condition of her rooms seriously. All she appeared to want to do, was find a resolution to us continuing our stay, with the ONLY solution being proffered being to move us to the Banyan Tree Resort (sister Resort), with again a substantial increase in tariff being levied against us, and bear in mind all of this is NOT in Singapore $ or Australian $ but USA $.

It's also worth noting that the pool is not overly big, and it's only about 1 metre deep, it's more like a large kiddies pool, don't be fooled by the gorgeous photos of the pool. The standards around the pool are also poor, with weeds in the pool paving, wheels and tyres off all of the sun lounges, frayed towels etc. Interesting to note here that during our discussion with the Resort Manager she relayed that she took it upon herself to observe us at the pool and in her words "You both seemed very happy", Marion and I relayed back to her, that we deal with our problems and any issues quietly and with due consideration extended to others. However my thoughts retrospectively are, what a pity that the Manager whilst observing us at the pool, didn't A) Come over and introduce herself to discuss our issues & B) Didn't observe the sorry state of the pool surrounds and equipment and do something about it.

For our part, we got out of there after 2 days, and were lucky enough to secure a booking back at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Singapore (which is FABULOUS). We were only offered a refund for time not stayed at Angsana Resort due to the intervention of our Travel people back in Australia, prior to that we were told that if we left, there would be no refund for cutting short our stay at Angsana Resort

So what WAS good about Angsana Resort? Well, not much if I'm to be truthful, however credit should be given to Johannes from the Resort's restaurant, and to the Spa Treatment Staff. Overall, it was incredibly disappointing and we felt cheated of our time and money!

Please refer to our photos as they tell the story.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrevnMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, June 1, 2009
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Angsana Bintan!

Thank you for taking the time to share in the TripAdvisor your experience in relation to your recent stay at Angsana Bintan.

We also wish to thank you for your gracious comment about our associates. I have personally extended your commendations to Johanes and the Spa team, and they were most pleased to receive such compliments.

On the other hand, I know how special this trip was for you and I understand your disappointment about the room arrangements not being perfect for your trip. I am profusely sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you and that your stay was not as memorable as you would have wanted it to be.

We were not aware nor were we informed by the travel agent that the main purpose of your visit was to celebrate your honeymoon; otherwise we would have tried our best to prepare some special arrangements for your occasion during your stay.

Upon learning about the occasion, I was glad to be able to provide you with a complimentary upgrade to one of our Bedroom Suite with a complimentary dinner. In addition, I also ensured that you were provided with a complimentary car transfer with the hope that we can reinstate ourselves in your good faith.

Your feedback concerning the room condition, its equipments and facilities are much appreciated as they assist us by pointing out areas where we can improve.

Please be assured that we have taken these comments most seriously and I have personally raised these matters to the management to be reviewed and discussed at great length so as to ensure immediate action will be initiated.

Thank you once again for your comments and for choosing to spend your honeymoon at Angsana Bintan. I only hope you would give us a chance to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

With kind regards,
Nopparat Aumpa
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,494 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
167 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
5.6 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Property: Angsana Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing