We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, the best choice for vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Beijing
1 review
“Excellent service, the best choice for vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

Hotel staffs are very polite especially restaurant waiter & waitress. We really enjoyed beautiful view, excellent services, SPA, kids club etc. Strongly strongly recommend you come to there for vacation. Definitely we would back there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dulala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    619
    272
    98
    54
See reviews for
538
593
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

I've been reading the reviews of Angsana with some amusement during the past month or so. It's always interesting to see things from someone else's perspective. While I wouldn't necessarily argue some of the negative points expressed, I do believe most of these can be chalked up to differences in personal taste.

My wife and I are members at Ria Bintan Golf Club, so we spend 20+ weekends per year on Bintan. We've stayed at all of the properties there multiple time, except Banyan Tree. After trying them all out, we've settled on Angsana as the one that stands out as our favorite. Again, this may be because we're not viewing a trip to Bintan in direct comparison to a week in Bali, Phuket or Langkawi. For us, it's a relaxing, fun escape from city life in Singapore.

We have found the service, food, spa and beach facilities on a par with or better than most high end resort properties we've visited in the region. For us, we put a premium on these aspects of resort life because we tend to spend our time out enjoying the resort rather than in our room. That said, we like the space, quiet and cleanliness of the rooms. And, for anybody who values a good night's sleep you'll appreciate that the beds at Angsana are awesome. They're not the slabs of stone that you'll find at so many Asian resorts.

The primary negative for us has been the lack of Internet access in the rooms. I often times must catch up on work emails while visiting Bintan, so I end up spending time sitting in the lobby with my laptop using the wireless network. This is a real hassle and I hope it will change soon, but it certainly isn't enough to keep us away.

All in all, we've thoroughly enjoyed each and every visit we've made to Angsana during the past year and we'll continue to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trotter0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

We visited the resort because of friends' recommendations and the Angsana / Banyan Tree brand name. However, we did not leave impressed with the place, considering the number of alternatives available both at Bintan itself and in the region.

The resort itself is nice and met our expectations of what a beach resort should be like. Our room was huge and had a nice view of the beach, which is white, pristine and well kept. The staff are very warm, friendly and helpful (though the level efficiency is somewhat laid back, perhaps befitting the nature of the holiday the resort aim to provide). However, these are all within our expectations given our experience with other resorts in the region, and this resort has little other features to recommend itself.

First, the facilities are sparse. Other than the beach, pool and spa, there is no gymnasium and little restaurant choices. The breakfast buffet is rather unimaginative and almost completely repetitive - I had breakfast for 3 days and was completely bored with the selection of the food.

Everything at the resort is priced in USD, and at a level you would expect in the US! This is somewhat extravagant considering its located at Bintan, Indonesia.

Security also appeared to be a problem. The latch to my door could be lifted from the outside!

We also found the service (although enthusiastic) to be slow. Even though we had booked transport with the resort prior to our arrival, they only called for the car from the resort after we have gone to the resort's booth at the ferry terminal to let them know we're there! And I had to wait for more than 15 mins (after calling them twice) for help with my luggage upon checking out.

All in, we would not exactly say we had a bad experience, but it is certainly not someplace we will plan on returning to. Phuket, Kota Kinabalu and Bali all offer better choices and at better value!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYChiaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

Having worked in this business for more than 10 years, nothing peeves me more than an unfair review.

However in this instance, I have to concur with the other reviews and advise people to skip this property. As everyone has different taste and expectation on a resort vacation, I would rate the property and services and allow you to decide for yourself.

Pros
- Friendly Staff ; the friendly staff at this resort from the restaurants, bars and frot desk is a testament to a good hotel with well trained staff. THey make up for the rest below.
- Quiet environment with comparatively lesser kids

Cons
- ROOM QUALITY: The room quality is very very (x10) disppointing for a resort trying to sell itself as 5 star. Furnishing are tiring, no carpets, cheap tiles and cracked pictures adorn the room and the toilet is one of the bdly designed ones with water outflowing everytime you take a shower. The whole room gives a cheap 3 star and below feel and the amenities provided are worser than those in a china motel
- FOOD : Although the dining concepts are great, I agree with the other reviewers that the Angsana & Banyan charges in US Dollars are just plain a revenue ploy. The additional 20% tax added on each tab makes every meal option a terrible tase.The ambience in Banyan are better (Sister property which allows room charging) and the food quality is better than the restaurants in Angsana ; however for an iland resort in Bintan, it's all overpriced and not worth it.
- RESORT FACILITIES : Although the grounds are well maintained and the pool is clean, there is nothing here that suggest it is a world class resort. The daily activities are done in a sloppy manner and the instructor was not only late but lack any real passon for his job.
- SPA : Overpriced ! Although in comparison to spas in Europe and America, you may find this a bargain, understand that you are paying 30-45% more than the other resorts around the island which charges in Sing $
-TRANSPORT : Buggy service provided to Sister Property but anywhere else will incur yourself a charge of more than USD$20.

Overall a very poor value for money selection and yes skip the timeshare presentation. It's a hard sell presentation and you need nerves of steel to enjoy it.

Having stayed at NIrwana, BIntan Lagoon, Mayang Sari and VIllas, I would say this is not a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

Just returned from a 4 day stay at Angsana Resort on our way home from 3 weeks in New Zealand.
Getting through immigration at Bintan was very slow.
The resort on the surface looks very impressive. Nice setting, pool,beach ,palm trees etc. However our room was a bit tired and the bathroom was certainly in need of refurbishment.
Whilst the beach looks nice and has 2 men constantly cleaning up any debris we noticed on our daily walks beyond the cleaned area that a considerable amount of rubbish is coming in from the busy shipping lanes of the South China Sea. Therefore I would not consider swimming in the sea.
You are warned to use insect repellent provided to ward off sand flies but despite using this I was badly bitten every day or night.
Everything is expensive and priced in US$ with a further 20% added on for service charge and government tax. A small beer cost about £6. Cheapest bottle of wine £35. A basic main course meal in the Lotus cafe about £15. Spa treatments start at about £80 for 90 minutes (30 mins of which is relaxing at the end).
When we arrived we were immediately offered an upgraded room ....at a cost of £35 per night. Strangely we weren't told anything about the facilities available but later on our first night a lady rang our room and invited us to a 'guided tour of the resort and presentation of the facilities'. the following day. We were to be given a voucher to the value of 50US$ for attending.This seemed plausible enough and seemed to explain why we hadn't been told much about the resort. We were told the 'tour' would take 90 mins. We met the lady at the foyer and filled in a questionnaire while we chatted. We were then transported to the Laguna Golf Club and dropped off for the next part of our tour/presentation. We were met by another lady who started to question us about types of holidays we went on, how often and general chit chat etc. By this time we had spent over an hour and a quarter without seeing too much of the complex. Then I noticed ,when the girl opened her file to get something out ,the logo of a well known timeshare company. I asked her if this was a timeshare presentation and for the first time she admitted that it was. (She was trying to sell us a timeshare at Laguna Resort in Phuket). I said that we weren't interested and she called over her boss. He was polite and insisted that there was no hard sell etc but he was quite harsh with the girl and at one stage I thought she was going to cry. After this she tried to sell us another timeshare package and after 2 hours we were eventually transported back to Angsana. The original lady who invited us for the 'tour' was nowhere to be seen when we got back so we never actually had a tour of the remainder of the complex and facilities. This left a sour taste with us as we had been tricked. I later saw a few more victims.
On the positive side the pool area is good and the staff are very friendly and polite.
Unfortunately I will not be returning or recommending this resort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McCluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

It's a long time since we stayed at the Angsana Bintan (2005) but I felt compelled to write a review given some of the others on here. We had a fabulous time and still talk about it to this day. I stay in nice hotels a lot with work and holidays...so I have high standards. Yes, the rooms are not amazing, but they were nice, clear and comfortable. When the place you're in is as beautiful why do you need an amazing room? Service was fantastic, food excellent and the Spa was just amazing. Overall...I would totally recommend this hotel. It's also worth saying that the Banyan Tree, double the price, is right next door, shares the same beach, and you can also eat there as it is owned by the same people. We ate there in the treetops one night, and it was fabulous, but felt like we were getting the better deal at Angsana. Things may have changed since then but we loved it

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

We spent 4 days at the Angsana as we were looking for a beach getaway alongside our Singapore holiday. Wow, did we find it! The place is just so reflective and relaxing. Bintan Island is a 45 minute catamaran ride from Singapore and has to be the most beautiful place I have ever been to in my life. The staff were fantastic: overwhelmingly helpful, gracious and friendly. The room was lovely, although the bathroom was a little tired. A little gift was left at our bedside every night of our stay. Breakfast was included in our stay and the choice and quality was excellent. Didnt need to eat again til evening! We ate in the hotel every night but one, when we went to the Banyan Tree next door. The food in the hotel was fabulous, the beach restaurant was so romantic, dining under the stars!! We didnt find the food pricey at all, cheaper than the same standard at home in UK. The drink is perhaps a bit more expensive. The food at the Banyan Tree was more expensive but was also very good. The Spa, fantastic. My husband and I both went for treatments and it is a must have here. We would definately recommend and hope to return for a longer stay as our 4 days wasnt long enough.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KazzyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#4 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
5.6 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Property: Angsana Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing