We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bintan Stopover”
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Ashburton, New Zealand
1
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped over for 3 nights after a long holiday in Europe.
Excellent choice, very friendly staff.
Great pool and beach, very comfortable room.
Found food expensive, and drinks very expensive, compared with both home and Europe.
Wine at $58 US a bottle, is not acceptable after paying about 10 Euro for similar in Europe!
Hope they can address this difference!
Would return one day, but will check out prices.

Retired KIwi Couple.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was our first time in Bintang as we decided at short notice to take a little break to celebrate our anniversary. Due to its proximity to Singapore it's the perfect weekend destination. The Bintang bubble popped during the last great crash in '97, and although there's some new ferry terminals, the feel of the place seems like a faded '90s ghost town. After, say, 10 minutes stepping of the boat we quickly realized Bintang isn't cheap. The exchange rates between the dollar and Indonesian rupiah hasn't changed since the last change of government, so it's great if you have US dollars, but for the majority who came from Singapore you're being scammed by immigration a couple more Sing dollars for a visa. Ergo, if it's endemic even at the top then it follows suit the rest will follow, and so it did.

Not to be dismissive on actual events for fear of boring the reader, the 1 night trip cost us over US1,000, and all without any booze!

The Angsana and sister hotel, the Banyan Tree, are both in need of a facelift. We opted for a one bed suite, all kept well although, nice, open pool, ideal for kids and adults, and a very short walk to the Banyan Tree which is more reserved with nicer restaurants at a similar price. The spa, although again very expensive is very nice. The Angsana restaurants are nothing to write home about, with no light options which would have been nice for morning/afternoon tea. The breakfast was a bit better, The meat selection was poor. other food options were fine.

When you compare these costs with Phuket, you get the picture Bintang is a costly affair. However, if you just need to get to a beach in the fastest possible time from Singapore and Sentosa just doesn't cut it,then I suppose Bintang has its merits.

Room Tip: Restaurants next door at the Banyan Tree are lovely and similarly priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onefootforward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri A, Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Onefootforward,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We would like to utter our gratitude for celebrating your anniversary at Angsana Bintan.

On behalf of all my team, please accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience you were caused during your stay with us recently.

In regards to your comments on the Immigration process, I have addressed the same to the respective division for following up in order to prevent any similar
incident occurring in the future.

I also regret to read your dissatisfaction with our food varieties on offer in our restaurants in Angsana. Our Director of Food & Beverages has been informed to take corrective measures.

I would like to thank you for your positive comments in regards of our room, our pool, our spa, and the quality of food in our sister property Banyan Tree Bintan restaurants.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve our quality of service.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Angsana Bintan.

Sincerely yours,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Our weekend getaway at Angsana was the best in Asia so far!!!! The service is comparible to Four Seasons! Rooms have sea view but need a touch up. The spa experience was awesome and the standard seems to be equal in every country. Breakfast was average. Overall it was a pricey stay but worth every cent! Thank you Angsana for a wonderful weekend, we will be back soon!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolehaake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My stay at Angsana was purely for leisure purpose. We had no plans of moving around in Bintan.

Location wise Angsana is very near to the beach, which was very well maintained. Beach is private with no outsider disturbance.

Swimming pool is a bit small but ok for children to play and enjoy. There is even a kids club where kids can spend time.

Room quality was very good as well as the room service, we had book an one bedroom suite. Restaurant has a fixed menu with very few local dishes, people particular about food shall look for other options in nearby resorts.

SPA was on the expensive side, I expected better quality for the price i paid.
Adventure sports are also on expensive side. Snorkeling is not available, you can rent only the equipment. ATV and Jet Skiing is available along with few other activities.

If you are planning for a relaxed vacation with kids, to enjoy the beach and swimming then Angsana is the right choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

this was our first time to Bintan and I am told that the Bintan Resorts side of the island is all crazy expensive, so I suppose the fact it is probably $200 more a night than the equivalent anywhere else is perhaps a moot point. So lets just say that once i got over the cost i thought it was a great place to stay. Highlights:
-the view onto the sea is gorgeous.
-the private beach is stunning although you run the risk of box jellyfish and at times they have tar issues. None was there (despite the inroom notice) on our visit but i know at times it does get really bad. its from passing ships etc just to remind you that you are on holiday in a shipping channel.
-we had a one bed suite and it was lovely and spacious. all really well kept although probably needs an update in terms of how contemporary it looks given its star level
-fab pool, ideal for kids and adults
-a short walk to banyan tree which is uber beautiful and has nicer restaurants at a similar price
-the spa although again EXPENSIVE is beautiful. if you have an outside treatment just the vista alone is relaxing. they give you 'a comp 30mins' which sounds like a bit of a con, but actually what it means is you get a full hour of treatment rather than the 'getting dressed/undressed' etc biting into your treatment time.
-lovely service
-restaurant/bar on the beach

Lowlights
-average food. nice but no light options which woudl have been nice for morning/afternoon tea. breakfast usual run of the mill stuff, good though. the bbq buffet the first night was very behind as they had to move it due to rain and i thought the meat selection was poor. other food options were fine but just not something i'd rave about. if you stayed for more than three days you would find it frustrating.
-kids club not well promoted and when we rang to do an activity they weren't doing it because no one else had registered. not a big issue for us as we were there for a short time and don't normally do kids club anyway but if you wanted a kids club then I'm not sure this would be so good.

I think we would return though if we were going back to Bintan, or we might really splurge and go to BAnyan tree...although it felt a lot less child friendly, may feel as if always telling them to be quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank Sbroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment (room 141) which cost approx US$770 per night including taxes and the room itself was clean but fairly basic. When we arrived for what was going to be a relaxing beach holiday, we were informed that we couldn't swim in the ocean due to the swarms of nasty jelly fish. To make matters were, when we moved up the the pool, there was a lot of construction noise from the work on the new deck area. Given the new deck area sat above the restaurant, this restaurant (by the beach) was closed most of the time. If you are considering going to the Angsana, make sure you ask them about the status of the construction work because they failed to share this with us when we booked.
Whilst the staff are really friendly and polite, the service itself was incredibly slow. I know I am going to sound really petty, however, after a long day in the sun, I was craving for a freezing cold Corona but all they could give me , and other guests, was luke warm beers. This really drove me mad...how can you run a resort in the tropics and not serve really cold drinks..Arrrgghh !! I am very surprised to see other people rate this resort as excellent because it is average at best, albeit with lovely staff who do their best.

Room Tip: Room 141 was a nice, yet basic 2 bedroom style apartment but was very expensive at US$770 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evansclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri A, Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Evansclan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay at Angsana Bintan on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of all my team, please accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience you were caused during your stay with us.

It is with much regret I read about the unfortunate circumstances of your experience with the jellyfish in the sea.

We have tried recommended techniques to diminish the jellyfish activity which is seasonal in front of our beach. So far we have not seen any results but we are monitoring the activities very closely and always on the lookout for new methods.

Your comments on the santai deck upgrade has been well noted and we are deeply sorry to know that the work spoiled your well-deserved vacation. I am pleased to share that the work has been completed as of 9th July.

Thank you for your positive comments about our associates with regards to friendliness and politeness.
It certainly made everyone proud especially Albeit .

I ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of value to us
to provide the best possible standards to our guest at all times.

I hope you will give us an opportunity of welcoming you again in Angsana Bintan.

Yours Sincerely,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sapporo, Japan
1
Reviewed June 28, 2013

very nice hotel without Concierge. It's was very rate for service in restaurant.
Pool and beach are very nice. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staffs had nice smile and kindness. But the staff of concierge was too young to coordinate any tours.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear A Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.
We were delighted to read your positive comments about Angsana Bintan especially the room, the pool, the beach and our Associates

I have not missed to share your encouraging feedback with the team.

It certainly made everyone proud; on behalf of my team here Thank you very much!

We have noted as well your constructive feedback for the services at our restaurants & at our concierge.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our services.

Once again, we would like to utter our gratitude for sharing your experience with us and
we certainly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Angsana Bintan.

Sincerely yours,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,802 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Bintan Island
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#2 of 8 in Lagoi
211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lagoi Hotel by Nirwana Gardens
1.7 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: $121 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing