We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Exceeded Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Bintan Island
A TripAdvisor Member
“Exceeded Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Travelled to Bintan for a weekend from Singapore with my wife. Although the ferry trip is less than luxurious (not that there is an alternative) the resort itself was excellent.
The general facilities were well kept and very clean and the rooms were also relatively spacious and modern.
The beach is certainly the main draw of the resort and while the hotel had warned of some problems with tar from shipping lanes, we did not experience any such inconvenience (may have been luck but there didn't appear to be any evidence of said tar either).
Staff were polite and attentive (unlike 9/10 places in Singapore).
Only negative comment would be that it is on the expensive side. Being so close to Singapore has probably driven up the price - wine and food was of a similar price to what you would pay in singapore.
Overall, a very nice get-away, albeit on the pricey side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    543
    259
    92
    51
See reviews for
477
526
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The front desk staff left us at the hotel lobby while the house keeping is preparing the room of our request which was supposed to take 30 mins to clean up. However, we waited for about 45 mins till noon time, left hungry and tired with our baggages.

Upon our frustration, they gave us another temporary room while telling us that they will informed us once our assigned room is ready. We waited for another 1 1/2 hours in the holding room just to experience another bad episode. The whole hotel power was cut off and the phone line was off as well. We continued to wait on our humid room until the power was restored but the phone line was still off. All these while, nobody came to us to inform us of the status of the assigned room. We went to the reception desk since the phone line was off to find out that the assigned room was actually a faulty room with the air conditioning down. That's why it took longer than the promised 30 mins to check us in.

My question is, why didn't anyone preempt us that it may take longer than 30 mins while we were waiting at the lobby or in the holding room? There was no communication whatsoever and they just left us waiting and waiting the whole afternoon.

We didn't know if we should go out and have our lunch or take a shower while waiting. This hotel seems too old- broken tiles left unrepaired & the 2 desktop computers at the lobby are out of order are some of the examples.

It seems that they do not have the capacity to operate like a 5 star hotel should but yet charging the price of a 5 star hotel. Hotel food is priced way too high- a plate of Carbonara is Usd 20. 1 way taxi to Pasar Oleh Oleh is Usd 12 !!

Definitely wont come back to this hotel anymore. Will not recommend to anyone out there who doesn't mind paying more for efficient and proactive customer service, because this hotel does not understand the meaning of hospitality.. Disappointed..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Dewymel,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay in Angsana Bintan on Trip Advisor.

We would like to apologize that we were not able to give you a pleasant stay
and memorable experiences what you would have expected in Angsana Bintan.

It is with sincere regret that I note your dissatisfaction with your stay.

Your satisfaction is certainly our priority and your feedback is of great value to us.

Please accept my deepest apology for our failure to provide you the standard of service that Angsana Bintan is known for.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Bintan and
please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can be of further assistance.


Sincerely yours,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel for our weekend break.
The hotel needs up dating. The paintwork in our room was chipped, the bathroom dated, the bath stained, the blind broken etc. The two restaurants were basic, causing us to go to the sister hotel next door, where the Thai restaurant was superb.
The beach was beautiful, but a note in our room saying there is a problem with tar coming from the boats was disconcerting.
Overall the value for money was poor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is essentially a 4 star (at best) resort with a price tag that leads you to expect more - so you do end up disappointed.

There is nothing to do outside the resort. Not even shopping.

The resort itself offers little choice of activities - other than spend time by the pool which isn't big enough for the number of guests; and is not deep enough and not long enough for laps. This said - the spa offers great massages and treatments, some of the best I and my husband have ever experienced.

The food is not that great but is edible. If you are after an enjoyable meal and a stunning view - visit Nirwana Garden Resort Kelong Seafood Restaurant. It is quite pricey like everything in Bintan; but it is actually worth the money.

The verdict - I would rather recommend Bali, or many other locations in Asia, ahead of Bintan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed in room 211. Fantastic staff. Great room, Great pool. Very attentive service. Breakfast was one the best buffets I have ever seen.The pool area is a good way to relax on a hot and humid day, again with stunning and great pool-staff. The food throughout the hotel is a very high standard whether that be breakfast / room service and also the great restaurants.Beds are stunningly comfortable and free wifi throughout is welcome.
I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 506giuseppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Angsana Bintan is only 15 minutes drive away from the BBT ferry terminal. Hotel provided bus transportation to the both directions. Hotel also makes the check-in for the ferry on your way back, which means that you can leave a bit later to the ferry terminal. Property is located at seaside with a long white sand beach. We stayed in one bedroom suite that was clearly worn out. Bed was comfy but air conditioning is very noisy and is likely to cause problems for light sleepers. Pool is nice and in good condition. Recreation lounge is more a joke, it is very worn out and some of the games are simply broken. Pantai Grill restaurant at the beach is having BBQ buffet on Fridays. Beach was in good condition at time of our visit and no oil tart balls was visible. It seems that keeping the beach in good condition is a priority for the hotel. Service is very friendly and prompt but sometimes there is issues with the communication in English, especially outside the front desk. Breakfast had nice selection but everything is not properly cooled and there is flies sitting on uncovered foods. They are fogging the premises twice a week after 23 to keep the mosquito population down. This hotel could use some renovation but the staff is great, always happy and polite, which is very important in this type of resort hotel. All rooms and suites have windows facing the sea but of course the higher floors have better view. Stayed for three nights.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Angsana Bintan was overall a delightful experience. The rooms are nice and service quality in general is quite nice. Our meal requests (off menu) was quite well accomodated by the hotel chefs.

OVerall a good place to stay in Bintan. Slightly on the pricey side, but overall a great destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
24.0 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#10 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Property: Angsana Bintan
Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing