We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ticks all the boxes - except for the cost of food and drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Bintan Island
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes - except for the cost of food and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a big hotel - so lacking the exclusivity of next door co-owned Banyan Tree - but basically very nice: huge pool that's great for kids, good sized very comfortable rooms, extremely warm and friendly staff, a great beach right in front of the hotel, and a handy playroom area for kids. And only 5% of the crowds of similar beach set ups in Phuket etc. And all just 40 minute ferry from Singapore making more expensive trips to Thailand etc largely pointless (unless you're in search of some proper nightlife, which this really doesn't have). Only major downside, other than the 6pm pool closing as mentioned in one of the other reviews, is the ridiculous price of the food and drink - US$8 for a bottle of water, with 10% service and 10% tax on top?? I know hotels with captive markets like to make the most of it - and the hotel's clearly catering to a Singaporean market not an Indonesian one. But come on guys - when you get so much else right, you surely don't want your guests to leave feeling they're ripped off every time they eat or drink (especially as the service in the restaurant by the beach at least is also really pretty slow and inefficient).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    554
    262
    92
    52
See reviews for
488
535
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I really dont get it.

Ok maybe I dont like beaches as much and possibly different interest levels.

However, i think this place is way too over-rated.

To be fair, possibly its more suited to those wanting an adventure vacation and that rest on a beach. But I dont get this place, if this was in SIngapore, it'll probably be rated 3 stars.

I was in the Kings Suite.

Staff ; They were great, always smiling and very helpful.
Breakfast ; Nothing fantastic, very Asian, very Indonesian, choices I found were limited.
Room ; Fully furnished. Top score here except the bed. I am 1.8m tall, and my feet keeps banging against the edge of the bed. First time ever as most new designed beds dont have wood running up that high anymore.
Internet ; So I dont understand how you can charge so much for a room and the internet runs at modem speeds. Worse still, I was here for work and downloading files took ages.
Town ; The nearest tourist town is 10 mins away by coach. Well its very touristy, very !
Beach ; Looks like any other beach to me. Not clear water, rather murky. Strong waves but not strong enough to surf.
Pool ; Closes at 6, yes 6 pm. So forget about those night dips.
Surroundings ; Well you know you are at the heart of nature. No road lights into the hotel, so if you are thinking of night jogs, forget it, you'll just trip over something.
Spa ; I heard its one of the best but I am not really into Spas so I kinda gave it a miss.

This place is rustic so its ideal i think mainly for those who would like to travel back in time and enjoy some quiet time and peace away from the bustling city life.

Probably cool if you are on a honeymoon and would like to chase each other in the room.

The most irritating part is the deposit they deducted from your credit card, after you check out and paid in full, i had to call them to ask them about it. Took them a massive week to refund it back to me. That was certainly a first. When I called my bank, they told me it was not a deposit, they accidentally charged it to my card so they had to reverse the charges.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room to enjoy the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShahrilHarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear ShahrilHarman,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share your review with us.

It is disheartening to learn that you had a less than favorable experience with us, as our commitment is to always provide seamless service and memorable holiday experiences to all, our guests.

We apologize for any service shortfalls that may have resulted in your dissatisfaction with our resort.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan in the future.

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you want a quick getaway from the urbanisation of Singapore and want it to be fairly cheap and cheerful, then you can't go far wrong with Angsana. The smiles from the staff are genuine, the Spa is fantastic and the pool & beach are great. The hotel is fine, albeit it's not 5 star luxury, but nothing to complain about, it's clean and perfectly nice, but some of the extra touches you'd find in a more expensive/exclusive establishment aren't there. (e.g Aircon very noisy, no toiletries like shower caps, etc, a very slightly musky smell in room) but I'm really nit picking. The biggest disappointment is the food, it's ok but it's priced way over the top for what it is, that applies to breakfast, lunch & dinner. Again, fine for the family but don't expect to be blown away with quality. My husband and I opted for a "destination dining" experience at nearby sister hotel bunyan tree on the golf course, overlooking the South China Sea, it was expensive but worth it - the food was of a much higher quality and the experience of private dining was a real treat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I visited the angsana resort bintan with my family on Feb 2013 and to be honest it was one of the most thrilling and relaxing holidays we had ever experienced. This is mostly because of the great hospitality and outstanding service at the hotel. We stayed there for 4 nights and never faced any problems. The friendly smiles on the face of the staff kept us joyou at all times. Special thanks to Benny for his great efforts in keeping us entertained with various activities which he carried out. I fully recommendnthis hotel for relaxation and peace seekers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a fantastic 5 nights we had in the Angsana Bintan. We were looked after from the first minute to the last. The bedroom, pool, beach, hotel staff, food, beach, everything. We stayed there on our way back from Australia after flying into Singapore. Reccomend it to all.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, but first floor better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TONYRED22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

C'mon folks... Just got back from a fantastic vacation at the Angsana Bintan. I'd take the negative reviews below with a pinch of sea salt... They are too harsh! Sure, the facility isn't brand new, but then the room rates aren't premium either. The rooms are very, very comfy, spotlessly maintained and everything that should work, does. The bathrooms are fine... Large and well appointed. The only problem I had there was with the shower angle... The shower head is too low for a tall person, and the water pressure is so-so. The resort itself is lovely... Smack on the beach, and the swimming pool is fantastic... Big, clean and not crowded. Yes, the food is expensive for what you're served. And an after dinner Kahlua on the rocks will set you back about US$14 at the lobby bar.

The Laguna Bintan golf course was fantastic... I had the course to myself (unlike Ria Bintan) and played 6 rounds in 3 days with a knowledgeable caddy and pretty good fairways, including 2 holes right by the ocean. Pure bliss! So my tip to you guys is to go to Angsana and have fun. Be prepared for pricey food. And request an ocean view room... They're worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbaNomad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we arrived at noon way ahead of their check-in time at 3pm, we thought they would allow us to check-in early. However, we sat at the reception area for an hour while they slowly settled the registration, then another 2 hours eating lunch by the beach.

Surprisingly, everything is charged in USD instead of SGD, so it was already comparatively pricier. Food and drinks are average and overpriced. Some facades are not well-maintained, and the smell of ginger lingers throughout the resort. I hate that the spa is fully booked every single hour.

One good point though - we went for dinner and returned to find the room made up and towels replaced! Beach was nice and relatively untouched. Nice swimming pool next to a patio overlooking the beach. Quite a sight in the day.

I would suggest skipping this overly family-friendly resort for couples. Too many kids at all times of the day.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 32 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
24.0 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 32 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#10 of 32 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Property: Angsana Bintan
Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing