We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing but ...problem at the end.”
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 5 days at that hotel early January. We booked a two bedroom suite, the suite was nice with a good view on the beach but we had to call house keeping: the bathtub was dirty...

There is not much to do around but my husband was there for the golf and enjoyed it.
The food was not great and quite expensive for what it was. We are used to Phuket, its great food on the beach etc so we missed the possibility to eat in a small restaurant some nice authentic food. We went once outside the hotel in one of those areas where you have a couple of restaurants organised with a few shops around, not great... tourist trap.

The beach is nice but with lots of tarballs so our soles were black every day, not so pleasant.

What we did not like at all: at the end of our stay one of the glass lamp on the top of the dinning table happened to fall and broke in thousand pieces. We were fortunately out ( golf and massage) when it happened but we could have been badly hurt as we used to play cards below that lamp. We found broken glass virtually everywhere in the room. The hotel tried to charge us for that lamp one week after we were back home! We had nothing to do with that, I spotted that the bulb was missing and it's certainly the reason it fell. They did not replace it and the glass cover had not much to hold on to... That explains why when the house keeping guys came they replaced the 3 bulbs... Anyway, we regret the attitude towards that, never seen that in a hotel before.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IsaWahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Quite unexpected when we arrive our room, the room is very small, we have paid nearly $400 dollars for 1 night (and now it is selling at $300, what's wrong with us to book in advance)

The beach is full of tar, you wont notice until you have back your room to wash your leg, you will find it is difficult to wash away them.

It was a very bad experience when you want so spend some more for a birthday trip, end up you find a "no swimning" signs on the beach, yes you have been to a resort using beautiful sun & beach to attract you but you cannot swim on the beach at all!

Anyways the service here is good, everyone has a good smile on their faces, but those are not great enough for their price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
3  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear JoeT,

Thank you for posting your comments of your recent stay at Angsana Bintan on Trip advisor.

I would like to sincerely apologize that you were not apple to use the beach during your stay with us. Due to the monsoon time lots of debris are being washed on shore. We have a permanent dedicated team on the beach with the responsibility to constantly clean and to keep the beach clean.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the service and our associates smiles on their faces.

Looking very much forward to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan in the future.


Sincerely yours,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our family of four booked 2 rooms, for 2 nights at this resort as a quiet birthday celebration for one of our members.

We really enjoyed the pool, the quiet stretch of clean beach for a nice evening walk. We were also able to patronise Treetops restaurant at adjacent Banyan Tree, with transport between the 2 resorts taken care of by Angsana and a buggy service provided by Banyan Tree. We also spent quite a bit of time in their 'games room' (I'm not sure if the resort has an official name for that place). They provided us with a variety of board games, carrom and table tennis that we could enjoy as a family. Thumbs up to that facility.

I liked the breakfast spread..quite a varied selection and the food tasted good. The staff also pulled out a surprise birthday cake (we had not informed them about the birthday in the family or requested of anything from them) and gathered around our table and sang 'Happy Birthday'. Guess it's standard protocol, cus they did it for the next table too, where there was a little kid celebrating his birthday. It was a good cake too!

The only thing marring my memory of this resort, is the bat that was clinging to my arm while I slept on the first night (We had not opened the balcony door at all as we spent most of our day in the other room. So the bat must have gotten in earlier and hidden somewhere). While I'm an animal lover, this is something that had me running out of the room, frantically calling for room service from the other room (no one at the reception and trying to explain a bat in the room over the phone was a chore). A groggy staff member picked up the bat with a piece of cloth and left the room without a word. An experience that gave me a whole new meaning to being one with nature! :)

Room Tip: Check your rooms for bats or other creatures as the resort is surrounded by vegetation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tourist048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore, Singapore
2
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Me and my partner had a fantastic weekend! We went on an overnight trip just to get away from all the hustle and bustle of the city. We were so relaxed and everything was just wonderful! The staff were very friendly and helpful. I especially love how they put an effort to line our bed with flowers and gave us a free cake in our room because it was our honeymoon. This resort is indeed top class! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A short distance from the ferry terminal, with a nice stretch of beach and surrounding greenery.

Attentive service staff that takes care of the transfer, check-in and transport.

Excellent spa facilities and service.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank arjun_stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

In planning my personal retreat I had 3 criteria: a clean and not crowded beach, a close to Singapore locale and most importantly peace and quiet. Angsana Bintan suited me to a T.

Service-wise, it was for the most part very good. Just that attention to details was lacking in just a couple of areas - e.g when I arrived, for about a couple of minutes there was no one to attend to me although staff were attending to people in front of me and behind me. Also there was an ant floating in my welcome drink. =/ First impression was not that great but for the most part, overall, the service was pretty good.

Room Tip: If you use the spa services, ask for Rara. She was genuine and professional. Also try the in-room di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atinav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Check in was hassle free not to mention the friendly service staffs who greeted you everywhere you go.

The spa was awesome and relaxing though its a little pricey but its worth the money! Thumbs up for the masseurs at Angsana Spa.

Dinner at Pantai Grill was romantic and nice. The setting was beautiful by the beach.

The rooms were spacious and comes with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and sea. Very clean too and most importantly no Mosquitos!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank Sspr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,650 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
596 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
378 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: $116 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing