We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad and expensive food, and a little racist”
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore, Singapore
11
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The food at Lotus restaurant is tasteless and expensive, not worth the money at all. The foreign manager seems to be racist towards Asians.
The room is clean and ok for staying, but the lightings probably needs to be changed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Angsana Resort & Spa at Bintan was definitely what us 2 couples needed, a good relaxing holiday with 5-star spa services. Room was average, old and smelled like stale towels. But overall, good rooms as all of it overlooked the pool and ocean. As for the food, the breakfast line was great - from Indonesian cuisine to French cheeses! We had the BBQ Seafood Night (on Friday) and it was delicious - prawns, fish, squids, chicken wings, pasta, and best of all - bbq crayfish. Rest of our meals were at the beach, menu is so-so. I'd reckon the food at the hotel restaurant would be better as they had Nasi Goreng, Nasi Lemak Pedas and etc. The best experience would be the Angsana Spa - we got the Duet Treatment and Ayurvedic Treatment for 2 hours each, and it was amazing - great therapist and treatment.

I can easily say that a stay at Angsana is far better than Banyan Tree Bintan as BT looks run down!

Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors ie 3rd or 4th floor Make sure that scents are readily available as rooms smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LingC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My girlfriends and I decided to do a long weekend away in Bintan. First of all the check in process was in total disarray, second, our room wasn't ready yet, which was understandable because we arrived at 11am, but was assured that they will look for us by the pool or beach to let us know so we can check in, never happened. Food was good, but the service was incredibly slow. Never once in all our meals we had, did anyone think to bring us a napkin or silverware. Drinks always took 30 minutes or more to arrive, and there was never once an apology. We paid SGD$645 for two nights, and the rooms were decent, but the bathroom had mildew all over and the shower was leaking water everywhere. The sleep was horrible as you can hear all morning people comingin and out of their rooms and their hotel doors slamming shut. How does a hotel at this caliber at the price we paid not notice soemthing like this? Needless to say both nights and early mornings were filled with rude awakenings from the thin walls and slamming doors.

The bathrooms on the property were disgusting, as they all smelled atrocious. There was NEVER enough poolside chairs and beach loungers. If you come around 11am, good luck to you and its not because there is lack of space.

AS our ferry was at 2:30p we asked for a late check out at 1p, which was not granted because others were checking in. We were kicked out of the room 2 minutes after check out time (as we were called on why we have not vacated the room), only to find the check out counter with massive line of people checking out. As we finally were able to check out, the check out person was rude and snappy. We spent over USD$600 for two days betwen two of us, and on top of that what we spent on the room.

The only repreive out of all this is that the spa was excellent and the massage we got, incredible. I would never want to come back here again as was not so much what we spent, as its so close to Singapore, but the service and attitudes of certain people will definitely insure I won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntpham013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear ntpham013,

Thank you for visiting Angsana Bintan and for sharing this important feedback with us.

I am very disappointed to hear that you received less than the usual Angsana Bintan Welcome. We are so very sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory experience.

We pride ourselves on providing outstanding service that comes from the heart, and clearly we missed our mark during your time with us.

I appreciate the fact that you enjoyed the food and the spa treatment.

We discussed your trip advisor review thoroughly during the morning meeting and are using it as an opportunity to improve our services.

We hope that you will consider another visit to Angsana Bintan, and thank you for sharing your review.

Best Regards,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel seems to have been refurbished to some degree. The service and staff are excellent and highly attentive. Some great food, excellent pool, spa and facilities.

The beach is second to none in the region and really is on a par with the best that Bali or Thailand can offer. Food and drink are pricey though and perhaps what you would expect to pay in a higher-end resort than this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
1  Thank Owen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights this week. Service, food and facilities were excellent. Nice pool and beach right in front of the hotel with lovely lounges for relaxing. However, for the price I paid (US$200/night) I was quite shocked about the room. It is in need of renovations/upgrading. There was a smell coming from the drain hole which stank the whole bathroom and the room smelled of damp. It looked old and tired but the view from our 2nd floor balcony was nice.

The only reason why I'd stay here again is because the staff and service was excellent. However, I would be looking at comparing other hotels of similar value to see what else is available that have nicer rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
2  Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Angsana Resort and Spa is where you go to relax. Beautiful view of the beach from all bedrooms. Long beach to walk on. Plenty of activities for everyone. Spa treatments are fantastic.
Cafe for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Plenty of food to be had by all. Saturday Night is Indonesian night in traditional dress. Plus a band who plays while you are dining. Beautiful soft music so you can actually still talk while listening. very enjoyable experience. Staff greet you on arrival and say goodbye when you leave. very personal. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: Corner units are good balconies are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A few colleagues of mine were visiting Singapore on business and decided to take a weekend in Bintan. We chose Angsana and we were very pleased. The staff was that of a 5 Star hotel.. Sergio was extremely helpfull. We took the four wheeler rides through the jungle and realized just how great life could be with the bare necessities. I would greatly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling through.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,722 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#2 of 8 in Lagoi
195 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 37 in Bintan Island
398 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: $120 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing