We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff - gem of a location”
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and staff - gem of a location”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel seems to have been refurbished to some degree. The service and staff are excellent and highly attentive. Some great food, excellent pool, spa and facilities.

The beach is second to none in the region and really is on a par with the best that Bali or Thailand can offer. Food and drink are pricey though and perhaps what you would expect to pay in a higher-end resort than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Owen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    646
    287
    101
    54
See reviews for
566
623
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights this week. Service, food and facilities were excellent. Nice pool and beach right in front of the hotel with lovely lounges for relaxing. However, for the price I paid (US$200/night) I was quite shocked about the room. It is in need of renovations/upgrading. There was a smell coming from the drain hole which stank the whole bathroom and the room smelled of damp. It looked old and tired but the view from our 2nd floor balcony was nice.

The only reason why I'd stay here again is because the staff and service was excellent. However, I would be looking at comparing other hotels of similar value to see what else is available that have nicer rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balwyn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Angsana Resort and Spa is where you go to relax. Beautiful view of the beach from all bedrooms. Long beach to walk on. Plenty of activities for everyone. Spa treatments are fantastic.
Cafe for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Plenty of food to be had by all. Saturday Night is Indonesian night in traditional dress. Plus a band who plays while you are dining. Beautiful soft music so you can actually still talk while listening. very enjoyable experience. Staff greet you on arrival and say goodbye when you leave. very personal. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: Corner units are good balconies are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamou, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A few colleagues of mine were visiting Singapore on business and decided to take a weekend in Bintan. We chose Angsana and we were very pleased. The staff was that of a 5 Star hotel.. Sergio was extremely helpfull. We took the four wheeler rides through the jungle and realized just how great life could be with the bare necessities. I would greatly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling through.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 16, 2012

White beach, sunny day, good swimming pool and relax time. Bintan was more of a family resort than we had anticipated, but despite that, we had a pleasant stay. Staff were friendly and genuine, and always willing to assist.
The beach was beautiful, and a small couch in room, just for a kid. Recommend the good kid-care service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

rest assured it is greed that drives them. I know the resort from 6 years ago. Nothing has changed except that it got older. We arrived in a company of 7, two of which are babies. We had booked 3 three rooms on level 3. Upon arrival on Bintan, we were fetched from the terminal. The staff there is very helpful. The ride takes like 20 min or so. Upon arrival we were told that the rooms were not ready. We had to wait for anther 2 hours + for check-in. The hotel did not appear to be fully booked, I may add. It did not bother anybody that we brought two babies along who were in urgent need of rest. However, finally the rooms were sorted out. Upon completion of the paperwork, the female staff in charge addressed my wife as our helper/maid. That was insulting. My wife was badly hurt. An apology followed, though, after I had demanded a sincere one. My advise: in doubt do not address your guests as maids and helpers (and even if they are maid or helpers, you address them as Sir/Madam or Mr and Mrs/Ms). Anything else is inappropriate.
The rest is quickly told. The rooms are ok, but not 4 stars by any means. The refrigerator was not cold enough simply because it is sitting in a cabinet that does not allow the generated heat to escape. The TV works but the reception is mediocre at best. The air-con in our room (303) did not work properly either for the entire stay. Service personal was dispatched promptly though but the problem was never fully fixed. We gave up eventually. The light in one of the closets did not turn off because the switch was broken with the wiring visible. It is just a matter of time somebody gets electrocuted.
Overall, it is safe to say that the presort and its services are over-priced. Everything is stated in USD, 5 of which you are being charged for a can of soft drink. That is outrages. The same goes for food and any other services. Maybe one has to forget the fact that Bintan is part of Indonesia. It is a place of its own. Rupiah are not welcomed as it would appear.
What I liked is the staff who are extremely friendly and helpful. There are no complains here except for the reception staff as mentioned above. The pool is clean and so are the towels. Even the beach is enjoyable with plenty of activities offered, provided one brought enough cash.
For visitors from Europe or USA the money may be well spent. For those however arriving from Singapore it is suggested to think twice if it is worth the money. The cash spent easily allows one to travel to Thailand, Malaysia or (the real) Indonesia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StabiloLigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Loved our stay at this resort and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. It is fair to say that the place is overpriced, drinks and food in particular stand out as being very expensive. The room was clean but very impersonal and lacking any hint of Indonesian flavour; also the wardrobe and bathroom space, for the size of suite we had, were far too small. The closeness of the beach to the hotel was a fabulous bonus (every day :) and the grill / bar proximity to the beach meant there was no reason to leave the beautiful beach. Other small gripes, there was constantly loud music playing everywhere we went and the service on and around the beach and grill area should have been more proactive. Final complement is for the spa, where we enjoyed the treatments immensely.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie and Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#7 of 36 in Bintan Island
338 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Property: Angsana Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing