We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for room standard”
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We recently returned from Bintan, staying 4 nights at the Angsana in a 1 bedroom and 4 nights in Bintan Lagoon.

The Angsana is definitely overpriced, the rooms are poorly fitted out with extremely uncomfortable beds. The 1 bedroom provided a kitchen comprising of a microwave, 2 burner stove top and some cutlery and plates. There is a standard minibar fridge and no additional cookware or utensils proving any meal preparation difficult. Access to food items is also a problem as there are no supplies available on site and transportation is expensive. The resort charges US dollars for everything and offers limited facilites. The beach is attractive and well groomed with good sea sport facilities. The restaurant lacks inspiration although the food is a reasonable standard.

The resort staff are very professional and are always happy to help in a friendly and polite manner.

We personally will not be returning as the bed was so uncomfortable, we were not able to relax during our stay due to lack of sleep. The staff did try and provide additional padding but this did not rectify the problem.

3  Thank Kiwisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,597)
There are newer reviews for Angsana Bintan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2007

The Angsana hotel is part of the Banyan Tree group, although cheaper than the Banyan Tree. At Bintan, the Angsana and the Banyan Tree share a lovely beach with powdery white sand and shallow, calm blue water.

Having recently moved from London to Singapore, we stayed at the Angsana in Bintan for 3 days and cannot recommend this hotel enough! The service is the best we have experienced in any hotel across the world we've stayed in. Without exception, every person working at Angsana was incredibly customer service oriented. This culture extended to the Banyan Tree next door, which we visited a couple of times to dine at the restuarants there.

What amazed me even more was that we were there during the Muslim holy month of Ramadan (which means Muslims fast from dawn to dusk - many do not even consume water). The guys serving us at the open restaurant on the beach were sweating profusely and yet serving us (we were sitting under a shade having an ice cold drink and sandwiches) with a smile, trying really hard to do whatever they could to make our stay memorable, while many of them were fasting till the evening!

Regarding the hotel facilities, everything's again excellent - there are two restaurants and one cafe at the Angsana (one of them on the beach) serving Indonesian, sea food and some European food (pizzas, pasta etc). The one on the beach is fabulous - we loved having lunch there, on the white sand. The Banyan tree is right next door, which gives you access to three more restaurants (one of which does not admit children under 12). Excellent food at all of the restaurants.

The pool area is lovely - comprises a large pool and a shallow kids pool. Additionally the hotel has a 'kids club' from 9 to 5, offering various activities. The activities seem fun enough for kids, but it really depends on whether there are other kids joining in - on one of the days, the club was empty. The next day there were half a dozen other kids, due to which my five year old son had a fabulous half-day there (indoor and outdoor activities).

If there's one small fault I can think of, it is that the hotel could do with a minor makeover. Dont get me wrong - there are no major issues here (such as dirty rooms and toilets). But the hotel does look like its been around for a few years.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sradha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

The Bad...

- Room had a musky smell.
- Air-con and in-room fridge were noisy.
- Squeaky Bed Frame
- Dirty TV + Remote (Both had very very obvious Stains)
- MOSQUITOES in the public areas (Our room had mosquito repellent, so it was okie)

The Good...

- Staff were very friendly, Greetings were flying everywhere
- SPA - THIS IS GOOD
- Beach - clean, soft, powdery sand. Sea water was quite clear (Spotted a few jelly fishes floating here and there, so do be careful when swimming)

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Assirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Excellent hotel in a lovely location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Right beside the beach, pool and grounds very nice. You are limited to 3 restaurants which are all very good. There are no shops etc in the surrounding area. Free bottled water is supplied in the rooms. The room itself is very nice but the bathrooms are in a bad state i.e. mouldly grouting/cracked tiles. I would stay here again though

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank ilockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Just returned from 7 nights at Angsana (after spending 8 nights at Bintan Lagoon down the road) and wow, it fully deserves its 4 stars. We stayed here 3 years ago and loved it, but this time they really ramped up the service aspect. On arrival our photo was taken and we were told it was for the file, but after being addressed by name by every single member of staff, every day for 7 days, we realised they must have all studied the photo & memorised our names! It really does make you feel very special. The beach is lovely at Angsana and a really safe swimming bay, which is good considering the pool is a little small. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite - why I don't know - as we booked a normal room online at their standard rate. Maybe return visitors get extra attention (unlike at Bintan Lagoon!. ). It really is a gorgeous place with sensational staff.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bellyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

what to say....... me + wife+2 daughters had booked (and obtained confirmation) the Angsana Suite but at arrival they had no more available, after complaint they magically found one but left us waiting for 3 hours for proper "cleaning" of the room, the restaurants of the hotel are not so good and they invite you to book (no booking no food) at the Banyan Tree restaurants, till now everything ok if not for the fact that in 2 of the restaurants Kids are allowed to eat maximum at 19.00, after that you will be leaving your kids starving and at the third restaurants kids and pets are not allowed at all !!
Beach is not bad if not for millions of mosquitos, the staff is not so bad but VERY slow..... 30 minutes for a cappuccino and 45 minutes for a simple glass of hot milk !!
At the end of the day it's a 3 star hotel with nothing around if not for the Banyan Tree that seems all another story.....

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GDP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

If you intend to hold conferences or travelling with a big group to Bintan, Angsana is not the place to stay. This resort simply does not know how to handle big groups. This resort is for those who want peace and quiet.
Our group of about 70 people stayed in this resort mid July for our teambuilding activity. During dinner and games night, the staff kept reminding us to be quiet. How do you actually get 70 people to be quiet? We started dinner at 830pm, by 11pm, all lights at the barbecue dinner were turned off by the staff. The bar closes at 10:30pm.
The food during our 3 days stay was nothing to write home about either. Selection was limited on the buffet tables and the food itself was ordinary tasting.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravellerManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,618 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
23.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
180 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang | Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: $119 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing