We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we have stayed in ever!”
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we have stayed in ever!”
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights over Chinese new year with our two daughters aged 12 and 10 in a 2 bedroom pool villa. The villa was amazing with huge covered seating area by pool, stunning infinity pool overlooking sea, 2 sumptuous bedrooms both ensuite with outside baths too, outside jacuzzi and dining area and kitchen. Great accommodation which we loved together with all the hotel facilities - lovely pool, fab beach, good restaurants etc. You get about the resort by buggy which was great fun - only snag was once or twice we had to wait more than 5 mins for one - can't believe I'm complaining as pretty good really. We also used the tennis courts by the golf club - could do with resurfacing soon and some floodlights would be great but absolutely fine. Spa was excellent and we all loved our treatments. Only 45 mins by ferry from Singapore - recommend Emerald Class as you get on/off quickly and immigration done for you. Quite pricey but then excellent facilities, amazing villa, good food etc - so worth it. Will hopefully be back next year for more of the same.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodwoodSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    396
    171
    70
    43
See reviews for
450
820
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed for two nights in a bayfront pool villa on a layover from Singapore to the Maldives. The villa had a fantastic unobstructed view of the ocean and a small island and was just as expected - clean and well-maintained. The staff were charming and service was up to standard for a 5-star resort. The beach was excellent for walking and is actually quite private - not many people were there. There is a resort next-door, but you cannot really tell to be frank. No problems with insects at all. I notice there were complaints from others on here that the food is poor but we did not think this to be the case at all. We ate breakfast in the restaurant as it was included and it was just fine, with plenty of choices and fresh food. The Thai restaurant was quite good as well, though a tad on the expensive side so not so good value for money. Room service was excellent. Above all the staff in all venues were top-notch. We will return in future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrus3325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

I stayed at several Banyan Tree hotels and this one was by far the worse one.

I arrived at the hotel on a Saturday. Welcome at the ferry station was all right and a car was waiting for me. Check in was quick and efficient and I could smoothly go to my bungalow, an "Ocean View". Then the disappointment!
While I understand the idea to preserve the natural surrounding, I could only hardly see the ocean given the number of trees in front of my windows... But this was not the worse. A number of things are in my view not acceptable in luxury hotels such as the Banyan Tree resorts (also considering the price charged: more than USD 500 a night):
- Wanted to have a drink upon my arrival: not a single glass was clean in the room! I had to order some to room service and of course to wait for a rather long time...
- Watching the view allowed me to see ... the waste water evacuation pipe below the bungalow! Not sure this is very hygienic...
- Thought to try the jacuzzi: terrace was not ready and no towels were available...
- Electronics in the room is furthermore below average (small old TV, no iPod station, ...)
- Coming back from dinner, it took me sometime to open the bungalow as switching on the light requires to insert a card (that is tied to the room keys) outside the room in a dark area... Wondering whether this is really making sense...

Also, going to the beach (a Sandfly-infested one as all of them in the area) requires a buggy since it is shared with the next hotel (same ownership). And it seems the hotel in under a Changi Airport approach route: so there are a number of planes flying around (not too noisy though).

Finally, the bungalows do need some renovation as they really look old.

Now everything wasn't dark... The resort location is great and provided the kind of things written above are solved, the place could be what is should be: a sanctuary in the jungle. There are lots of life around (including that monkey than came to see me while reading in my room - it was on the other side of the windows! - quite surprising! but nice). Food is great. And the spa is very good (as usual at Banyan Trees)

But above all, staff is fabulous! Thanks to them, I could relax anyway over my short stay...

In short, as long Banyan Tree management is not undertaking serious renovations, avoid this one for now unless you can bargain a good price...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Dear Swissdiver,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review regarding your stay at Banyan Tree Bintan. Your comments are highly appreciated as they guide us on how to better service our guests.

It was great to read that you had a relaxing stay during your holiday despite the incidents that have blemished your impression of the resort.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas that have not met your expectations. We have an on-going maintenance program to keep the resort in its original beauty, this includes its secluded natural habitat.

I have discussed with our Executive Housekeeper the issues you mentioned concerning the amenities in the villa. Do rest assured that these are not on par with our normal high standards set by the resort and corrective actions have been implemented.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and for spending your holiday with us. We look forward to your next visit, giving us an opportunity to regain your confidence in our lovely piece of paradise.

Kind regards,

Andrew Langston
Area General Manager
Banyan Tree Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Very romantic with villas in the coastal rain forest overlooking the South China Sea.

Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MariettaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed here in Sept 08 for a long weekend & can't wait to go back again for a special treat one day. Yes it's expensive & the villa's were in need of a renovation, there's no denying that, however we believed it was still worth every cent.

The rooms were a little on the dark side, however were very clean and well maintained. The jacuzzi area could do with a spruce up, but again it didn't negatively affect our trip in the slightest. We enjoyed spending every afternoon in the jacuzzi with a bottle of champagne, watching the sunset. No better way to end the day in our opinion here.

The service of the staff everywhere was definitely 5* - whenever you ventured down to the pool area, you were immediately greeted with some cold bottled water, cold scented towel for your face and even little satchels of sunscreen and mozzie repellent (which you definitely need on the island). When you go to the beach area, you can also help yourself to sunscreen and even 'cooking oil' (otherwise known as tanning oil!) as well as towels.

All the restaurants were lovely and the food was outstanding - we are well travelled having been to 21 countries now and this resort would be in our top 5 places as far as service goes. The villa's are private and secluded, ideal for a relaxing and romantic trip.

We also took the opportunity to pay for the 'destination dinner' on the beach. During the day we watched as they erected a frame that had flowing white drapes from the top and a massive double fouton/bed in the middle. They only do one per night so you are literally the only ones on the beach eating, just book it early. Your chef stays a respectful 50m away and you have a bell to call when you are ready for your next course, so you can be as intimate as you like! We had a traditional Inonesian feast with about 15 different small dishes - 10/10, it was amazing and worth every cent again. We also played gold on the championship course - hard but fantastic with one hole even involving hitting over the ocean!

Would highly reccomend this resort to any couples wanting some relaxation and romance - probably not that much to do if you were here for a while or with kids though. Our long weekend was just enough to love the place and leave happy & contented.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelling1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

After some fairly hit and miss reviews I was not building my hopes up too much for our stay here (2 adults, 1 toddler, 1 baby), however from the moment we entered the grounds I was extremely impressed. We had a two bedroom villa with private pool and spa, by far the largest accomodation I have ever stayed in. The villa is set out in a courtyard style, with the pool in the centre, together with a large lounge area, covered and uncovered dining areas, kitchen, and a spa at the cliff edge. The two bedrooms were actually two independent buildings with separate bathrooms, etc.

The villa itself was at the highest part of the resort (the resort mostly being built on a cliff) and faced the bay rather than the open sea. This suited us better as it meant we got to see the sunsets, and were sheltered from the more extreme weather. You can walk between the various resort facilities, but we preferred to use the buggies as they were quick, and the paths\roads were quite narrow.

There are three resteraunts there, all serving great food during our stay. I noted that many previous guests had complained about the food - all I can say is we had no issues with any of it, although we agree that Tree Tops is the best location - and thought the band was great. The Christmas Eve dinner was especially good with carol singers and christmas puddings!

The beach area was fantasic for young children. Even with the resort 80% full, it was very quiet. The sea was calm and warm, and the beach very well maintained. The only time when we really noticed how full the resort was was at breakfast - after the first day we had breakfast in the villa.

There are a few areas where I could understand some visitors would not be happy compared to other Banyan Tree resorts. It is quite an old resort, and probably doesn't have the same facilities as say the Banyan Tree Phuket where I have been several times, altough I found the villas in Bintan to be more comfortable. There were quite a few chidren around - if you wanted a romantic holiday, possibly not the best location. The staff are wonderful and professional, but not quite as refined as at Phuket - that is not a real criticism, just an observation. Finally, the web site does not in any way do justice to this resort. It may be the lighting, or whatever, but the photos I have seen could almost be of somehwere else - I've deliberately not uploaded any images because they suffer from the same problem.

A note to travellers, get the emerald class ferry seats and let the resort know when you are comming - completely skipped the immigration queues, but be warned, they need to take your passports which was a very scary thought.

All in all this was a wonderful resort, far better than I had hoped for and somewhere I cannot wait to return to. I'd say it's more suited to younger families than couples - if you want a romantic and luxurious break, then head to Phuket, otherwise Bintan proved to give me and my young family one of the best holidays we've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheClairvoyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

At Banyan Tree resorts you are treated like royalty. The service is fabulous, villas maintained to rigerous standards and the whole package makes a for a wonderful treat. We stayed in a Villa on the rocks for a long weekend in august. Palacial and impeccably presented, we had no complaints. Double bathrooms, jacuzzi, well stocked bar and free wifi made for a real haven. The massages are splendid, if a little overpriced, and the pools were quiet and afforded great views. Any longer than 3 days and we would have been a little bored as the resort is designed with relaxing in mind. There aren't many options for exploring, unless you are a golfer. We had Dinner on the Rocks, a special dining experience and highly recommended If you have something to celebrate. Your meal takes place on a cluster if rocks about 50m out to sea. Access is via a candle lit wooden pier. Very romantic.
Dont visit Banyan tree if you have an issue with spending vast quantities if money or are going to feel guilty fir doing so. We spent he equivalent if an average Indonesian salary over our three day stay and realising this somewhat took the edge of it for us.
Nevertheless, Banyan @ Bintan is a must do if you can. You won't forget it!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,581 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
583 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#8 of 36 in Bintan Island
338 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Property: Banyan Tree Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing