We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good stay”
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Bintan Island
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Me, my 2 yr daughter , my mom stayed in seafront villa 104. 1.When we checked in, staffs are so busy to greet and one lady staff showed us one reception room to sit in where everyone was sitting, she didn't mind whether we got a place to
sit.
2. Getting a buggy is longer than waiting for food we ordered.72 villas but only few buggies.
3. Staffs : personally feel they are overloaded with work, so chance to smile or talk to us who are over excited about the stay. I feel hospitality is just 10% which lots of improvement. No bond which u advertise.i m a person who talk in reception , explore more things and get to know them and their family even. But here, no talks jus straight answers to what we ask.
4. Booked in banyan resorts for main reason for doin the rainforest spa. To my shock, they say no therapist despite u have 4 spa villAs exclusively for this. I asked for rejuvenate spa , they say not available. So spa menu is big but only few services.
5. Food: saffron was really good taste. Cove is italian by name. I have been to italy. So I know italian standards. price, even America restaurants can't beat.
6. Safety: I was staying a seafront villa with a bed room down the villa.( basically two floored). My mom wished to stay down alone. In that room windows are full length, of which one window door Is repaired. Imagine how I felt when I have 2 yr old daughter and jus it's a jungle and sea beneath the repaired window.
After the first room service, when we came I seriously gave up when u saw my suitcase was open thru zip with zip keys still locked. Thank god I didn't keep any valuable in it.
My mom said she heard knock at her door second night for nearly an hour( she was so afraid she told me only after reaching singapore). She was afraid to open the door. There is no phone or intercom between rooms which unacceptable. What if some thief came in or if they not feeling well.?? How can communicate?
7. When we checked out, the person billing asked us to pay for a coke which was not kept when we came in. It's not easy to pay 5usd for the drink we didn't have. It means it was not checked properly when we checked in.
8. Drivers: drivers are not friendly, may be don't know English. Not even smiling. We don't expect guide atleast please talk we don't about bintan!!!
9. Gallery: getting products from Thailand and pricing 30 fold money is extreme.
10. Expensive: staying for 3 days 2 nights and paying 3000 usd is too much.
11. Good things
- location
- spa treatment ( did rain mist finally)
- saffron food
- pools
- access from singapore
12. Beach after 7 is very lonely . Not even one staff around. Felt really unsafe.

My comment will not affect a such a big resort but can surely of help a few I guess.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IMHOTEPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear IMHOTEPS,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.
I am very sorry to hear that we have fallen short in meeting your expectations.

Being located in a secluded location amidst rainforest and with a stunning view of the ocean we have challenges in getting produces into our resorts. Despite the nearby Singapore, we cannot import our produces directly from there that we have to purchase through other ports in Indonesia with tremendously high delivery cost, handling fees and local taxes. Let me assure you that we are trying our upmost to find other solutions to get better quality products at reduced prices and that any savings will reflect in our prices.

Your feedbacks have been looked into very seriously; kindly rest assured that I have shared them with the concerned heads of department for a necessary follow up.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for another chance of enjoying the true experience of Banyan Tree Bintan.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,802 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is my second visit to this resort. The last experience 5 years ago was wonderful with a speedy check in and services. This check in was really unpleasant. We were left waiting at the lobby for more than 2 hours expecting to check in to a thoroughly clean room since they explained they need 3 hours for cleaning. 1st disappointment was checked into a one bedroom villa with "spiderwebed" toilet with used underwear in the drawer and moldy outdoor shower area. The house keeping service was terrible too. We asked for mosquito coil for at least 5 times through phone but the coil didn't arrive even on the second day.

The most unpleasant experience was the invasion of the monkeys.! No pre warning from the staff that there are monkeys around the villa, we woke up with a messy kitchen and pool, the kitchen door was closed before we went to bed. Our food that we prepared for the birthday celebration was totally gone. The aggressive monkeys not only open the kitchen door but the cabinet and consumed the snack and food in the cabinet left the alcohol untouch. :)

Nevertheless, I have to give the 2 managers in charge the credit on the recovery of our messy room in shape and arrangement.

The overall stay is still consider satisfactory despite these hiccup.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Lynn1903,

I am terribly sorry that your villa was not ready when you arrived with the 11 am ferry. I hope you understand that our official check-in time is at 3 pm to allow the Housekeeping team refreshes your villa after departing guest left at check-out time of 12 pm. In the occasion when your villa category is available, we do our upmost to accommodate early check-ins.

Of course, we do make all our facilities available whilst waiting and that also include a changing room. Please accept my apology should the information didn’t reach you.

Being surrounded by a tropical rainforest, we indeed face challenges with the wild lives including monkeys. We have never had an issue with aggressive monkeys before. Nevertheless, your case has been looked into seriously and a necessary follow up is in place to prevent such situation reoccur.

At the end of the day, I am glad that the hiccup didn’t defect you entire stay experience with us.

I look forward to have you back with us again in the future.


Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Beautiful villa within the hills of Bintan. A must stay. We took family and had the villa with our own pool and butler Andy. He was a nice, genuine and helpful employee and an absolute joy to be around. Would be romantic with my husband alone but was still relaxing with my children. The spa was one of the nicest so far! Thank you!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank TaraH746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Tara H,

Thank you for sharing a lovely review about your stay with us.
I have shared you comment with Andy; he was very happy to hear that he had managed to exceed your expectation and made your stay a relaxing one.

I am also glad that our spa has also lived up to your expectation and I look forward to have you back with us sometime in the future.


Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A very charming resort nestled in a tropical forest setting. Great food and excellent service. The beach is calm and perfect to relax in. So easily accessible from Singapore that it makes a perfect getaway. A great resort for walks and beach activities. Do take a trip to the Mangrove forest.

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront villa. They have great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vidya0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Vidya0704,

I am truly happy that our great food and excellent service topped with the easy access from Singapore made us a perfect getaway for you.

Wrapped with a lush tropical rainforest overlooking a stunning view of South China Sea we offer a world of nature charm where you can relax and unwind.

Thank you for staying with us, I look forward to welcoming you back again to Banyan Tree Bintan in the future.


Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was extremely disappointing and we checked out early (after only 2 nights) because it was an absolutely awful experience.
The property has an outwardly nice appearance but the problems begin when you check in. Service was extremely slow - long waiting times for buggies, an hour wait for towels in the room and other requested items. The room was full of bugs and even lizards; I expected lizards in the resort but not on the ceiling and walls of the rooms themselves! On the first night I noticed that the mosquito net (which are on every bed in the resort) was dirty, with some sort of dark stains. Bed sheets also were not clean to a satisfactory level.
They do not serve water/ice buckets as part of the beach service, which is pretty standard for a 5 star resort and towels of previous guests are not frequently replaced.
The only positives of this hotel are the beach and the helpful manager, who allowed us to check out early without any additional charge.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Annie O,

Allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you have endured during you stay with us.

I have noted your feedback on the service; please be rest assured that a retraining has been done as a corrective measure.

Being surrounded by a lush tropical rainforest, we indeed have challenges in managing the wild lives including bugs and lizards. It is unfortunately common in tropical country like Indonesia to have small lizards on the walls as they are the natural predators of mosquitoes. We do fogging on regular basis to minimize insects and bugs without harming the natural environs.

I hope you will give us a second chance to reinstate our value in your faith sometime in the future.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had the pleasure and delight to enjoy Banyan Tree villas on a team building occasion with colleagues... and my only comment is wow.
We enjoyed the spa, the villas and the private dinning experience... So great!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruben U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Ruben U,

Thank you for your lovely comment on our resort.
I am glad that we were able to deliver the true experience of Banyan Tree Bintan to you.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the resort in the future.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed two nights. It is a nice resort perfect for relaxation. The room were perfect with a really nice bathroom. The staff is very service minded. The food is good in both Saffron and tree top restaurant. The pool areas is nice, and the beach and snorkelling is good. We enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bjarte75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Bjarte75,

It is delightful to hear that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. I am very happy that your meal experience at Saffron and Treetop exceeded your expectation.

Allow me to thank you for choosing to stay with us. Hopefully I will see you return next time for another relaxing stay.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,700 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#2 of 8 in Lagoi
211 reviews
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Bintan Island
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
2.4 mi away
Grand Lagoi Hotel by Nirwana Gardens
2.1 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: $387 - $957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing