We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise but it does have a price”
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Paradise but it does have a price”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on the recommendation of a friend. It was just like being in paradise.
I stayed in a sea view villa with its own outdoor jacuzzi and small pool, villa 510. It was so quiet and secluded, I just spent most of the time relaxing on my lounger and reading
The staff couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating. I was always ordering a buggy to take me from one place to another ant they didn't seem to mind. This also has it's downfall, as my villa was a long way from the library, restaurants, pool and spa. It was just too hot and humid during the day to do the hike and a night it was pretty dark with all the night time wildlife out. So it was actually an effort to go to the pool for a swim, at 20 minutes walk from your villa
My air conditioning wasn't working one evening, but they sent maintenance straight away and my room was cool again in 30 minutes
The food was ok, not superb but pretty good, although it was expensive. It was nice to eat breakfast outside and they served until 10.30am so plenty of time for a lie in
One evening they brought dinner to my villa and set up the table outside. This saved me the hike to the restaurant
Transfers were quick and reliable, just email the hotel before you arrive. It's only 25$ return trip and they sort out your boarding pass for the return trip. I even left my mobile charging in the library but they brought it to me within 15 minutes and before the ferry left
This really is luxury in paradise, but it doesn't come cheap, but I suppose you get what you pay for, peace and tranquility. You really don't need to come into contact with other guests, if you want to be completely alone. You can get a reasonable deal, if you shop around
Try out the spa, I can highly recommend it
If I had been there longer, I would have tried out some of the day trips
All this and only 45 minutes by a comfortable ferry from Singapore. But make sure you take lots of insect repellant. The Mosquitos are ferocious!

Room Tip: If you can afford, the more expensive rooms, they will give you more of a luxurious stay in paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear lisasplaces,

Thank you for putting your comments up on Trip advisor and I am delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay with us. Your kind remarks of our associates will be passed on to them on our notice board - we are indeed very proud of them and your comments reinforce our belief into their professionalism.

I am glad that our buggy service got you to places, unfortunately having the unique seclusion of your villa has its downside and it is my sincere hope that this did not inconvenience to much.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,


Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Banyan Tree Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    384
    170
    70
    42
See reviews for
410
797
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Unobtrusive luxury in the middle of sea and lush green tropical rainforests, it was simply divine! The staff were more than willing to serve and quick to retreat to give u the sense of privacy.. Considering that there is no air fare involved the 2 day retreat from Singapore was just awesome

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Devdban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Devban,

Thank you for your comment. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the unique setting of Banyan Tree Bintan.

We are proud of our team here and your comments endorse our belief into their dedication and professionalism.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another mini vacation.

Sincerely,


Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Banyan Tree Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I went with my wife for our 10th anniversary, we spent 4 nights in a sea front villa, with all objectivity the hotel is wonderful, staff is extra helpful and cheerful, they respond instantly to any request, the beach is the main highlight , pools are wonderful too and restaurants are ok. The main drawback is the huge number of lizards all over the walls, and the worst thing is the bats ....yes bats are hanging over the ceiling of the outside deck to the extent that we were scared to use the villa relaxation pool and we ended up paying $600 a night for a room that we have never enjoyed ,,,,,it was a relief that we were out most of the day. If you are a night person be aware that life stops once the sun set , you have nothing to do but eating out in one of the 3 restaurants or go for a massage ....after seeing Angsana hotel, next to Banyan and knowing it is a sister hotel ( shared facilities ) I would highly recommend staying over in Angsana and just try one of banyan restaurants one day. Angsana is almost 40% cheaper and bats free er

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear A Trip Advisor Member,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Banyan Tree Bintan. As you rightly have pointed out, our unique setting in the jungle is also our biggest challenge. We are addressing the bat issue at the moment without harming the animals and disturbing the natural environment.
I am truly sorry that this has affected your experience and am disappointed that we have failed to move you into villa which is not exposed to the fruit bats.

It is my hope to be able to welcome you personally back in either Angsana Bintan Hotel or in our Banyan Tree Bintan Villas.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Banyan Tree Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Banyan Tree properties never our expectation but this one totally has turned us down.

The rubbish bin is not cleared even after the house keeping went in. Besides, the bath towels were taken away and not replaced.

Another night here to spend over a night, I wish some peace of mind will be provided.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anyabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Anyabon

I am really sorry to hear that our Housekeeping team has failed in your villa and understand that this has been a letdown during your stay. I wish we could have rectified it on the spot to avoid you leaving from Banyan Tree Bintan with a bitter feeling. Let me assure you that we are focusing on the consistency of our staff and I will use your comment to review where we have gone wrong. Once more accept my apology and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to proof that your negative experience has been an exception.


Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Banyan Tree Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Short journey from Singapore. Excellent pick up and reception. Stayed in Seasview villa with private infinity pool and 2 separate rooms. Personalised service from villa host. Overall impressive team of staff who are friendly and helpful. Food is good. Pricey but nevertheless a good weekend staycation with all the convenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
223 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It is always exceptional to have your own bungalow with a private jacuzzi on a big terrace, on a cliff overlooking a crystal clear sea, white sandy beach and palm trees. What can ask you more? It was just a dream come true. Banyan tree, please come to Europe! I had to chance to benefit of a good package with a decent price, otherwise the place is quite expensive, but quality as such as a value...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotteurmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall a very expensive hotel for the level and quality of its facilities. Out first time at a Banyan Tree and this did not match out expectations.
Rooms are niceish but old and food is average and faculties getting old.
I guess for half the price it would have been good but at $700 a night a definite disappointment.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Blondin0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,536 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
569 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
5.8 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Property: Banyan Tree Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing