We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday surprise, worth the price!”
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Bintan Island
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend. I wanted to surprise my husband but ended up getting pleasantly surprised myself!

Lovely room set-up, service was truly impeccable, view of the ocean was breath-taking (Villa on the rocks), the spa treatment was amazing (Esther is a very skilled masseuse), breakfast buffet at The Tree Tops was delectable and was a good spread but all in all, the villa was luxurious and well-maintained.

However we felt that the food quality needs to be seriously improved to justify the hefty price tag. We had lunch at The Tree Tops and Thai for dinner at Saffron and was not too impressed with the taste (especially at Saffron).

We were thankful for the private pool in the villa but it would have been better if it was cleaned before we checked in. There were leaves and dirt in the pool which was not too enticing for me (but my husband did not mind at all).

The public pool near the beach was lovely and we spent much of the mornings lounging in the sun. However it would have been nice to have some background music being played (like those in the spa). I must say the service staff at the pool were very attentive to our needs.

Will we ever consider going again? Definitely, but, we may not eat in unless it comes with the package.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mariam170201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Bintan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked last minute as an interesting detour during a family holiday in Singapore, 6 and 4 year old with us. Ferry ride booked online with Bintan Resort Ferries, was easy and inexpensive (on arrival paid US$10 pp (or Sing $ equiv) for a short stay visa). Met by resort reps at ferry port and car arranged the resort within minutes.

One bedroom villa, sea view. Inside was tight for the 4 of us, but fine for a short stay. Some small signs of wear and tear, but well kitted out. Outside, jacuzzi wasn't working on arrival but fixed quickly - the one we had was cold water only, and as you would expect a fair amount of wildlife - lizards, insects, bats in the evening - so not entirely relaxing. Great views.

Had great fun at beach swimming in the warm water, collecting sand dollars, watching wildlife (inc, large monitor lizards which come very close) and jet skiiing. Setting is ideal, and we were lucky with the weather during our short stay. Poolside service is good, food options a little basic / largely western - fine for kids.

Had BBQ in villa for dinner, food very good and price ok given quantity. Wine options decent but very expensive.

Breakfast was also very good, extensive buffet including good selection of local options alongside the common fare. Charged a full adult price for the 2 kids, but they probably ate their money's worth.

Didn't leave the resort, so can't comment on the wider area. Overall, an expensive detour but worth it for the experience. Would return for a short trip if staying in Singapore, for longer stay would consider the adjacent Angsana resort which shares some facilities with the Banyan Tree but might be better for families.

Room Tip: We were in villa 502 which was a reasonable distance from anything - buggy rides can be ordered on r...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We live in Singapore so visited at a weekend via Ferry. In Asian terms this is overpriced and so I have rated just average. We had a pool villa with ocean view but the room was quite dark once you closed blinds for privacy. Recent modifications are minimal only like rain shower. The evening had fruit bats flying around our balcony and in the morning there was lots of bat poo all over the deck. Food is expensive and average quality and breakfast is disappointing with a small selection relative to other 5 star properties we have stayed at. Go to the sister property next door for excellent grilled seafood at much better prices. Also I notice the hotel bills in USD and not Indonesian currency which is a little naughty currently as the Indonesian currency has depreciated. Staff very friendly on the positive side.

Room Tip: You need a pool villa with ocean view minimum
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore, Singapore
1
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at Banyan tree for three nights but could easily have stayed longer. It is a great destination for families who like the beach and water sports. Beach is clean and ocean is calm and clear. Lots of colourful fish to see. The staff couldn't do enough for us, especially Hendra who was always available to assist. Our 87 year old grandmother came too and was treated like royalty. Staff were great with our teenage children too! The two bedroom villa we stayed in was spacious and provided beautiful views, although it is starting to show signs of its age. Still, the furnishings were luxurious and we were more than happy to spend time in the villa, and relax around our private pool. We hope to make it back again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore, Singapore
11
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Difficult to know where to start from the friendly and helpful welcome at the ferry terminal to check in and all the attention showered on us by our villa host (Hendra) this was a fantastic experience of Indonesian hospitality at its best.

Watersports and accommodation were wonderful and beach is safe for all ages

Other activities golf etc available

Kids menues in every restaurant

We will certainly return

Thanks Stefan and Hendra for a great break

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Pool Villa - Seaview room. Check-in was comfortable as they welcome you with lemongrass ginger drinks and towels. The room was very romantic. Amenities can be better quality. The slippers and robes were nice. Towels were clean and soft. Bedding was perfectly white and clean. When we kept the door open, a squirrel came in. They are so quick but you know they came in because half eaten fruits/peels can be found on the couch/floor. We had a big opening between the sliding door and door frame which explains how they came in again the next morning. Housekeeping quickly covered the space the same day and made sure we didn't have any more friendly visitors. Despite being 90% booked, you will not see any unhappy or uncourteous faces. They were quick on their feet and always gave us a smile.

The breakfast spread was great. Western and local dishes were served. The eggs were done the way I requested them. Food in the restaurants were good and reasonable, considering that you are in an island.

The beach is not as long as the beaches in Phuket, Bali or Boracay but it was nice to walk on. Pools are not so big either, compared to the Westin or Grand Hyatt Resorts, but adequate.

Gym was located in another resort, so we didn't go. I did attend the yoga class. Vishnu was very helpful and patient. I even slept during the savasana.

As for the spa, we were driven to another villa, where we were received, offered a drink and given a foot bath. Afterwards, we walked down to the lower level for our massage. I had the balinese massage and felt really good after. I have a bad back and knee problem and was handled really well. My massage therapist was Miggy and my husband's was Rima. The treatment was the highlight of the weekend getaway! I enjoyed our stay very much! Thank you.

Room Tip: Request for renovated villas and make sure there are no openings/cracks on the side of the sliding d...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimitheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

excellent.
calm and relax
,natural,
beauty full place.
good for honeymoon couple specially.
they charge for transportation.but other hotels not charging for that.otherwise this is great hotel.good view.good staff service.pool and restaurant good view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Samantha Pradee... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
592 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range: $365 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing