We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banyan Tree Bintan
Nearby Hotels
$87
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angsana Bintan(Bintan Island)
$160
$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Panorama(Tanjung Pinang)(Great Value!)
$18
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mutiara Beach Guesthouse(Bintan Island)(Great Value!)
$37
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$250
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$560
$386
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,947)
Filter reviews
1,947 results
Traveler rating
1,167
477
181
76
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,167
477
181
76
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rocksvilla hostvilla bbqpool villaferry terminalbuggy servicesaffron restaurantbuggy driversthai foodthe south china seaoverlooking the oceanturn down servicehousekeeping staffspa treatmentsin room diningsister hotelday bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,172 - 1,177 of 1,947 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Banyan Tree in Bintan. In fact, this was the 4th time I have stayed there, the first time in 1999. The spectacular location hasn't changed. However, the place needs a serious face lift (which they are doing, but they should just close instead of tricking you into staying there while they renovate). I stayed in a "Villa on the Rocks", which I have stayed in before. This time the fabrics on the day bed were stained, the bathroom window couldn't open, and there was a large open hole in the roof that seemed especially inviting to the 4 or 5 bats that came for visit every evening (they really do hang upside down). They claimed this was a renovated room, but it looked no diffrent from when I stayed in one of the Villas in 2009. The main Italian restaurant really has an extraordinary setting, but the food itself was sometimes in eatable. Most of the staff are really delightful, though the individuals who come to turn down the beds at night have this routine where they troll for gratuities as they form animals out of the towels. It was cute the last time I was here but its just anoying now, especially when we are a couple looking for privacy. I wouldn't have really cared that much if I thought I was getting value but, instead, my 6 star rate for my 3 room left me feeling incredibly ripped off and i won't be back soon. I was traveling from Singapore, so it was a close trip. I can only imagine how those guests visiting from Europe or the middle east were feeling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oldasiahand_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Oldasiahand_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment in regards to your experience at our resort recently and I sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your valuable feedback regarding services and facilities is been taken very seriously.

We have well noted all your concerns in regards to cleanliness and maintenance in your villa and we will follow up accordingly with our respected Head of Department for further improvement to ensure that we maintain a high quality of service to all of our guests at all times.

We do hope we will have another chance to welcoming you back to our resort so that we can show you the true colors of Banyan Tree Bintan.



Thank You & Best Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alta Loma, California, USA
1
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good place for honeymoon. This resort is very private and you can feel that the whole island is belong to you. Weekday is the best time to be there if you want a lot of privacy. We were there from Friday night to Tuesday afternoon. If you are looking for bar and nightlife, do not go here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great location, very friendly staff. But in fairness the maintenance lacks updating. Various floors and staircases are in a terrible condition and far from 5 star property standards. Green Banyan Tree Towels with holes in it, and in 5 different shades of green due to wear & tear...

Overall, the price vs. quality has been very disappointing. We do not mind to spend money but the fees for F&B simply make it outrageous, even compared to actual 5 star properties, which in fairness, Banyan Tree Bintan is not in its current state.

Kind regards

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

First of all we sincerely apologize for not being able to deliver you the experience as you would expect from Banyan Tree Bintan.

We highly value your valuable feedback with regards to the maintenance, towels and F&B issues. It is our objective to meet and actually exceed the expectations of our customers and I am sorry that in this particular case we have certainly fell short on many counts.

Please rest assured that I have personally shared your feedback with the department heads concerned to improve the points you mentioned.

Once again, thank you for providing us with your feedback as it is only through the feedback such as these that we can properly evaluate and improve our performance.

We hope that there will be another opportunity to welcome you back to our resort to show you the true colors of Banyan Tree Bintan.


Thank You & Best Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Been to the higher-end resorts of Bali? Pangkor Laut? Berjaya Langkawi? Avillion Melaka? This is like them - low density sprawling villa-in-forest by-the-sea concept, quite far from urban sprawl, focus on never leaving the resort, lots of spa, swimming pool usage. Food is good and staff are a cut above the rest. You get pleasant complimentary surprises during your stay eg water and face towel when you visit the pool, starters and dessert when you visit the Saffron for dinner. Plus the usual welcome & goodbye drinks. Good wifi connections & range of international TV channels. Library provides a limited range of DVDs and books in various languages. They use the British imperial 3-pin plug instead of Indonesian standard, and everybody speaks good English. We only needed rupiah for tips - USD will do fine. It's a "forest" setting so be prepared to manage the insects and other non-humans. You get complimentary aromatherapy and incense sticks in-villa for this effort, plus the usual anti-bug spray and anti-mozzie electric poison mats, and the staff will come clean up around the in-villa open-air jacuzzi whenever required. This is very low density so prices are high. Not exorbitant but certainly high. Be prepared to burn a bit of $$ for a relaxing few days away. Note that the various F&B outlets do charge a service charge on top of tax. That's common practice in Malaysia & Singapore. When I say "high" but not "exorbitant" what I mean is - example: a single dish at Saffron will set you back around USD15-20+. Dinner for two at Saffron will involve at least 3-4 dishes of this price range, to go with the complimentary 4 varieties of rice. The room service in-villa dining is in the range of USD15-30 for eg. a dinner-sized burger or club sandwich with fries. If there is one thing to improve it would be continued wifi access at least at the Library for at least a few hours after checkout. So that surfing can continue till departure for the ferry terminal. And by the way that would be Bandar Bentan Telani in northern Bintan rather than the more well known Tanjung Pinang in the south.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Findpaulng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas, USA
1
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Absolutely beautiful first rate resort with customer service that exceeds the highest of expectations. I'd go back without thinking twice (if it weren't so remote) and offer the higest of recommendations for any couples looking for a 5-star resort in Southeast Asia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews