We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
A TripAdvisor Member
“Magical days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I just spent some days at Banyan Tree Bintan. We go there up to three times a year to have some days of relaxation and time for just the two of us. Our preferred villa is one of the sea front pool villas. We love the intimacy there as well as the service, thank you Hendra, for being there and making each of our visits something special!
The food is outstanding, our days in Bintan - though not cheap - are perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    356
    167
    67
    42
See reviews for
373
720
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for our Honeymoon on a recommendation from a friend. We had never even heard of Bintan Island or Banyan Tree Resorts. By far and away this is the best resort I have ever stayed in. The service is personalised and it is obvious that the staff work very hard to make you feel like you are the most importnant person staying at the resort.
We didn't leave the resort for a week and had plenty to do with the different activities and dining options that the resort offered. The food is varied and first class, the golf course is scenic and the pools and gym were great.
We stayed in one of the Villas On The Rock and the view and the privacy were wonderful. I really cannot recommend this resort enough, for couples, families and groups.

Thanks Banyan, for helping us have such a memorable Honeymoon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

first time me and my family traveled to this type of resort. this property has very nice location. very nice villas, spa service and location is great, in sanctuary pool villa we stayed and we cannot forget that moment when we entered our villa. buggy service is very fast and quick, the moment you press 0 from your room within 1 minute buggy is there at your service. hotel staff service is excellent.

Room Tip: sanctuary pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honey00033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous private villas with views out over the strait with private spas & some with private pools. They bring out sorbets when you're relaxing by the pool. Meals were delicious, service was good + great breakfast buffet. Only problems were mosquitoes and the coral around the island is somewhat degraded due to nearby shipping lanes - if you're looking for good snorkelling or diving one of the Malaysian palaus would be far better. All up a lovely, relaxing spot, though.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The service is very good, people are friendly, very obliging, sometimes a bit slow but nothing fatal. The beach is great and pool service is outstanding.

The resort setting is very beautiful, perched up in the trees of the lush green island. The rooms however and remaining part of the resort fall just a little short on the luxury front given the money you pay. It seems like it is 3 years overdue for a complete renovation.

The food is the most disappointing part. The breakfast was very nice and had great options. However the lunch and dinner dining was average. There are three options for dinner, only one worth eating at is Saffron (the Thai restaurant). Lunch options are limited to "The Cove" and "Tree Tops" neither of which do anything better than average. Saffron is good, but not great, and there are only so many nights one can eat the same Massman curry!

Overall very good, but should be about $130USD cheaper.

If open to a different location, try a pool Vila at Hotel De La Paix in Hua Hin, Thailand. For the same money, outstanding food and luxury.

Room Tip: The closer to the pool and beach your villa the easier the walk if you choose not to take a buggy. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The place is just perfect to relax and have a romantic getaway. We had a 2 bedroom pool villa which was huge with nice furnishing and a big pool - almost no reason to leave the villa during the stay but the nice beach is tempting. The staff is very attentive and gives you the feeling of being a special guest. They decorated the bedroom with flowers an towel animals everyday which was a bit cheesy but really nice. At the last evening the even put candles all over the villa and spread rose leaves all over the place which was extremely nice. We felt like on a honeymoon! The food was very good - especially at the Thai restaurant.

The only challenge are the mosquitoes outside in the evening - the hotel provides repellent and incense sticks but you need quite a lot of it. Inside it is not a problem due to the mosquito net.
Sometimes the staff has been a little bit too over motivated and came in although the door was locked after knocking but you just don't make it in 2 seconds to the door ;-)

Apart from that, a fantastic place - we would always come again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This resort has obviously seen better days.

Compared to the other Banyan Tree resorts, this one looks worn out and dated. Quality control has obviously dropped since back then.

Even the servie is so-so now. Friendly, but not efficient.
Buggy takes a long time to come. I had a complaint about the jacuzzi not working, and it took 25 minutes before anyone came, and that was after 3 calls to chase them. Bedding and pillows are of poor quality. In-room pool side beds were dirty and not cleaned before check-in.
Check-in took way too long.

Our German couple friend travelling together was also deeply disappointed especially after their Seychelles Banyan Tree experience. Their expectations were high, but came finding a "3 to 4 star hotel room".

Location and the room views are unbeatable though. Also liked the free drinks and good service at the pool side.

Cheap, plastic waste bins at the reception, rubbish at the bottom of the villas? This has drastically lowered my perception of the Banyan Tree brand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
2.7 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
5.9 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Property: Banyan Tree Bintan
Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing