We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Tired...If not for the stellar service we would have left”
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bintan Island
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dirty and Tired...If not for the stellar service we would have left”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

These people charge very high prices but do not deliver. I left feeling ripped off and two weeks later still do.

The superb cliffside location does not overcome the rotting timbers, the mouldy blind in our room, the grubby bathtub, the sliding doors that wouldn't slide, the cracked spa tub, the patchy wi-fi that we had to fix ourselves and the western food that left a great deal to be desired.

The positives are the people - management must have found the most delightful and attentive people in Asia with the best language skills and hired them - and the Thai restaurant which is world class.

Avoid. These people charge Four Seasons prices but do not deliver.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SydneySydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    391
    171
    70
    43
See reviews for
435
810
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It is the perfect place to relax. Extraordinary Service and fantastic restaurants! We had a wonderful time! Our Villa was beauty full. The beach is being kept perfectly clean, as well as the acomodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I used the Banyan Tree Bintan with my mother.
We had great time at this hotel, which made us to back there again.
I recommend the Pool Villa to stay.

Check-in and out was smooth, was no problem.
The room was amazing!!!! Many ppl say the facilities are old, but not at the room I stayed, Sanctuary Villa. At least, the house keeper came to change the towels twice a day including cleaing up the pool. They served the flesh fruits everyday as well. The buggy came right away whenever we called. Our room key was bronken on the first day, but the maintenace guys fixed the problem quuickly.

The location is very nice, but it is far from the beach. So, I used the pool in the villa everyday. Actually, I enjoyed to swim in the pool than going down to the beach.
The Thai restaruant's green curry was very delicious. I still miss that taste.

I tried the Spa and Yoga. At the spa, I slept whole time, so I only remember the massage made me relaxed enoigh to fall asleep. The Yoga lesson was fun. I've learned couple new movements.

Oeverall, every was great, but I love the hospitality of the ppl of this hotel. EVERYONE always smiled with greetings. I don't know if its their cultures, but I am sure I recommend this hotel if you are looking for the hotel you can relax and experience the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank kaitypon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beautiful place and location. Hotel is a bit old and needs renovation - clear water damage to bathroom tiles. Difficult to control insects entering the room - since in rain forest but could do a slightly better job. Buggy ride service is a bit slow at times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank jang061759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

What a fabulous experience!! We were there to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday, and Banyan Tree at Bintan made it so special. First we were upgraded to a Villa Over The Bay with infinity pool, the place was huge. On the first night I had to get my wife out of the villa as I'd arranged Intimate Moments with the hotel where they romantically decorate the bedroom with tea lights, orchid petals and so on. But even I was taken aback by what they did, it was so so fantastic, my wife was in tears, dancing around like a little girl, then two of the guys brought her a cake and sang happy birthday....unbelievable. We then were treated to a barbecue experience by the pool in our villa, being served by our very own cook...so nice and very romantic. And to our surprise the guys came back again the next evening and decorated the villa again....my wife was past herself, unbelievable was all she kept saying.
The remainder of the weekend was spent on lovely white beaches, dining in the Cove and Tree Tops restaurants, being looked after by friendly caring people. A great experience, and one that will live long in our memories, we were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Neil195311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We visited the Banyan Tree for our 30th Wedding anniversary but found it very disappointing and not at all the 5 star experience we were looking for. At the very start we had to demand to be checked in following our seven hour flight as the staff tried to park us to one side as they took far too long dealing with other new arrivals. Checking out was also a shambles. The sea view villa we had was tired and poorly maintained. The location itself is very beautiful but the hotel has nothing to do, and did not even have a bar of its own. Don't bring children, they really will be at at loose end. Food at the three restaurants was ok but over priced. As i said the overall feeling is one of disappointment, particularly as I had sent e mails to the hotel before our trip stressing this was a special holiday. 5 nights was too long.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 12Mirdif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Executive Assistant Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Banyantree.com traveler,

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your last visit in Tripadvisor.

First of all we sincerely apologize for not being able to deliver you the experience as you would expect from Banyan Tree Bintan.

We highly value your valuable feedback with regards to the check in experience as well as the villa condition. It is our objective to meet and actually exceed the expectations of our customers and I am sorry that in this particular case we have certainly fell short on many counts.

Please be informed that currently we are renovating our villas and hotel facilities to better improve our guest satisfaction, the renovation project is expected to be finish by mid 2013.

Once again, thank you for providing us with your feedback as it is only through the feedback such as these that we can properly evaluate and improve our performance.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort.

Sincerely yours,

Erlangga Farizky
Executive Assistant Manager Banyan Tree Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Agree with other reviews that this place is a little tired and in need of maintenance and repair. It is a lovely location, with villas nestled around a point, all with some level of seaviews. They are private freestanding villas and we had a jacuzzi on the balcony too. Although it was annoying to have to ring someone to come fill our jacuzzi up each time we wanted to use it. I suspect its so the mosquitoes don't make a home in it, that they have to empty each day.

The beach is nice too although the neighboring hotel - part of the same complex has better located sun loungers and beach views than the Banyan.

This is a place to go to if you want to be hidden away without things to do. We felt a little trapped and found the reception staff not very accommodating or informative of things we could do outside the resort. We did however venture to the RIN Japanese restaurant which is in nearby Nirwana Gardens. They came and picked us up and dropped us off and the food was fabulous. It wasn't very busy but we had a good time and during the day it would be even better as its right on the beach so you'd have an amazing view.

The spa treatments at Banyan are fabulous but also very pricey. Having to take golf buggies everywhere can get annoying but one quick call and they are generally there in a flash. There is no bar or central lounge area to enjoy drinks which makes you feel quite isolated. The only thing you can do is book a restaurant in the resort and then go back to your villa. We tried most the restaurants:
- Cove: Italian food was good but decor dated
- Saffron: thai food which was great
- Treetops: for breakfast and some lunches also good

The pools are lovely with two infinity pools, one by the beach and a clifftop one. Both are lovely and the attendants attentive.

We did enjoy ourselves but I certainly wouldn't pay the full price to stay here - we had a special 30% discount so it was ok, but even still if I compare it to staying in Singapore, its much better value. Nothing is cheap as you are stuck in the resorts with the main town 1.5 hrs away.

The ferry to and from Singapore is easy and convenient. Make sure you get off first and have your Visa $ ready otherwise you could get stuck queuing for ages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee_Kiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,563 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Bintan Island
579 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#7 of 38 in Bintan Island
332 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Property: Banyan Tree Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing