We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accolade from England”
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Bintan Island
SANDBACH
1 review
“Accolade from England”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We were here for our daughter's wedding and it was the perfect choice in every way. The wedding took place on the private beach at HOLE 8 and was a magical experience. The staff seemed to enjoy it as much as we did and I cannot praise their service and attention to detail highly enough. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.
We held a cocktail party for the wedding guests in our beautiful villa the evening before and the staff decorated our Infinity Pool with candles and flowers and handed round canapes which were delicious. Again the staff gave far more than expected. (When we asked for a torch to guide the guests through our garden in the dark they errected overhead electric lanterns!) An experience our family and friends will never forget. Thankyou so much.

Room Tip: The twin roomed villas with Infinity Pool and jacuzzi are the ultimate luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUTH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    376
    171
    70
    42
See reviews for
398
786
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The transfer and check it was smooth and quick. All the staff who served us was amazing. Buggy service was helpful and took only aboutn5-10 min after requesting for it. For our wedding anniversary, a complimentary cake was given. Food at saffron was good, ESP the creme brûlée. Breakfast was mediocre. Rooms were tired looking but they are currently undergoing renovations. Spa was awesome but it was too short as the 120minutes included all the welcome drinks etc, felt that the full hour of massage was not given. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Shan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

but a really lovely hotel. The Indonesian people are all so gracious and friendly and smiling that one easily forgets that the grass roof leaks into the bathroom, that the air conditioning clonks all the time and that In-Villa Dining might take ages to arrive and that the Indonesians like all Orientals really reply to your questions with what they think you want to hear.
However that being said there is no doubt that if I lived in Singapore I would be a frequent guest.
The Spa was really excellent and the therapists exceptionally well trained, a wonderful relaxing and invigorating experience well worth every cent.
The Saffron restaurant was also very good and we enjoyed the mix of Thai and Indonesian foods on offer. The In-Villa however, despite repeating our order sent after more than an hour, a right cock-up of 4 starters for 2 people, only one main that was right and not the much desired and awaited mouth watering dessert. There was a big wedding that day so it could be forgiven if one wanted to be Christian-minded.

Room Tip: The Beach Villas are very good and great for watching the tide seep totally out and looking over to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpioLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Very very bad deal .Fooding not at all at level thought was in a 2 or 3 stars hotel .Breakfast buffet totally not eatable ROOMS dark and dull.Everything to be refurbished .One of the worst deal for the big amount of money spent .Live on what they were years ago .To escape absolutely at such prices

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Valuable Guest


Thank you very much for your constructive feedback posted on TripAdvisor.


It is with much regrets to read that our service and facilities has failed to meet up to your expectation.


We have taken note of your feedback regarding the room and quality of our food; which has been brought up and highlighted to the respective department for improvement.


Thank you very much for your feedback as it is feedback such as yours that’s help us to continuously improve our standard quality.


Please accept our deep apology for our failure to provide the memorable stay that our guest has come to expect.


We hope you would give us another opportunity to welcome you again as our guest at Banyan Tree Bintan in the near future.


Best Regards,


Herman Buspa

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My wife and I chose Banyan Tree Bintan as our venue to spend our 10th wedding anniversary together. Almost every aspect of our experiences there exceeded our expectations, compared to what we were used to at city hotels and it was well worth every cent we paid for. We were also pleasantly surprised at being given an upgrade to the Seafront Villa, from our original booking of a Seaview Villa. The Villa was clean, cozy and richly scented with the signature Banyan Tree essential oils, though there were obvious signs of aging on some of the furniture and fittings. Nevertheless, it was more than made up for by the excellent service, impeccable hospitality and great comfort. We would like to express special thanks to our resort host, Hendra who saw to our check-in, accommodation and other reservations during our stay. We would also like to commend his service of personally driving us to the ferry terminal after our check-out as it was a peak day for other guest arrivals. We also truly appreciate the service of our spa therapists, Cally and Astuti who made our Rainmist experience truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I recently stayed at the Banyan Tree in Bintan and it was wonderful. The infinity pool was a true infinity pool- very picturesque-and the resort setting was perfect in every way. The spa was sensational and they also offer yoga lessons.
I had looked forward to going to this resort and I must say they exceeded my expectations. I look forward to returning soon and I highly receommend this resort.

Room Tip: The sea view villas are divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Had a memorable holiday and our room had a breathtaking view of the sea..Our room was newly renovated and we had the luxury of 2 bedrooms. One with a glassed view of the sea and one with a balcony with a jacuzzi overlooking the sea. I am unable to capture the beauty of the room in words. The house keeping has kept in mind every possible item and amenity one would require on a holiday.
We had breakfast served in our room every morning and were really pampered by the hotel staff.
The staff was very courteous and friendly.
I can't wait to get back ..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
2.1 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
5.8 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Property: Banyan Tree Bintan
Address: Jl. Teluk Berembang Laguna, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing