We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Rustic, tranquil beach paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marjoly Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marjoly Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 19 Bintan Island B&B and Inns
sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rustic, tranquil beach paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is the place to come if you want to write a novel without interruption.

A beautiful, peaceful resort, close to nature and ideal for a simple, tranquil beach holiday.

We travelled from Tanah Merah, Singapore via ferry, and the hotel sent a car to collect us. It was around a 1 hour journey, and cost US$40 for six of us. The resort is off the beaten track, and small, which means you may be lucky enough to have the entire beach to yourself, as we did some days. The staff were wonderful - so attentive, friendly, and ready to please.

We absolutely loved our beach bungalows. We travelled as a family of six and decided to book three bungalows for comfort, although we could easily have accommodated three people in each. The bungalows were situated on the sand within feet of the sea. They are spacious and furnished in traditional Indonesian style. Our daughter loved the sequinned mosquito nets hanging over the bed - she said she felt like a princess sleeping in the bed!
We loved the veranda, with its incredible views of the never ending sea.
The rooms were equipped with everything we needed for the holiday - air con, electric fan, mini fridge, television and DVD player.

The restaurant and bar are also spacious and airy, featuring polished wood furnishings.
We were delighted to be offered complimentary drinks on arrival.
What's more, as some of us in our party were vegetarian, the manager organised local vegetarian delicacies to be prepared in the restaurant for us, and we were thrilled to be presented with a plate of complimentary and utterly delicious local snacks.

I would almost go so far as to describe Marjoly as a nature resort.
It's certainly not the place to go if you're looking for retail or nightclub therapy - exactly the opposite in fact. This is a place that forces you to unwind. Whilst we were there we saw an abundance of wildlife, including monkeys, starfish, and turtles. Even though there are no formal 'activities' for children, our 4 and 13 year olds had a whale of a time enjoying the wildlife, playing on the beach, swimming in the sea, and swinging in the hammocks. They barely touched the bag of toys we'd brought with us, and the TV was only turned on once in four days!

Things to be aware of are that for a few hours each day the tide goes out quite some distance. We used the opportunity to explore the exposed sea bed, with long afternoons spent swimming in the warm sea when it returned, but if you're expecting permanent sea for swimming in you may be disappointed.
Also bear in mind that as the beautiful bungalows are thatched you will have some dust and debris floating down from time to time. This is not a reflection of the housekeeping standards but rather the side effect of enjoying the 'natural' roof form. Also be aware that the structure of the wooden bungalows may mean that the odd insect can squeeze into your room. This wasn't a problem for us, especially as there was the generous insect net over the bed and a plug-in insect deterrent, but it's just something to be aware of.

Overall we had a dream trip here.
It is not as easy to reach Marjoly as it is the Bintan Resorts at the northern end of the island, as the journey is longer, but it wouldn't be possible to enjoy the exclusivity you have at Marjoly, and the simple unspoiled environment, at one of the bigger resorts.
We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thumbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It was our second wedding anniversary and we wanted to go somewhere nearby (from Singapore). We decided to visit Marjoly beach resort. We booked a bungalow for 3 nights. (S$ 75 per night)

After 2 hours of ferry ride from Singapore (Wavemaster Berlian Ferry) we reached at Tanjung Pinang Jetty at 11:30 am. Jack was ready at the terminal waiting for us with the nameplate. The resort provides free Pick up and drop from the Tanjung Pinang Terminal. It took us about 1 hour to reach the resort enjoying the typical country side views as it was raining.

As we reached the resort we were overwhelmed by the beautiful restaurant where the reception of the resort is also located. They served us a nice lychee welcome drink and then showed us the way to our bungalow.

Accommodation:
The bungalows are spacious with patios. They were clean and had a typical wooden outlook. The surrounding (front side) had nice trees including coconut, papaya, almond and many other small flowering plants. The landscaping was good. The bungalows are a bit dimly lit from within and the patio has good lights to support the evening ambiance. We really enjoyed sitting in the patio enjoying the sea view sipping wine which we carried from Singapore. Nice breezy place.

Nearby :
In the close proximity of the resort there are no other activities to perform. This resort I would say is perfect for people who need to relax and stay away from the hustle bustle. The beach here is extremely based on tides and the beach turns to mud flats during low tides with waters receding up to 500 meters. Beach chairs are ample and free for use. The nearby Kawal village (fishing village) is approx 1km away, 30 minutes on foot. One can find some booze and snacks for fraction of a cost ( Heineken 330 ml Rp. 13000, Vodka Mix Rp 19000, Coke Rp 6000, Chips Rp 5000 etc.). Bintan Agro beach resort is about 8 kms if you wish to do the water sports ( check Bintan Agro website for activities and rates, Key info is the tidal data). Call them before you go.

Transportation :
The resort offers various tours to Bintan and nearby attractions for S$ 80 for an 8 hour trip (incl 3-4 attractions, Lunch, Massage and Spa and halt for shopping at Pasar Oleh Oleh). You can borrow their Motorbike to go to nearby Kawal Village for free and refill is on the way (as we did). Gasoline is available at shops in small bottles (2 liter bottle Rp. 10,000). You can hire a motor bike for S$ 40 per day. Half day options are also available. License is not an issue on the island ( as told by resort staff). You can drive yourself to Tanjung Pinang as roads are in excellent condition.

Food :
Breakfast consists of 2 eggs, 2 slices of bread, jam and butter with the option of Tea or coffee. Alternately you can try Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice) or Mee Goreng (Stir-fried Noodles) for breakfast.
Local Indonesian cuisine is served at the resort here. Options include Chicken, Beef, Fish and Sea-food. Portions were good with a dish (incl rice) costing about Rp. 40000 to Rp. 65,000 (for Prawns). Approx 10 kms from the resort is an Italian Pizza and pasta joint (run by an Italian) who deliver to this resort with waiting times of 30 minutes. Pizza and Pasta cost Rp 60000 ( min 2 items per order). The pizza was cold by the time it arrived and we did not find it enticing.

Staff :
The staff is extremely helpful, prompt and offer services with a smile. They co-operate in every possible manner and are always there to assist you in the best possible fashion. They speak ample English for you to understand. They will make your stay pleasant and beautiful.

I would definitely like to go there again and recommend this place to others who are looking for a peaceful and serene location to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Bungalows closest (5-10 Steps from Doorstep) to the Beach MAWAR and MELATI. Carry your Snorkeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danny3886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Overall was a great experience!

I did not bring cash, only had credit but they do not have a machine. But they were very understanding and they let me check in right away.

The next day they personally drove me to the nearest urban area and found me an ATM, this solved the problem.

The rest of the trip was pure relaxation. Calm, quiet, nothing, it was perfect.
Price was very reasonable as well at SGD$75 for weekend ($65 on weekdays),
I definitely recommend this Bintan Resort to anyone interested.

Why pay $200-$300 for a beach resort flooded with people and high end amenities?
I personally would not choose to take a getaway at a place that reminds me of a modern environment, I wanted calm relaxation and a humble environment, not high class spas and $100 food, may as well stay in Singapore for that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Rustic idyll? No.
Filthy, substandard hovel? Yes.
This place has great potential, but under the current management, this will,never be realised.
Poor facilities. Revolting food. Appalling service. The world is full of beautiful places. This is not one of them.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Plymouthlolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bintan Island hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were two families visiting on and just after the Chinese new year holiday. As former around the world backpackers - now turned Singapore expats - we were attracted to the place for its rustic look. The chalets were nice, the beach was fine (even though the tide limited the amount of time you could spend in the water) and really kid-friendly. The restaurant was huge and can accomodate large groups lounging around which was really nice. The problem with this place is the service. Food-wise, the kitchen was fine, although nothing special. All staff were friendly and ready to help with anything, but there was a lack of management by the owners, and understaffing. I particular, this was true in the restaurant. We had to wait forever for meals, and with a lot of hungry kids, this turned out to be a disaster sometimes. The management was ready to help make up for the lack of facilities etc in the resoirt, through driving us to other restaurants, taking us to the local fish market and then letting the cook make up dishes based on what we bought. From this experience, we can safely say that it is not the kills of the cook that is the problem, it is rather the uninspired menu. Very littles greens, no fruit whatsoever except for in the smoothies. The management, although helpful in many ways, was just a bit nonchalant. Another reviewer referred to the place as laid back, which is true. I normally don't mind it, but when it comes to some thigs such as making it to the ferry, the service should be provided on time. Overall, we got what we asked for and were promied, but most of the time the manager would give it to us reluctantly, as if we was doing us a favour. That attitude is the one thing that will keep me from going back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pasirrisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Plastic covered mattresses, dull grey white sheets knotted at the corners to stop them sliding off the plastic, tiny poorly laundered towels, ants everywhere, food 'fresh' from the freezer, urinal deodorizing balls in the bathroom meant the whole room stank, the site is a building site, with several cabins still in progress. The cabins on the beach did not have enough cushions for everyone, so we were given the back padding of the seats in the restaurant that the stuffing was falling out of and stank of sweat. The view is somewhat marred by the illegal gambling den down the peer next the resort . The sea is brown and shallow, our taxi driver recommended somewhere else as soon as we told him where we were going! One of our rooms was not ready until 8 pm at night on the day of our arrival. When we complained about this, the owners brother said " I suppose you want a free beer"... an apology would have sufficed. We spent one awful night and then left the next day utterly depressed. I have stayed in backpackers that had better food, facilities and accommodation, and were a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceanangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Marjoli Beach Resort
Stayed here for 2 nights in October mid-week.  It is run by an English expat which is certainly a reassurance because it is in "real" Indonesia rather than the extended Singapore resorts in the NW of the Island.  Thus, the surroundings outside the Marjoli Beach resort boundary are very much untouristified, so don't go expecting anything other than is the norm for Asia.
At the centre of the relatively new resort is a large roofed   Barn/hall mostly open around the sides and thus benefitting when there is a cooling breeze off the sea.  In here, the food is served and entertainment organised.  The food is very good, authentic, varied and safe and compared to Singapore, cheap.  The hall has a karaoke system, apparently popular with the Singaporeans at weekends and less so during the week, when the resort was fairly quiet.
The chalet huts are all more or less on the beach front alongside the hall with some at beach level and others raised on stilts.  They certainly look great with natural palm leaf roofs and wooden construction.  The bathroom facilities are reasonable considering the location although there is no hot water, but in this climate you don't really need it.  Ours was air conditioned and had a fridge and TV, although the island is prone to power cuts so this was not guaranteed to work all the time.  However, they were in the process of having a generator delivered to cover this issue.  The bed had a full mosquito net around it and was reasonably comfortable.  Being on the beach did mean that sand got in just about everywhere, and whilst they did clean every day, they could do a little better in keeping everything fresh.  Our hut looked out on the sea and at high tide it was idyllic, however the sea here is very shallow, so not deep enough to really swim in and the tide goes out very quickly and far away, leaving mud flats which are not so pretty.  The beach within the resort was kept spotless, but stray beyond the boundaries and there is rubbish everywhere, washed up from the sea. That said we walked a good mile in each direction and the sights are quite interesting with plenty of local fishermen going about their trade.
The owners were very nice and talkative and told us all about the area, their background and plans for a swimming pool and other buildings to improve the resort.
The driver / helper was a local and very friendly and collected us from the other side of the island and took us to the main town for our return ferry ride and helped us buy the return tickets (not easy if you don't speak Indonesian - so it is better to do this from Singapore).
Overall the resort has some lovely characteristics and is a great place to get away from it all, but don't go expecting The Ritz.
PS.  They were also installing WiFi when we arrived and whilst quite slow it was a handy link if you want to catch up.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vodnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
#12 of 31 in Bintan Island
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
25.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
26.3 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
4.9 mi away
Sahid Bintan Beach Resort
Sahid Bintan Beach Resort
#7 of 16 in Tanjung Pinang
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjoly Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjoly Beach Resort

Property: Marjoly Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Wisata Bahari km 33 | Kawal, Riau Islands Province 294111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjoly beach is located in Bintan Island. It's viewed by beautiful beach. We can enjoy sun rising in the morning with fresh air and begin to gather our full spirit. Besides you can join us to learn diving with professional diving trainer from Russia and you will see different kinds of beautiful coral in this island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Marjoly Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjoly Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing