We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget Accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We planned a trip from Singapore to Bintan over a weekend and it was too last minute plan, so we ended up staying in this resort. This place was quiet beautiful with some excellent scenaries, good and friendly people to serve, clean place as well. We faced millions of mosquitoes Barbecued us in the evening. We rented a villa and it was very quite and scary during the night since it was little far from the reception and also had some problem with water flows in the toilets. Next day we went to the nearby Agro Bintan resorts which is just a 5mins drive from Nostalgia yasin, Agro resorts had a pool and good scenaries as well. We rented a speedboat for mangrove forest ride and our boat broke down in mid of our travel where we need to wait for 2hrs for another boat to rescue us. There is a sea food restaurant, which costs nominal. Spa was full and we did not get time to trail it. Overall its a good place for couples or friends to stay for 1-2 days if you want to spend cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinsebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 37 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

Accommodation is very nice, view is absolutely brilliant!
But there is nothing around and no real beach.

We had a twin water wooden bungalow which was really nice (payed 250.000 IDR).
Food and fruit juices were very good and cheap.
Staff was very polite and helpful.

Free transport to Cabbana resort (abour 15 min. north east) and Bintan Agro Resort 1 km away. Good massages at Cabbana and nice pool at Bintan Agro.

The only thing we were disappointed about is the fact that Trikora Beach is about 15 km away.
There is no free transfer, no Taxi, no bus available.
Staff offered a pick-up and drop-off service that should cost about 42 SGD for 2 persons which is pretty expensive. :-(

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We got the Rumah Laut #1 room both times we stayed, because it was so secluded and, especially at night, there is that illusion that we were floating out in open sea. That said, the bungalow is not located near many conveniences. Except the sister resorts Bintan Agro which has beautiful swimming pools and pretty good spa with beachfront massage tables. The restaurant at Yasin serves a very delicious range of Indonesian and western food...otherwise, we have ventured to the nearby fishermen villages for delicious nasi lemak and otak-otak at a portion of the price.

Tips:
* Being close to mangroves and all that, take all precautions against mosquitoes...close the windows, use the mosquito coils and seal you mosquito nets.
* When you get here from Tanjungpinang, arrange your driver to pickup so you don't get hit with the hotel's much-more expensive transport service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamMrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I booked this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor.

The location and view is absolutely brilliant. Room are very good but not premiumly luxurious.
The staff were very polite and helpful and provide valuable information when asked.

The sister hotels (Cabbana resort and Bintan Agro Resort) have nice ametities (pools, restaurants, etc.) and can be accessed whenever needed with free transportation. Food there was brilliant.

While coming back, there was a person from the hotel at ferry terminal who guided us with directions and procedures. He even carried the umbrella for me in the rain. I was impressed. :)

TIP: Confirm minimum 1 day in advance if you need return transport from jetty. Otherwise they will charge more for short notice

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deba_Nandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed in one of the rustic cabins - loved it! They're true to their word and very rustic and right in the sea. The view from bed in hte morning is amazing and exactly the view you travel to Indonesia for. Stayed at the KTM Resort in Batam after visiting here and was sorely disappointed as this little place set the bench mark. The room is basic but you get what you pay for. It's clean, got an ensuite & towels are provided. The balcony attached to the room is a major selling point. Sit there with a beer, watch the sun set - bliss. The resort as a whole is small and friendly, bar is open pretty late - I'd recommend the Pina Coladas (not classy but it was a holiday!) but it never felt noisy or unruly just fun. Food is good, water clear and as a bonus you can use the facilities of the hotel down the road - which also has a very good and cheap restaurant attached. Transfers between the two resorts is free hurrah! I had a great stay and would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We were at Yasin in Dec09 for 3 days and really enjoyed it. familiar atmosphere with mostly asian guests. we did not expect any service for the price, but our expectations were by far not met...

the beach is nothing to brag about, but who needs a beach when you can use the swimming pool of the "sister resort" agro beach?

well, great price for a great location, good food nearby and easy access through singapur via ferry.

enjoy !

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Overall, Yasin is a nice place to go to for a quick weekend getaway, if your idea for a good weekend getaway is just to sit around drinking beer, chatting and essentially doing nothing. Bring your own beer and snacks if you want to save some money. These you can pick up at the town itself on your way to Yasin.

The place itself is pretty far from Tanjung Pinang town so it really is a good idea to get that transport arranged with the resort before. That said, the Yasin staff have to be commended in this area. I emailed them around midnight the night before to request for transport (i was supposed to have given them at least one day notice but i plain forgot) and the next morning when I arrived at Tanjung Pinang terminal, the driver was ready and waiting!

Rooms-wise, there isn't hot water though it really isn't a big deal because the water isn't that cold. The water in the tanks get warmed up during the day so it's not bone-chilling. Even when i showered around 6+ in the morning, it was fine.

Mosquitoes are a problem but the resort recognizes that and freely hands out (very effective) sachets of mozzie repellent cream and mozzie repelling incense. Best to bring a very very thin long sleeved top and long pants to wear to sleep if possible. I got most of my mozzie bites at night whilst I was sleeping.

Food - Not bad, quite tasty. Cost similar to eating at a food court in Singapore, if not slightly cheaper. Try the juices...they blend the fruit with ice to make the juice so what you get is really a juice smoothie. Yummy, though abit on the sweet side.

Beach - Not much of a beach at all, so was a little disappointed in this aspect. Have to go on a island tour if you are looking for a nice patch of sand to lie on. There isn't any at the resort. The water is also too shallow to swim in, so no dice there.

Overall, Yasin is excellent value for money andf I would recommend it to my friends. Though if you are looking for creature comforts, Yasin isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audreybeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,807 reviews
0 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Bintan Island
630 reviews
0 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
0 mi away
The Canopi
The Canopi
#1 of 6 in Lagoi
450 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#3 of 19 in Tanjung Pinang
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bintan Island
Price Range: $0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow Hotel Bintan
Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing