We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the water bungalows! The ocean lapping to lull you to sleep has no substitute...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get the water bungalows! The ocean lapping to lull you to sleep has no substitute...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We got the Rumah Laut #1 room both times we stayed, because it was so secluded and, especially at night, there is that illusion that we were floating out in open sea. That said, the bungalow is not located near many conveniences. Except the sister resorts Bintan Agro which has beautiful swimming pools and pretty good spa with beachfront massage tables. The restaurant at Yasin serves a very delicious range of Indonesian and western food...otherwise, we have ventured to the nearby fishermen villages for delicious nasi lemak and otak-otak at a portion of the price.

Tips:
* Being close to mangroves and all that, take all precautions against mosquitoes...close the windows, use the mosquito coils and seal you mosquito nets.
* When you get here from Tanjungpinang, arrange your driver to pickup so you don't get hit with the hotel's much-more expensive transport service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamMrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

I booked this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor.

The location and view is absolutely brilliant. Room are very good but not premiumly luxurious.
The staff were very polite and helpful and provide valuable information when asked.

The sister hotels (Cabbana resort and Bintan Agro Resort) have nice ametities (pools, restaurants, etc.) and can be accessed whenever needed with free transportation. Food there was brilliant.

While coming back, there was a person from the hotel at ferry terminal who guided us with directions and procedures. He even carried the umbrella for me in the rain. I was impressed. :)

TIP: Confirm minimum 1 day in advance if you need return transport from jetty. Otherwise they will charge more for short notice

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabba_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed in one of the rustic cabins - loved it! They're true to their word and very rustic and right in the sea. The view from bed in hte morning is amazing and exactly the view you travel to Indonesia for. Stayed at the KTM Resort in Batam after visiting here and was sorely disappointed as this little place set the bench mark. The room is basic but you get what you pay for. It's clean, got an ensuite & towels are provided. The balcony attached to the room is a major selling point. Sit there with a beer, watch the sun set - bliss. The resort as a whole is small and friendly, bar is open pretty late - I'd recommend the Pina Coladas (not classy but it was a holiday!) but it never felt noisy or unruly just fun. Food is good, water clear and as a bonus you can use the facilities of the hotel down the road - which also has a very good and cheap restaurant attached. Transfers between the two resorts is free hurrah! I had a great stay and would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim289
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

We were at Yasin in Dec09 for 3 days and really enjoyed it. familiar atmosphere with mostly asian guests. we did not expect any service for the price, but our expectations were by far not met...

the beach is nothing to brag about, but who needs a beach when you can use the swimming pool of the "sister resort" agro beach?

well, great price for a great location, good food nearby and easy access through singapur via ferry.

enjoy !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

Overall, Yasin is a nice place to go to for a quick weekend getaway, if your idea for a good weekend getaway is just to sit around drinking beer, chatting and essentially doing nothing. Bring your own beer and snacks if you want to save some money. These you can pick up at the town itself on your way to Yasin.

The place itself is pretty far from Tanjung Pinang town so it really is a good idea to get that transport arranged with the resort before. That said, the Yasin staff have to be commended in this area. I emailed them around midnight the night before to request for transport (i was supposed to have given them at least one day notice but i plain forgot) and the next morning when I arrived at Tanjung Pinang terminal, the driver was ready and waiting!

Rooms-wise, there isn't hot water though it really isn't a big deal because the water isn't that cold. The water in the tanks get warmed up during the day so it's not bone-chilling. Even when i showered around 6+ in the morning, it was fine.

Mosquitoes are a problem but the resort recognizes that and freely hands out (very effective) sachets of mozzie repellent cream and mozzie repelling incense. Best to bring a very very thin long sleeved top and long pants to wear to sleep if possible. I got most of my mozzie bites at night whilst I was sleeping.

Food - Not bad, quite tasty. Cost similar to eating at a food court in Singapore, if not slightly cheaper. Try the juices...they blend the fruit with ice to make the juice so what you get is really a juice smoothie. Yummy, though abit on the sweet side.

Beach - Not much of a beach at all, so was a little disappointed in this aspect. Have to go on a island tour if you are looking for a nice patch of sand to lie on. There isn't any at the resort. The water is also too shallow to swim in, so no dice there.

Overall, Yasin is excellent value for money andf I would recommend it to my friends. Though if you are looking for creature comforts, Yasin isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audreybeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

i was traveling to Tanjung Pinang with a big group. we were there on Saturday to Sunday. we have some schedule on Saturday and arrive at the Hotel at around 7pm.
when we arrive the sun was already down, and i got one of the 'hut' room.
from outside it look really nice.

it looks one of the 'hut' room in Maldives. its over the shore and built with lots of leaves.

as i enter it was really dark. like there's only one shady dark yellow light at the corner.
the bed is foam bed. and the toilet is a bit worse. its a seating toilet with no flush. you have to gather water on the pail then manually 'flush' it.
no hot water (its OK since the air is hot either).
but the worse is the mosquitoes and no AC!

the whole situation is not that bad actually. but i found ants almost anywhere. and they didn't seem to maintain the place really well..

its too bad i must say. seeing the location has such a huge potential.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minimirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

Dear readers,

If you are looking for a quiet gateway and would not like to burn a huge hole in the pocket, I highly recommend booking a room at Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow for just a weekend.

You are transported far away from the noisy, cluttered city life into the serene and down-to-earth village atmosphere. It's a place for you calm the frayed nerves and unravel your worries. I did that and I felt extremely relaxed during my stint for a weekend. I am not sure if I could stay longer than 3 days, but that's just a personal statement.

One of the perks that attracted me to this place is the price tagged to this place. I spent under $100 in a weekend ( I'm sure I could go lower had I not ate like a glutton during the BBQ night, but its inclusive of the payment for fetching and sending from the ferry terminal).

The staff is polite, the food is moderate, the swimming pool at it's sister hotel, Bintan Agora (yes readers, you can pop by the sister's 'proper' resort whenever and use the facilities! Double happiness, surely!), the place is cheap and staying in a water bungalow is such a fun experience. Recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foliobylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#4 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mutiara Beach Guesthouse
Mutiara Beach Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Bintan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow

Property: Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow
Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow Hotel Bintan
Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing