We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Beach wasn't fantastic, not much to do around.

The family that runs it was very nice and helpful, food decent, rooms decent. Cheap place to getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelABCDE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

So, it's been a week since I've been back from a short getaway to Yasin Bungalow and I'm still missing the fantastic time that my boy and I had together. Was first introduced to Bintan Agro through a blog and was delighted when i saw that it also offers budget over-water hut accommodation in its sister resort, Yasin. Immediately, booked the deluxe water hut for 2 pax. The deluxe bungalow offers more privacy as it is located at the far end of the resort, and we also have a window that offers a scenic view of the coconut trees and sandy shore.

Our favourite part of the hut has got to be the balcony, where we spent so much time chilling and being serenaded by the therapeutic and soothing sounds of the crashing waves.

Someone recommended walking down to this little family-run restaurant for dinner and I couldn't be happier that she/he has recommended this place! Not only did we have a feast at a really cheap price, but we were also lucky to have spotted mini fireworks (local children were playing with the the fireworks).

Love it: The splendid view of the infinite horizon. Walking to the offshore rocky island and catching the sunset. Spending an hour at the nearby white sand island, a 10mins ride from Bintan Agro. Of course, having a fantastic and romantic getaway for only $38/night! It's such a deal :)

Dislike it: A very basic and no frills toilet (I love hot showers). But honestly, for the price we paid, Yasin Bungalow is perfect! :)

Blog link to more pictures:
http://timelessbeauty.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/escape-to-bintan/

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blisschic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

After hearing a few negative comments about how bintan is an expensive place for tourists, it was quite a surprise to find this little gem of a place on the bintan island.

First of all, the trip started with a 1 hr coach ride from Tanjung Pinang ferry terminal. Pickup was pre arranged with Yasin for convenience's sake. And i think most ppl should arrange for pickups if they don't know the place too well.

First impression when arriving at Yasin was that it was a really a very relax place for chilling out. However, there was a bit of drama when checking in as the room that was reserved for us was still occupied by a guest who had gone snorkeling and haven't come back yet. That was around 3+pm already. Though we were given another (cheaper) room to put our stuff, it wasn't possible for us to start unpacking, and when we raised the complaint to the counter staff on whether we can be compensated by upgrading us to another room, i can clearly see the attitude and face of the staff change. Nonetheless, we were told to wait and finally got our room around 4.30pm. About 1 and a half hour late.

The room we got was a Sea Wooden Bungalow with a nice balcony looking out onto the sea. There's about 6 units, each built right next to each other. And also a porch right in the centre of the Sea wooden bungalows. Great for mini gatherings but bad for privacy of the guests because once you open the windows and doors, anyone sitting there can just look in. Give and take, depending on what you're looking for. The Deluxe Sea Wooden might be a better choice as they are located further down and built further apart.
Aside from that, you only get basic amenities in the room. There's no air con, no water heater, and no TV. Really great for those that want to get away from city life. Turn off your cell phone and you're done.The mosquitoes can be quite a bother late at night till early morning. But otherwise, everything's quite ok.

The pricing of the food at Yasin is quite reasonable with really nice and concentrated fruit juices. Or you could also walk out to the local houses nearby and get even cheaper alternatives. I especially liked this stall found at the tail end of Yasin which sold really affordable seafood and drinks. They also have little wooden huts facing the sea that you can rent and enjoy the sea view while having your meals at the same time.

If you'd like the beach, then you will be disappointed as there's no beach at Yasin. In fact, the sea water there doesn't really look very clean to have much fun in. You can however, at low tide, walk out to this little island further out of Yasin to play on the rocks/sand there. I had decided against doing so in fear of stepping on sharp objects or sea animals as the sea wasn't really clear.

Overall, this is an interesting and cool place to stay in for ppl who want to get away from the hectic city life. Minus the mosquitoes which can get quite irritating, this place is as good as it gets if you just want to find some place to chill. If you like more activities however, their sister resort at Agro Beach is a better alternative, since most of the trip rides are being organized from there. Of course, things there will get more expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Basara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We were a group of friends and went to Bintan for a weekend getaway. We started from singapore early morning and reached Bintan. The hotel is an hour's drive from the ferry terminal and the drive maskes you a bit nauseous.

We reached the hotel and we were unable to believe that we got such a nice accomodation for such a cheap price. The quad bungalows cost only SGD40 which is a steal. We had booked the accommodation online before we reached there.

The bungalows were 1+1 and was made of logs and it was very beautiful. There was a queen bed in the ground floor and the top floor had two beds without the cot and there was a balcony in the first floor too. It was just 10 feet from the sea and the view was amazing.

They had a good restaurant with a good spread. The Orange juice was the best I have ever had. Its a definite try.

We then went for some water sports in their sister resort where we get it in a discounted price. Free travel arrangements were arranged for going to the watersports. The staff were very friendly and courteous and it was a overall awesome stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy340691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in the end of January, and though we did have rain on and off the whole time, it was still an amazing experience. The rooms are clean, big, and literally over the ocean. We loved the sound of the waves below us as we went to sleep. The staff is very friendly, the food is good and not too expensive, and if you're looking for water sports or fancier digs, the other two hotels in the Agro family are a very short distance away. Bugs weren't a problem for us, but that's the trade off we get for going in the rainy season. I can imagine mosquitoes would love it here, so bring repellent!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaandtravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

WE LOVED IT HERE!

We read the reviews on trip advisor before we went and weren't expecting much. We were quite worried as we read that there was no electric sockets, not hot water and no flushing toilets. The photos looked good though so we stuck with our decision, and thank god we did.

It isn't anything super luxurious, and perhaps the smaller chalets didn't have as good facilities (we stayed in the floating bamboo house), but we enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was nothing special. We had an en-suite bathroom although the door was more a flimsy bit of folding plastic. It had a shower, toilet and sink. The toilet flushed (much to our delight!) but the shower was cold - not to bad after a warm day but we still didn't spend long under it. The bed is kind of cute - it is made out of bamboo and sheets were clean. The room had an amazing view of the sea, and a balcony with a phenomenal view of the sea, sunsets and sunrises. I was awake at 5am every day to catch a glimpse. They provide mosquito coils and a towel (from Gucci no less!). It was fairly insect free (Saw one lizard on the bathroom wall) but as it is open vents in the roof, there is little they can do to stop this, and it really didn't bother us. There were 2 lights (slightly dim) but functioned fine and UK style electricity sockets. Surprisingly they also had a TV and DVD player in the room. The rooms were very large and you were provided with a key to the front door which locked securely. There was a fan which did a decent job of keeping the temperature down.

The breakfast wasn't massive but it was included and filled a hole nicely. We found the bar amazing - cheap and lots of choice. They did delicious orange juice. They also did light food, which was again cheap and nice. The staff were lovely and very helpful. They spoke perfect English and always had a smile on their face. They helped us plan what we wanted to do each day, and booked everything for us. They also flagged down the buses for us and directed the driver to where we wanted to get off.

The hostel is a bargain. It is nice, clean and quiet. It is also a sister resort with two local hotels. One has a fantastic beach/sea and we enjoyed going there to read our book, eat food and have some drinks. It was modern and clean. They took us there via bus at set times. The other was larger, and had all the water sports, snorkelling, etc. It had a spa where we had a king and queen spa treatment (was sooooo nice!!!!) and 2 lovely restaurants. One is set out in to the sea on a jetty and has a phenomenal view of the sun setting over the mountains and sea. The portions are very large though so don't be afraid to go for a small. It is large and clean. You don't have much choice about eating at the 3 locations as these are the only restaurants in the area (apart from some small local cafe's that we didn't dare try). The gift shops were over priced but I brought a lovely shell necklace from the gift shop at the hostel.

The hostel beach isn't anything spectacular, but as the sister resorts are so close, it doesn't matter. They ride you up to the larger hotel whenever you ask on a small moped/side cart and drop you off wherever you want. You can hire a car for them to go on day trips.

The hostel is set about an hour away from the ferry terminal. We had a transfer bus pick us up which was on time and greeted us as soon as we were off the ferry. We organised this through the hostel. The only problem with being so far out is that there isn't much to do in the area. This is great if you want a quiet, relaxing break away from busy life but not so good if you want to do some sight seeing. It is possible to do it from the hostel, but you have to hire a car with the driver who will take you wherever, but it takes about 1 and a half hours to get anywhere interesting, and the same time to get back again (not including time looking around). We didn't mind this so much, but if you were there with a group of friends you would probably get bored (unless you had a good book to read).

It lives up to the name 'Nostalgia'. The area was quite poor, but not un-safe and we felt very grateful for our lives in Singapore when we got back to the modern hustle and bustle. Everyone was very friendly across Bintan, and always had a smile on their face.

It is so serene and peaceful. It was so relaxing and a great way to switch off for a few days. We sat on the balcony reading and watching the sunset/rises without seeing anyone about. No hostel computer - we really didn't mind but some may.

WE LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingtheworld1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Having stayed in a/c in all my travels, I figured why not try this place out for once? What an experience: walking on wooden planks to the bungalow, listening to the waves lapping below you as you sleep (however this kept me up!), no satellite tv, no internet, I must say it's a wonderful experience but not everyone may get used to it. Albeit, the rooms were cheap, food is basic but nice, staff were friendly and helpful, hey I even got to watch a football match with the resort staff! All in all no complaints but it may not be everyone's cup of tea!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scruffydog79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,727 reviews
0 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
619 reviews
0 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Villa Pantai Indah
0 mi away
de Bintan Villa
de Bintan Villa
#3 of 16 in Bintan Island
32 reviews
0 mi away
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
#15 of 37 in Bintan Island
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bintan Island
Price Range: $0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow Hotel Bintan
Nostalgia Yasin Bungalow Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing