We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Got the Things as the price you pay ^^” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Bay Amir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbour Bay Amir
Ranked #73 of 90 Hotels in Batam
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Got the Things as the price you pay ^^”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

this hotel has a very budgeted price. stayed for only IDR275.000,- a room a night (after a very hard negotiation with the marketing)

the room is so so. but for the price paid, the room is too much...
breakfast is so so, Again for the price paid, the breakfast is very good...
staff hospitality so so, again and again look for the price paid, they are too nice...

Overall Amir Hotel is above my expectation about a budgeted hotel. their service, room quality, and breakfast are leading compare with the hotel within the same rate. Please consider the price don't compare it with the 4 or 5 star hotel which the rate is far from amir hotel

around amir there's a very beautiful food court (harbor bay) which is one of my favorite place in batam for enjoying the sound of night batam wind.

one the very vital lack point i've experienced with amir is:
the business center... can not print and the staff can not repair the problem..

Room Tip: ask for the top room looking on singapore skyline. Must be a very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakek_ganas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    26
    11
    19
See reviews for
12
15
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Got a chance to stay one night in this hotel with my sister. It's just within walking distance from the Habour Bay Ferry Terminal but the route seems a bit deserted, will not be that safe to walk at night.

We arrived early and hoping to try our luck for the early check in. Upon producing our voucher, a male receptionist said that it is not the voucher for this hotel. We go worried but later another female receptionist came over and helped us and managed to find our booking and even allow us to check in early.

As we approached our room at level 6, we see a lot of empty dishes being placed outside the corridor. The room is nice and bright, once thing not good is that you have to keep the tap running for 2 minutes before we can use the water, otherwise the water is yellow. Don't worry about it as there are instructions there to tell you to leave the tap running before use.

It was mentioned that the hotel rooms are all wifi, however, after confirming with the staff, all room has only Lan Cable. But you may access some wifi near the lounge at level one, which is just beside their business centre.

During the evening, we decided to have room service dinner. Ordered a Spicy Chicken Steak for my sister and I ordered their Amir Nasi Goreng. The dishes were served well presented but the taste of my nasi goreng can be better.

The breakfast choices are quite limited but decent. But you can see people smoking in the breakfast area which is indoor.

Overall, this is not a bad hotel and great for people who just want to spend a night and go off. As for me, I think I might not want to stay there again if given the choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosa_koko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I went for a trip to Batam for an overnight stay. This was our first trip to the Island and we are expecting to have a great time. When we arrived in front of the hotel the exterior was nice so we were expecting to see the same thing inside, but after checking in, they placed us on the 8th FLR which was the smoking floor, the smell as bad enough but the room was worse. It was dirty, the paint on the walls is chipping and the carpet has stains. There was no double lock on the room. It’s like no one has used it for some time. We asked to be transferred to another floor, the next room we stayed in is still terrible but better than the first one. The carpet still has stains, and we killed a few small cockroaches. The hall way is littered with dirty dishes from the other rooms which took some time for housekeeping to clean-up. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Batam hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We went on a Saturday. Checked in at around 1pm Batam time. Check-in was a breeze, guess if you want to check in, you should avoid the 12pm check-out time to save yourself the trouble of the human traffic.

First impresssion - The hotel looks clean. Lobby could sit around 8-10 people. I guess you see people smoking everywhere in Batam, if people can smoke in restaurants/cafes, smokers in hotel lobby is not really a big deal. We got our key, wasn't a card key, just the conventional. No fuss, we were here for a night and didn't bring much valuables anyway. The room does look tired, and was a little dimly lit. We did not spend much time in the room so we did not bother too much. The wall paint were starting to give way, some parts didn't look that good. There was no safe / fridge / hairdryer. The water from the tap was slightly yellow initially, but as advised by the hotel (they put up notices near the tap) to let the water run for at least 2 mins before it clears. Though i really didnt like that, the water did clear up and we survived!

There's a big Carrefour opposite. If you need some snacks, you may always walk across to get it from the shopping centre. Location of this hotel is actually very good. Its 5-7 minutes walking distance from the ferry terminal so remember, don't take a taxi to Amir! They say harbour ferry terminal has the best sunset view in the whole of Batam. So you might want to come for your dinner. They have plenty of cafes and seafood restaurants. We spent about S$30 for a soup, beef, chicken with alcohol. Would i come back here? Hm, maybe not. But am sure some people might be able to accept the place better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titaniums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The pillows and bedsheets are yellowish with patches of dried liquid marks on the pillows. The carpet floor has patches of stain on it too. There is no wifi or LAN in the room. Breakfast was horrible with a few choices. There are people smoking at the breakfast area which is typical in Indonesia. Ordered chicken wing from the hotel and found a piece of newspaper sticking onto the fried chicken wing. Didn't make a complain though because it is still a 3-star hotel after all. The staff was friendly and well-dressed. The bathroom is clean and comes with a bathtub. The scenery was pretty good overlooking the sea at the side. It is cheap at SGD70 published rate. Definitely not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We chose this hotel is because of the cheap deal although this hotel is a 3 star hotel. Next to it, is a harbour bay shopping mall. Tourist can go there for lunch and do some shopping if you like. this hotel situated in town and you can take taxi to mega mall and nagoya hill and BCS.
Breakfast is not nice. Please dont chose this hotel. you will regret. trust me.their room is different from their pic post on their website.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamyEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Most convenient hotel in batam that i know of.5 minutes away from Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal,food centres,shopping mall.To Nagoya taxi trip would only takes 10minutes & cost around 20,000 Rupiah.Really enjoyed the spa services in the room.Cheap & good service rendered by the masseues..Its a really convenient hotel...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IdaAyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.2 mi away
Zest Hotel Harbour Bay Batam
0.4 mi away
Nite & Day Hotel
Nite & Day Hotel
#70 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#19 of 90 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fame Hotel
Fame Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batu Aji
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Triniti Hotel Batam
Triniti Hotel Batam
#8 of 21 in Nagoya
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lovina Inn Batam Centre
Lovina Inn Batam Centre
#6 of 9 in Batam Center
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Bay Amir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Bay Amir

Property: Harbour Bay Amir
Address: Jl. Duyung - Sei Jodoh | Batu Ampar, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Bay Amir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Harbour Bay Amir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Bay Amir Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing